Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tortilla Espanola Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tortilla Espanola

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on January 13, 2011

      Simple and yummy. I am pregnant and was craving a tortilla espanola like the ones I would have in Spain as an exchange student. This was exactly what I was craving. I would like to try some of the other reviewers suggestions about trying it as a sandwich or in water instead of oil...I did think it seemed like a lot of oil, and I had a hard time draining all the oil that I thought might have been necessary from the potatoes. One suggestion is to use a plate to flip it instead of the lid of a pan _ I thought the edges on the lid might make that a challenge. And I enjoyed mine by dipping it in ketchup.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2007

      no need to add the milk or garlic but this is the best! reminds me of my student days in spain. wonderful cold on a sandwich between french bread.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      I made this with fresh potatoes and onions from the garden for the slow food eat in to promote locally grown "slow food" in schools. Topped it with a salsa of heirloom tomatoes and some FF sour cream. Thought it needed more salt than I added, but otherwise great. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2009

      I chose this recipe for tortilla over others as it seemed to me the most authentic. I ate a lot of tortilla when I lived in Spain for a few months and this recipe is spot on. The usual problem I have with tortilla is undercooked potatoes, so this time I cooked the potatoes for about 10 minutes before adding the onions and it worked out perfectly. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2009

      This was awesome!! I did add a 1 tsp. cumin and 1/4 tsp. red pepper to mine as I did not put in salt due to diet restrictions. I also cooked the potatoes in water instead of oil and it worked perfectly and helped lower the fat and calories. Very good recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2008

      I have made this several times now and it is just wonderful!!! This last time I added some bacon to the potatoes and it gave it a really great flavour. Thanks for sharing this easy and tasty dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2008

      I was excited about this, but somehow there was something missing for me fro mthe versions I had in Spain. Though I can't quite put my finger on what it is. I only used one clove of garlic, perhaps with more it will give it more of the taste that I remember.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2005

      I forgot to mention that in Spain they do not often use black pepper , so I would not put black pepper in my tortilla. I like to use coarse salt though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2003

      I made this with a class of 4th graders. It was straight-forward and the kids loved it. One child said he didn't want any but changed his mind when he heard the others rave. He ended up having seconds. The area around the kitchen smelled so wonderful that several teachers peeked in to see what we were making! Thanks for a great recipe. We did not use milk since two of the kids are allergic but beat in water instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2003

      This is the same recipe that I use, minus the milk. Quick, easy, and satisfying! Anchor girl knows her stuff...this is awesome served on a crusty baguette. You can add roasted red peppers, peas, shrimp...it's so versatile. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2003

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tortilla Espanola

    Serving Size: 1 (167 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 183.4
     
    Calories from Fat 36
    19%
    Total Fat 4.0 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 159.1 mg
    53%
    Sodium 64.1 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.0 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 3.6 g
    14%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 8.1 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites