21 Reviews

Very good, however I changed it up a bit LOL I am somewhat like Sandra Lee when it comes to cooking LOL I crushed Hint of Lime Tostitos, added southwest seasoning, and fresh cilantro. I still followed the egg dipping and baking temp/time and it was delicious.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fluffy215 January 23, 2011

I liked the idea of this recipe and added a few twists. I used black, red, green and white tortilla chips chopped with the cillantro and lime zest. Very eye apealing. I have tried this on tilapia, grouper, cod and snapper. For a little more zip add a pinch of chipotle. It is a WOW.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nudist Chef February 25, 2008

Our local grocery store sells already prepared Tortilla Crusted Tilapia and I LOVE it, so I thought I'd try to find the recipe -- this is a pretty close match! I don't bake a lot of fish but this was very easy to prepare and super yummy -- not "fishy" tasting at all. Best of all? My picky 1 year old gobbled it up. That alone makes it worth 5 stars in my book!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amylou2 April 07, 2010

this recipe was great and tasty! The only thing i found was that i used up most most of the crumb mixture before crusting all the fish!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
trying new things in texas!! June 01, 2009

This is a wonderful coating for tilapia! Loved the touch of jalapeno and the lime and the seasonings. I had a quarter of a sweet red pepper to use up which added a nice bit of colour. Also had no cilantro so subed with parsley. All in all the coat made th tilapia very flavourful. Thansk for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf June 14, 2007

I made this tonight along with Jalapeno corn slaw and Southwest Spaghetti Squash. It was a delightful dinner. This fish recipe is added to my regular rotation! Oh - don't omit the salt (which I did but added some at the table) and serve with lime wedges!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joycee Troyer January 14, 2016

My husband loved it! I had the same problem with the tortilla breading, it's not easy to spread ( I cooked mine on stove) and when I flipped it some of the breading came off. Next time I'll try it with tortilla chips

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous May 20, 2015

I admit - I messed with your recipe, dianegrapegrower. Instead of regular corn tortillas, I used tortilla chips (plain, not any fancy flavor) and amped the seasonings a little - more cumin, some coriander powder, more red chile powder, and a dash of cayenne. I also added more lime juice than called for and some finely zested lime rind. Everything else was pretty much the same. The tortilla chips retained a lot of their crispiness even after cooking and had such a nice "corn" flavor. I can imagine that using real tortillas would be good, too, but I wanted that crunch. The whole family enjoyed this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stellamaris73 July 02, 2014

I've made this twice. My kids love to help tear the tortillas and batter the fish. It's delicious and we never have leftovers! I was worried that it might be a bit spicy for my young kids, but there were no complaints!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joysolano November 04, 2012

Good recipe, but you might find (like I did) that using fresh corn tortillas as opposed to tortilla chips makes the breading a little tricky. It's so moist that your coverage could suffer. It is the healthier alternative, though, and the flavor's still good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jaredallas April 16, 2012
Tortilla Crusted Tilapia