Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tortilla Crusted Tilapia Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tortilla Crusted Tilapia

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on January 23, 2011

      Very good, however I changed it up a bit LOL I am somewhat like Sandra Lee when it comes to cooking LOL I crushed Hint of Lime Tostitos, added southwest seasoning, and fresh cilantro. I still followed the egg dipping and baking temp/time and it was delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2008

      I liked the idea of this recipe and added a few twists. I used black, red, green and white tortilla chips chopped with the cillantro and lime zest. Very eye apealing. I have tried this on tilapia, grouper, cod and snapper. For a little more zip add a pinch of chipotle. It is a WOW.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2010

      Our local grocery store sells already prepared Tortilla Crusted Tilapia and I LOVE it, so I thought I'd try to find the recipe -- this is a pretty close match! I don't bake a lot of fish but this was very easy to prepare and super yummy -- not "fishy" tasting at all. Best of all? My picky 1 year old gobbled it up. That alone makes it worth 5 stars in my book!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      this recipe was great and tasty! The only thing i found was that i used up most most of the crumb mixture before crusting all the fish!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2007

      This is a wonderful coating for tilapia! Loved the touch of jalapeno and the lime and the seasonings. I had a quarter of a sweet red pepper to use up which added a nice bit of colour. Also had no cilantro so subed with parsley. All in all the coat made th tilapia very flavourful. Thansk for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2014

      I admit - I messed with your recipe, dianegrapegrower. Instead of regular corn tortillas, I used tortilla chips (plain, not any fancy flavor) and amped the seasonings a little - more cumin, some coriander powder, more red chile powder, and a dash of cayenne. I also added more lime juice than called for and some finely zested lime rind. Everything else was pretty much the same. The tortilla chips retained a lot of their crispiness even after cooking and had such a nice "corn" flavor. I can imagine that using real tortillas would be good, too, but I wanted that crunch. The whole family enjoyed this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2012

      I've made this twice. My kids love to help tear the tortillas and batter the fish. It's delicious and we never have leftovers! I was worried that it might be a bit spicy for my young kids, but there were no complaints!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2012

      Good recipe, but you might find (like I did) that using fresh corn tortillas as opposed to tortilla chips makes the breading a little tricky. It's so moist that your coverage could suffer. It is the healthier alternative, though, and the flavor's still good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2012

      Very nice and flavorful. Will make again, thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2010

      We liked this a lot. I don't really like the taste of cumin, so I used a 1/2 tsp coriander instead. My husband said that it wasn't "spicy" enough and he usually doesn't like anything too spicy. Perhaps I'll double the spices next time, but it was still very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2010

      I dont know why I didnt like this very much. I have tried 3 different recipes and none have made me happy so I think it is just me. The tortilla mixture tasted and smelled good but somehow I didnt like it all put together. Thanks for sharing anyway, it was very easy to make. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2009

      This is the one I've been looking for! The hospital served this when I had my second baby and I needed to have the recipe. Thanks, my family was getting sick of bland fish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2009

      I just started cooking fish, for some reason I have always been afraid I would ruin it. This was fabulous! My husband and I loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2009

      This was quite good. I used white corn tortillas, less salt and more lime (plus wedges to squeeze on at the table). The tortillas give a nice and unique flavor to the crust.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2008

      This was a very easy recipe, and it tasted wonderful. I used about half of the cilantro that the recipe called for, and I did not add the jalepeno pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2008

      This was pretty good. Quite tasty and came together easy. Only complaint was that it didn't brown as much as I would of liked but would definately make again because of the good flavor. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2006

      Very easy fish recipe to prepare, and spicy enough so that it is not a bland dish. I love spicy food, and it being a light meal, I loved it even more! Thank you for a great tilapia recipe. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2006

      This was great. I previously rated the wrong talapia recipe. This is the one I tried and my family loved it. I will try the other one next.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2006

      My daughter and boyfriend really liked this. I thought it was ok :O) I used white corn tortillas. It's a good way to use up those leftover tortillas I never know what to do with! Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tortilla Crusted Tilapia

    Serving Size: 1 (179 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 219.3
     
    Calories from Fat 39
    18%
    Total Fat 4.4 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 109.0 mg
    36%
    Sodium 105.3 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.7 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 28.8 g
    57%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites