19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good, however I changed it up a bit LOL I am somewhat like Sandra Lee when it comes to cooking LOL I crushed Hint of Lime Tostitos, added southwest seasoning, and fresh cilantro. I still followed the egg dipping and baking temp/time and it was delicious.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fluffy215 January 23, 2011

I liked the idea of this recipe and added a few twists. I used black, red, green and white tortilla chips chopped with the cillantro and lime zest. Very eye apealing. I have tried this on tilapia, grouper, cod and snapper. For a little more zip add a pinch of chipotle. It is a WOW.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nudist Chef February 25, 2008

Our local grocery store sells already prepared Tortilla Crusted Tilapia and I LOVE it, so I thought I'd try to find the recipe -- this is a pretty close match! I don't bake a lot of fish but this was very easy to prepare and super yummy -- not "fishy" tasting at all. Best of all? My picky 1 year old gobbled it up. That alone makes it worth 5 stars in my book!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amylou2 April 07, 2010

this recipe was great and tasty! The only thing i found was that i used up most most of the crumb mixture before crusting all the fish!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
trying new things in texas!! June 01, 2009

This is a wonderful coating for tilapia! Loved the touch of jalapeno and the lime and the seasonings. I had a quarter of a sweet red pepper to use up which added a nice bit of colour. Also had no cilantro so subed with parsley. All in all the coat made th tilapia very flavourful. Thansk for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf June 14, 2007

I admit - I messed with your recipe, dianegrapegrower. Instead of regular corn tortillas, I used tortilla chips (plain, not any fancy flavor) and amped the seasonings a little - more cumin, some coriander powder, more red chile powder, and a dash of cayenne. I also added more lime juice than called for and some finely zested lime rind. Everything else was pretty much the same. The tortilla chips retained a lot of their crispiness even after cooking and had such a nice "corn" flavor. I can imagine that using real tortillas would be good, too, but I wanted that crunch. The whole family enjoyed this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stellamaris73 July 02, 2014

I've made this twice. My kids love to help tear the tortillas and batter the fish. It's delicious and we never have leftovers! I was worried that it might be a bit spicy for my young kids, but there were no complaints!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joysolano November 04, 2012

Good recipe, but you might find (like I did) that using fresh corn tortillas as opposed to tortilla chips makes the breading a little tricky. It's so moist that your coverage could suffer. It is the healthier alternative, though, and the flavor's still good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jaredallas April 16, 2012

Very nice and flavorful. Will make again, thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
16Paws January 03, 2012

We liked this a lot. I don't really like the taste of cumin, so I used a 1/2 tsp coriander instead. My husband said that it wasn't "spicy" enough and he usually doesn't like anything too spicy. Perhaps I'll double the spices next time, but it was still very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
icynorth May 20, 2010
Tortilla Crusted Tilapia