Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tortellini With Roasted Garlic Sauce (Appetizer) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tortellini With Roasted Garlic Sauce (Appetizer)

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on November 27, 2006

      Made this twice this Thanksgiving season. Once for Thanksgiving day and for a Euchre party that weekend. For Thanksgiving, I made the recipe as written and everyone loved it! We all agreed that it was a nice change from the usual chips & dip. But for the Euchre party, I did everything as written up to the frying part. Since the tortellini was going to be sitting at room temp for quite a few hours, I thought by frying them they would dry out. So, instead I drained, cooled, and patted dry with paper towel. Then tossed them with a tablespoon of olive oil. They stayed great for the 4 hours that they sat out. And the dip was to dye for!!!!Thanks Gayla for a nice change of pace recipe that worked for the two gatherings I had/attended!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2012

      made these yesterday for a gathering...i cooked the tortellini earlier in day, then marinated in a ziplock bag with some Italian salad dressing to keep them moist.. the dip was awesome. i served it cold and everyone was eating with both tortellini and crackers... i did add way more franks hot sauce...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2013

      This was a real hit at a recent pool party, and I forgot to add the hot sauce. Oh well, I guess I will just have to make it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2013

      Just made this for Sunday Football. Was super easy to double for a herd. Variations I made: once realizing that I had no sour cream at all, I substituted with a block of room temp cream cheese and a few tbsp of whole milk, also used pre-peeled garlic cloves - sea salted generously and doused with extra virgin olive oil, wrapped in foil and roasted about 45 minutes at 350. I had to stop myself from taste testing too many of the little buggers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2013

      I am kinda on the fence with this one!!! I cut the recipe in half as I was only serving 6 people....but with 2 SIL who have big appetites!!! I would have preferred a pasta that was a bigger shape, like a ravioli. I found the tortellini to small to deal with. The dip...on the other hand was excellent! Loved the flavour!! I did thin it out with a bit of milk to spread it out further!!! This was a nice change from regular appitizer of chip and dip!! If I was to do this recipe again...I use a fresh ravioli with a unique taste....fresh pasta would certainly rock in this dish!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2012

      This is an addicting dish - Phenomenal! And yes, it's a nice change from the usual apps. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2011

      Awesome sauce! I just made the sauce and served it with Joe's Sausage Cheese Balls and it was so good! When we ran out of cheese balls we used crackers and it was still wonderful! Thanks for a great sauce!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2010

      My husband and I really enjoyed this, although I only used half the recommended hot sauce (which gave a bit of a kick, but didn't make me breathe fire!). It's incredibly simple to make, and unique enough to serve for guests or just a special treat. There's lots of sauce left over for the next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      This is an awesome party recipe. I make the whole amount of sauce but I freeze half for the next time I need it. My huband loves this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2009

      This was just OK for me. I think if we didn't have so much other food, they would have gone over better. I did eat several handfuls of the leftover past cold, as a snack and it was good. If I make it again, I will definately cut back on the hot sauce. I think the flavor overpowered the other flavors. I would have liked to taste the garlic more. I will probably make this again due to ease and uniqueness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2009

      Great recipe!! I made it as per the recipe minus frying the tortellinis. It was a huge hit. Everyone loved it including the kids. I will be making this again this weekend for a super bowl party!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      This was very easy, and excellent tasting. I didn't roast the garlic in it's skin, instead I wrapped up a bulbs worth of already peeled raw garlic in some aluminum foil, drizzled on some evoo, folded the foil down, and roasted it in a hot oven until golden brown and aromatic. I wasn't paying attention to the time, don't have a clue how long it was in there. I used more than 1/2 c of sour cream, and less than a 1/2 c of mayo, personal preference. I included the sauteing stage, liked the texture it produced. I served the garlic sauce room temperature the first time, cold the second. Excellent flavors, GaylaJ!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      This was a hit!! It dressed up the "vegetable tray" I may use the sauce for a pasta dish some time. Great, thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2008

      Super easy to make - did not fry tortellini, just boiled it and sprayed with a little olive oil. Loved the roasted garlic and the sauce was great cold! Made for a ladies' night out, but the kids even liked the leftovers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2008

      I too did not fry the tortellini but tossed the cooked pasta with some oilve oil. I served the tri-colored tortellini with roasted carrots and roasted asparagus. I can see may other uses for the sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2008

      I loved it, the guests loved it and I got it all together except the reheating well ahead of time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      These are really good. Makes alot of sauce, I thought. You may want to make more tortellini. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2007

      REALLY good! We loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2007

      I'm not sure if it was because I made it with a lot of other rich appetizers, but it was too rich for me. I think next time I will use a tomato based dipping sauce to cut the richness. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2007

      Oh my, Gayla ~ this recipe is fabulous! I tested it out for a party I am giving in a couple of weeks and I can't wait to make it for our guests. I made as posted except I didn't heat the roasted garlic sauce. I also added a little olive oil on top of the garlic before wrapping and roasting. The recipe is very easy and is definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tortellini With Roasted Garlic Sauce (Appetizer)

    Serving Size: 1 (51 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 144.2
     
    Calories from Fat 72
    50%
    Total Fat 8.0 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 15.8 mg
    5%
    Sodium 323.3 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.4 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 4.6 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes