15 Reviews

We LOVED this meal! The salad has a wonderful Asian flair, and it served the 2 of us for 3 meals! (I just add enough of the pasta mixture to the right amount of spinach each time.)
In the dressing, I cut back the oil to 1/4 cup and increased the soy sauce (I couldn't find tamari) by 1 Tbsp. I thought these changes made the perfect flavor.
I've never used sesame oil before, and none of the bottles at the store specified 'toasted'; it is wonderfully fragrant however, and really makes this dish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J-Lynn January 28, 2013

This was delicious!!!! I did add a little fresh grated ginger to the dressing, cut back on the oil (which didn't hurt this at all) and added about 1 tsp. of brown sugar. Also I tossed in some shrimp which I had marinated in some of the dressing (I cut the recipe in half but left the full amount of the dressing). DH and I gobbled this down and wished I had made more. Thank you for posting and this is going into my Favorites of 2012. Made for National Tomato Month Forum -- Diabeties.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf April 11, 2012

Delicious and easy! I made it the night before and added the spinach in an hour before lunch and it turned out wonderful! I've made it twice already! I do cut the oil down a little, per other reviews, but other than that I make it as written. A real summer go-to. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JennyLynn99 August 10, 2011

A little oily, but liked how healthy this dish was and the sesame is a new flavor that I don't usually cook with. My BF really enjoyed it and he never likes anything healthy so that makes it a winner for me! I also used green peppers because that is what I had on hand and it tasted just fine, probably just didn't give it the additional color.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KellyMac6 August 18, 2009

I needed to use up some baby spinach so went looking for a recipe and lo and behold, I found a WINNER! This was so good and made alot -- we ate it for lunch for 2 days. I added 2 tsp sugar per other reviewer's suggestions and I only had a regular onion, but it still worked. Thanks for the recipe that I'll be making again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty July 22, 2009

Loved this! I've been trying to make more salads for side dishes and this was a very different style of salad for us. I found the dressing to be a bit oily, but still tasty. Next time for ease I may use a bottled sesame dressing. We warmed the tortellini and vegetable mixture before mixing it with the spinach, it was very good that way. This is a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zanni July 02, 2009

This salad was terrific. I read previous reviews about the dressing, so I added 1/4 teaspoon sugar after a taste. I used a 9-oz package of fresh cheese tortellini, which I felt was plenty (and because there are no one-pound packages, so I opted to go for less than more). I also used grape tomatoes for more flavor as it is off-season for tomatoes. To top it off, I shredded a bit of parmesean cheese. Delish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama King February 16, 2009

I am rating the dressing for this spinach salad. This is great. I did add some black sesame seeds but the dressing is out of this world.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound January 29, 2009

I just got done making this for dinner tonite, and I know already this is going to be a hit...I too added a couple tsp of splenda to the dressing, and I used a jar of roasted red peppers instead of the fresh as that is what I had...I will be making this for my annual sunday winter dinners I serve family and friends as I know this will be a hit...thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc November 12, 2007

I made this salad for a BBQ. I took Nimz comments into consideration as we tend to like sweeter dressings and I added 2 packets of Splenda to the dressing. I used regular soy sauce because that is all I had and I skipped the onions. This salad is SOOOO good! I was going to cut it in half since we were having it as a side salad and there were only 4 of us, but Dana Rae's comments said it was good the next day, so we shall see when I have some for lunch today. This is a perfect dish to take to a BBQ or potluck because it is delicious and make a beautiful presentation. PS: It WAS really good leftover too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sooz Cooks July 23, 2007
Tortellini Spinach Salad With Sesame Dressing