Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Torrijas- Spanish French Toast Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Torrijas- Spanish French Toast

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on February 07, 2011

      French toast is my favorite breakfast! I did use day old thin sliced Italian bread!I added vanilla extract. Topped with fresh blueberry-strawberry topping. So yummy. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2010

      Added a little sugar to the dip and browned in butter. At 5'2", if only I could stretch myself to 6', then I wouldn't have one worry about the weight gain. Made for PRMR.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2010

      I love French toast made with cinnamon or nutmeg and this did not disappoint! I doubled the amount of milk and skipped the powdered sugar and served with maple syrup. Great breakfast while we were out in the RV. Made for Spring 2010 PAC.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2010

      I was able to make only 4 French Toasts and the last 2 were quite dry. Like it was missing a little bit of liquid. So another time I'll add more milk. But the taste with the cinnamon is really good. Thanks Littlemafia :) Made for Zaar Star Game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      Very good. I like the cinnamon in the batter. Used oat bran bread. My husband put maple syrup on his. Made for the Best of 2009 Cookbook Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      This is the way my ex-husband liked his french toast, but he also liked maple syrup with it, not just the powdered sugar. This was a reminder of an old favorite from years past. Made for Holiday Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

      In my home we often make French toast using a dense & nutty whole wheat bread, & that's what I did this time, as well! Very, very nice with the added flavor of cinnamon (I was very generous with that ingredient!) ~ Will do this one again, for sure! [Made & reviewed in Zaar Stars tag]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      I have always sprinkled cinnamon on top of my french toast but never thought of adding it to the batter. It was a great addition. I made two changes I used sprouted cinnamon raisin bread and I didn't have powdered sugar so I spread a thin layer of royal icing on top - mmmm good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      Fantastic. I love cinnamon and this had a good flavor. I never thought of it before, but the day old bread really does make a better french toast! I didn't think to take a picture before I put the powdered sugar on - I was too busy wanting to eat it because it smelled and looked so good. Made for PRMR.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2009

      I love cinnamon french toast. I never knew it was called torrijas (even though I lived in Spain for 6 months)...learned something new :-) This is the way we used to make french toast growing up except used maple syrup in place of the powdered sugar. The powdered sugar is a nice alternative. Thank you for the recipe. Made for PRMR.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      I made these exactly as written, which is my normal way to make french toast but minus the cinnamon. The three of us just loved the french toast. After toasting, I added a bit a butter and then the powdered sugar and it was wonderful. Reminds me of when I was young and had buttered toast with a blend of cinnamon and sugar on top of it, but even better!!! Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for Holiday Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2009

      I really enjoyed this recipe littlemafia. It brought back many memories, my mother always made french toast this way. I cut the recipe in half and got two lovely peices of french toast. They were big, crisp, tender and very tasty. Thank you for sharing. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2009

      I'm from Madrid and I absolutely LOVE torrijas! The only thing missing is honey! When you pull the bread off of the skillet, you coat each side in honey (not too much, with the toast being hot it will melt and then the bread will soak it up). Then you can let stand at room temp and eat them in the evening with coffee without heating them up and they are great! Good recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Torrijas- Spanish French Toast

    Serving Size: 1 (11 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 28.1
     
    Calories from Fat 16
    56%
    Total Fat 1.7 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 62.7 mg
    20%
    Sodium 26.2 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.7 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 2.2 g
    4%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    bread

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites