13 Reviews

French toast is my favorite breakfast! I did use day old thin sliced Italian bread!I added vanilla extract. Topped with fresh blueberry-strawberry topping. So yummy. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ February 07, 2011

Added a little sugar to the dip and browned in butter. At 5'2", if only I could stretch myself to 6', then I wouldn't have one worry about the weight gain. Made for PRMR.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng August 30, 2010

I love French toast made with cinnamon or nutmeg and this did not disappoint! I doubled the amount of milk and skipped the powdered sugar and served with maple syrup. Great breakfast while we were out in the RV. Made for Spring 2010 PAC.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Outta Here April 03, 2010

I was able to make only 4 French Toasts and the last 2 were quite dry. Like it was missing a little bit of liquid. So another time I'll add more milk. But the taste with the cinnamon is really good. Thanks Littlemafia :) Made for Zaar Star Game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette March 01, 2010

Very good. I like the cinnamon in the batter. Used oat bran bread. My husband put maple syrup on his. Made for the Best of 2009 Cookbook Swap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
happynana February 15, 2010

This is the way my ex-husband liked his french toast, but he also liked maple syrup with it, not just the powdered sugar. This was a reminder of an old favorite from years past. Made for Holiday Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom February 08, 2010

In my home we often make French toast using a dense & nutty whole wheat bread, & that's what I did this time, as well! Very, very nice with the added flavor of cinnamon (I was very generous with that ingredient!) ~ Will do this one again, for sure! [Made & reviewed in Zaar Stars tag]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike January 08, 2010

I have always sprinkled cinnamon on top of my french toast but never thought of adding it to the batter. It was a great addition. I made two changes I used sprouted cinnamon raisin bread and I didn't have powdered sugar so I spread a thin layer of royal icing on top - mmmm good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hill Family January 01, 2010

Fantastic. I love cinnamon and this had a good flavor. I never thought of it before, but the day old bread really does make a better french toast! I didn't think to take a picture before I put the powdered sugar on - I was too busy wanting to eat it because it smelled and looked so good. Made for PRMR.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buzymomof3 December 20, 2009

I love cinnamon french toast. I never knew it was called torrijas (even though I lived in Spain for 6 months)...learned something new :-) This is the way we used to make french toast growing up except used maple syrup in place of the powdered sugar. The powdered sugar is a nice alternative. Thank you for the recipe. Made for PRMR.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swissms December 05, 2009
Torrijas- Spanish French Toast