10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I live in Toronto and knew Health Bread Blueberry Buns to be the best in the City.<br/>I agree with Toronto cook about the dough. It was tough, bready and would not roll out to 1/8 inch thick. I also cut into to 5.5" rounds. I prefer Norene Gilletz "Yummy Yeast Dough recipe from Pleasures of Your Processor and let it rise. It is sweeter and rolls out far better.<br/>I do like the filling, however I mix the blueberries and sugar together and heat, then add the cornstarch so the dry ingredients don't clump together.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diane P. July 04, 2014

I have baked these and though the taste is good there are major concerns about the filling. The recipe calls for much less cornstarch then is needed to make a thick enough filling that won't burst out of the product while baking, no matter how well sealed. Also, the recipe calls for only 1 tablespoon of filling each for 8 buns, well then why does the filling produce 2 cups of filling, which is 32 tablespoons? If I ever make these again I will make sure to very much increase the amount of cornstarch called for in the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jed in Toronto January 30, 2012

You know, when I looked at this recipe, I was worried if I could pull it off... fancy turnovers? In reality, though, it was very simple, and the previous reviewers are so right - the filling is so delicious! I did add a splash of lemon juice to highlight the blueberry flavour - I do this in other blueberry recipes, and did so when making blueberry jam last weekend. I'm glad I did, because while the before/after difference was subtle, it did further enhance the yummy filling. For the dough, I used 1 cup all purpose, 1 cup bread, and 1 cup whole wheat bread. Next time I make them, I will likely use white flour only, though. I sprinkled the buns with demerara sugar (on top of the egg wash.) I did sort of wonder if I could squeeze any more filling into them, though! I made a dozen, and also thought I could have managed to squeak out 16 or 20 if I wanted smaller buns. Great recipe, Sharon! Thank you! Made for Veg*n Swap 12.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katzen July 12, 2009

I laughed out loud when I saw the name of the recipe, because I am from Toronto and i wanted to replicate the blueberry buns I remember my mother buying from Health Bread (which was unfortunately sold to Open Window and was never as good IMHO). I read the reviews and thought it was a lot of work to only make 8, so I changed the quantity to make 12. I am far from an experienced baker, but I thought the dough was too 'bready'; I remember the 'shell' of the buns being quite thin and tender. While making it it I thought it needed more liquid because 4 1/2 cups of flour were not being absorbed easily at all. ALso, when preparing yeast in other recipes I've usually had to add some sugar to activate the yeast. This recipe didn't call for it and I'm wondering if that made a difference?? The filling was lovely.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TorontoCook July 29, 2008

Very good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tabby Bartley June 11, 2008

These were so good, they didn't even last two days. I made them smaller so I could try to double them but I still only got 12 of them. I should double the recipe next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Studentchef December 30, 2007

These buns are lovely and soft, with a delicious filling. If you make 8 they are a nice, generous size. I added a bit of cinnamon and allspice to the filling. It's easy to imagine using this dough with other fillings, maybe a glaze. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pattikay in L.A. September 22, 2007

Wonderful!! Just like I remember from the OPen Window Bakery. My Mom used to get these all the time, until the bakery closed down :( Now I can make them myself!! Very easy to prepare, make sure not to overfill the buns or they will be tough to seal and the delicious filling will leak all over your baking pan. I lined my baking trays with parchment to make for an easy clean up. I would highly recommend these blueberry buns, thank you very much for sharing this wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LuvMyWeim September 11, 2006

These were very nice. I think I was expecting a sweeter "bun" though. That being said, the bun was lovely bread texture, I used a big crystal sugar for the top, which I recommend. I absolutely loved the bluberry filling and will make again as a topping for ice cream for sure!! Thanks Sharon!! Adding additional comments here...I just happened to have some creme anglaise on hand and took these to work with the creme. Not a crumb was left, dipping these in a sweet cream definitely brings these to 5 stars!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs Goodall July 31, 2006

These were absolutely to die for! I made them last night and served them for breakfast this morning. They were easy to make and the filling is so good. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamgoddess July 06, 2005
Toronto Blueberry Buns