Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Top Secret Reicpes Version of Honeybaked Ham Glazeby Todd Wilbur Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Top Secret Reicpes Version of Honeybaked Ham Glazeby Todd Wilbur

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on December 25, 2009

      I made this last year and I will make it again today for Christmas dinner. Initially I thought putting everything on the sides of the ham was a messy pain,but then I saw a Food Network program, showing that the Honey-Baked Ham employees have to do exactly the same process! One thing that may be helpful.... I rub the surface of the ham with a little butter (you can use water as well) before putting on the sugar mixture. It helps it stick better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2008

      Thanks, every year I have to prepare 80lb of ham for our company Christmas dinner. This year, after finding your recipe, I purchased Pit Smoked boneless ham, mixed your ingredients together, added 2 tbs honey and 4 tbsp water, boiled this and painted the glaze on the sliced ham. One recipe made enough glaze for a 10lb thin sliced (1/16") ham. The raves came in almost instantly. "This is the best one yet" "How did you do this?" "Where did you get this ham? it tastes absolutely fabulous." etc, etc. Since last Friday I have given your recipe # and the link to the zaar to 11 people. I am getting all the glory. Thank you so very much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2011

      I hate to say this as I do use this site frequently but not only was I an employee at HoneyBaked Ham I glazed them for years and this is not the recipe. While I am sure this recipe is quite delicious it is missing one of the major ingredients and also it is poured over the top while in granual form and then a torch is used to actually complete the glaze. Seasoned salt is added after the sugar mixture as a second layer then glazed in carefully as to not burn the salt which is extremely easy to do.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2009

      I used a smoked ham, and cut diagnonal scores in it instead of a spiral cut. I melted remaining sugar glaze with butter and used as glaze for last 20 minutes of reheating. Everyone loved this recipe. We will use this recipe from now on instead of buying a glazed ham.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2008

      Great tasting glaze! I was looking for something to 'spice up' an unseasoned unspiral ham and I didn't have a blow torch, instead sprinkled it on the entire ham and basted throughout cooking...it was the taste I was looking for THX 4 sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2008

      This is wonderful! I bought several spiral sliced hams on sale after the Easter holiday and just didn't want to cook them my normal way. I put this on the ham and used my creme' brulee torch to toast it. My children couldn't stop eating it. They think it is even better than Honeybaked Ham because every part of the glaze was crunchy. Now when I see hams on sale I will stock up just so I can use this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2013

      Made this yesterday for Christmas dinner. Slices the ham, rolled it in the mixture and popped it into a 350 degree oven! Best ham I have ever made and the kids even had seconds. That's a Christmas miracle given that my 10 year old is so picky! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2011

      This recipe was created by Todd Wilbur for his book entitled "Even More Top Secret Recipes" (Penguin/Putnam 2002)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      Everyone loves this ham! What man wouldn't like to cook a ham that he can glaze with the same tourch he keeps in his toolbox?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      I made this for thanksgiving. It was pretty good. I'm not sure it is like honeybaked hams because I have never had it but will be making again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2009

      We bought a pre-sliced ham from Costco, heated in the oven according to the package directions, then rolled it with the sugar blend and torched away. It was fun, and even better, it tasted fabulous! It did take longer than I expected to torch it though so keep that in mind if you are making sides and want them finished at the same time. Thanks Looney!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2009

    • on December 17, 2008

      I didn't have allspice but didn't miss it. I broiled the cooked ham first then finished it off with the kitchen torch. Amazing. As good or better than HoneyBaked!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2008

      Very messy, but worth it. I took this ham to Thanksgiving and it was a big hit. And I paid $21 for an 8.5 lb ham at the grocery store instead of $60 for the real thing at HoneyBaked.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2008

      Excellent copycat! I do want to add something though. This is not a correction or negative so much as a comment. When they glaze the hams usually they don't mix the sugar and spices together. They sprinkle on and torch an few layers of sugar and while it's still bubbling sprinkle on a little of the spice mixture. So it's mainly sugar with a little spice. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2007

      I live just a few minutes away from the Honeybaked Ham factory. I usually just pick one up there because there is no sense in paying that outragous shipping. Well, this is a close copycat. Excellent!!! I'm sticking with this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2007

      Excellent. Tasted just as good if not better than Honeybaked, at about 1/3 the price! Definitely a keeper. THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2006

      Very easy. I used a cooked, boneless, unsliced honey ham. I cut it as thin as I could, avoiding cutting all the way through so it would hold together for the glazing. It created a nice crackled glaze with just the right amount of spice. I am looking forward to left-overs tomorrow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2006

      After I made this, I took it to a big family get-together, and was told it was BETTER than they HoneyBaked Ham store's ham. This was amazing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2005

      This is delicious. It is very close to the real thing and is much easier to do than it seems. It certainly beats paying the $7.00-$8.00 lb. that you would pay at the HoneyBaked Ham store.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Top Secret Reicpes Version of Honeybaked Ham Glazeby Todd Wilbur

    Serving Size: 1 (20 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 97.8
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    60%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.5 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.1 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 24.9 g
    99%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cooked ham shank

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes