Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Top Secret Recipes Waffle House Waffles by Todd Wilbur
    Lost? Site Map

    Top Secret Recipes Waffle House Waffles by Todd Wilbur

    Average Rating:

    64 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 64

    Sort by:

    • on June 12, 2010

      Wow! Best waffle recipe ever. I'm a huge fan of Waffle House Pecan Waffles. I've never been able to make anything at home that came close to theirs. This one tastes just like Waffle House. Another reviewer suggested adding malt to the recipe. I added 1/4 cup Carnation Original Malted Milk powder to the egg & sugar mixture. That puts it over the top. This will be the ONLY waffle recipe we ever use from now on. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      These waffles were fantastic. They were very light and fluffy. After reading the reviews I tried a combination of all of the suggestions. Many said the waffles were too sweet, and eavey mentioned adding malt, so I simply replaced the 1/2 c sugar with 1/2 c malt and that really did the trick. Thank you eavey for the malt idea. I think that just really gave these waffles the taste they needed. I did need to use more than 1/2 c batter. I actually needed more like 1 c batter. Maybe my waffle iron is larger or maybe it was the change I made. ?????

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2011

      I made this this morning and thou I have never ate at a Waffle House I loved them. I did not have Buttermilk so I use 1/4 cup more half and half in its place. I like the amount that it makes for I can freeze some for later. I love the fact that you don't have to beat egg whites for like 5 minutes and then fold them in later. I will be using this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2011

      I worked at a Waffle House while in college in Atlanta, GA in the late 1960's and while the waffle recipe is a secret I did learn that the recipe contains malted milk powder. Like others here I believe the 1/2 cup of sugar is an error and when replaced with about a 1/4 to 1/3 cup of Carnation Malted Milk Powder this recipe get about a close to a Waffle House waffle as I have ever had.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2011

      This is a great recipe have been using it for weeks. It actually makes better waffles than Waffle House. Today I made about 24 of them and froze them that works great. I added 2 tbs of cinnamon to the batter and they are delicious. If you like Waffles you will love this it's Grrrrrrrrrrreat!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2010

      We just sprinkle a handful of chopped pecans on top of the batter in the waffle iron, instead of to the bowl. This way you can have pecan waffles or plain, since not everyone eats nuts. Grew up with Waffle House, and the malt is definitely key to getting their exact flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2003

      Yummy! This was a great recipe, will be making this often. I didn't have half & half (substituted evaporated milk) or buttermilk (added a little lemon juice to regular milk and let set for a few minutes), and it still came out very good! Thanks for posting, SGJ!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2014

      Good stuff! I found this recipe on topsecretrecipes.com. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2013

      Great waffle recipe. My family loves these for dinner in our house and your recipe did not disappoint. Thank you for sharing with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2013

      Delicious breakfast recipe....I did add malt as some of the other reviewers suggested.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2012

      As written, these are too sweet. Next time I'd follow the tips of other reviewers and replace 1/4 cup sugar with malted powder. I used all butter and all fat free milk. Coming off the waffle iron the waffles were quite soft but firmed up in a couple of minutes. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2012

      Great waffles. I added more milk to make it thinner for our taste. Thanks SJG3483 :) Made for All you can cook buffet

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2012

      Delicious waffles! I have always just made Bisquick waffles, but these were great. I used milk soured with lemon juice for the buttermilk and just used skim milk for the half and half and milk and it worked fine. I did decrease the sugar and also added malt powder based on other recommendations. These were great and the yield was right on for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2011

      Oh my! These really taste like the real McCoy! After my husband took his first bite I asked him if they reminded him of the WH. He said, "Oh my gosh, they absolutely do! This is a keeper!". The only negative I have is that they wouldn't crisp up for me and I really like crispy waffles. However, they are still worthy of the highest rating because not everybody likes crispy waffles.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2011

      i was an assistant manager and this is nother like waffle house waffles

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2011

      I tried this recipe and found that that waffles would just fall apart. I was unable to get even an section out of the waffle iron without it just crumbling. they make wonderful pancakes though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2011

      We just bought 3 lbs bag of waffle house waffle mix for $5, just add buttermilk or half and half and eggs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2010

      Great Recipe! Worked Perfectly :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2010

      I found the batter to be quite runny and the waffles to be limp. I definitely cooked them for long enough too. I will stick to my Cook's Ilustrated buttermilk waffle recipe or yeasted overnight waffle recipe. They have better texture and more depth of flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2010

      These were great! We did add a handful of chopped pecans to the batter. Everyone enjoyed these. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Top Secret Recipes Waffle House Waffles by Todd Wilbur

    Serving Size: 1 (119 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 313.7
     
    Calories from Fat 111
    35%
    Total Fat 12.3 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 5.7 g
    28%
    Cholesterol 51.8 mg
    17%
    Sodium 567.8 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.0 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 19.3 g
    77%
    Protein 5.9 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites