64 Reviews

Wow! Best waffle recipe ever. I'm a huge fan of Waffle House Pecan Waffles. I've never been able to make anything at home that came close to theirs. This one tastes just like Waffle House. Another reviewer suggested adding malt to the recipe. I added 1/4 cup Carnation Original Malted Milk powder to the egg & sugar mixture. That puts it over the top. This will be the ONLY waffle recipe we ever use from now on. Thanks for sharing!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
david1438 June 12, 2010

These waffles were fantastic. They were very light and fluffy. After reading the reviews I tried a combination of all of the suggestions. Many said the waffles were too sweet, and eavey mentioned adding malt, so I simply replaced the 1/2 c sugar with 1/2 c malt and that really did the trick. Thank you eavey for the malt idea. I think that just really gave these waffles the taste they needed. I did need to use more than 1/2 c batter. I actually needed more like 1 c batter. Maybe my waffle iron is larger or maybe it was the change I made. ?????

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leetie16 June 29, 2010

I made this this morning and thou I have never ate at a Waffle House I loved them. I did not have Buttermilk so I use 1/4 cup more half and half in its place. I like the amount that it makes for I can freeze some for later. I love the fact that you don't have to beat egg whites for like 5 minutes and then fold them in later. I will be using this one again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LRMyers1968 August 21, 2011

I worked at a Waffle House while in college in Atlanta, GA in the late 1960's and while the waffle recipe is a secret I did learn that the recipe contains malted milk powder. Like others here I believe the 1/2 cup of sugar is an error and when replaced with about a 1/4 to 1/3 cup of Carnation Malted Milk Powder this recipe get about a close to a Waffle House waffle as I have ever had.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1st Knight July 08, 2011

We just sprinkle a handful of chopped pecans on top of the batter in the waffle iron, instead of to the bowl. This way you can have pecan waffles or plain, since not everyone eats nuts. Grew up with Waffle House, and the malt is definitely key to getting their exact flavor.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lindieb November 30, 2010

This is a great recipe have been using it for weeks. It actually makes better waffles than Waffle House. Today I made about 24 of them and froze them that works great. I added 2 tbs of cinnamon to the batter and they are delicious. If you like Waffles you will love this it's Grrrrrrrrrrreat!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
caveman926 January 26, 2011

We just bought 3 lbs bag of waffle house waffle mix for $5, just add buttermilk or half and half and eggs.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cintalaura January 20, 2011

Yummy! This was a great recipe, will be making this often. I didn't have half & half (substituted evaporated milk) or buttermilk (added a little lemon juice to regular milk and let set for a few minutes), and it still came out very good! Thanks for posting, SGJ!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~cbw~ December 28, 2003

Good stuff! I found this recipe on topsecretrecipes.com. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmyZoe May 24, 2014

Great waffle recipe. My family loves these for dinner in our house and your recipe did not disappoint. Thank you for sharing with us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour September 23, 2013
Top Secret Recipes Waffle House Waffles by Todd Wilbur