Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Top Secret Recipes Version of Wendy's Chili by Todd Wilbur
    Lost? Site Map

    Top Secret Recipes Version of Wendy's Chili by Todd Wilbur

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on October 18, 2003

      This has turned out to be my favorite chili recipe. Thank you, Shae, for sharing this "top secret" recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2003

      This is a tasty, hearty chili that is just about as close to the original that you can get. I opted to put only black beans in it which are our favorite beans. This makes a great freezer recipe for those nights when you just want to heat something real quick and have no fuss! Thanks for this great recipe:)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2011

      Perhaps Wendy's has changed their recipe since this "copy cat recipe" was created, as this is really not even close; however, it is a pretty good chili recipe. I have to admit that I am a Wendy's Chili connoisseur and I am able to pick their chili out from others...blindfolded! LOL Real Wendy's Chili does not have chilis in it at all...and has green (Bell) peppers instead. Wendy's also contains celery and the cumin in this version is a little too much, so I have cut it back quite a bit. There are a few other "Wendy's Chili" recipies out there that are closer than this one. Again, though, this recipe will do in a pinch...just don't expect it to be Wendy's 2010/2011 chili, or you will be sadly disappointed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2010

      I love this recipe!! It was such a big hit for my family and neighbors!! I added a little bit of spaghetti noodles to mine to make it more filling and everyone loved it!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      This recipe is pretty close to the taste of Wendy's Chili, but I like recipe 19061 since it is much easier even if this tastes more like it. Most will not notice the difference. I would add to cook in a Crockpot cook on Low for 6-8 hours. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2008

      Good but needs red and green bell pepper, sauted and canned stewed tomatoes, at least 2 28 oz cans or 3 in lieu of tomato sauce and water.. Lots of fresh crushed garlic and chili peppers along with the chili powder, corriander along with the cumin and a sprinkling of oregano.. I also use mixed beans for color variation with pinto and black and red and white kidney....Beans.. MJJ

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      This chilli is very good. The only thing I do differently is season to my own tastes with the cumin and chili powder, I usually add a bit more, and instead of the water i add either V8 juice or either chicken or beef broth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      Love this chili,I found the recipe a few years back.The great thing about it is that it tastes better after it has been frozen. I just freeze single serving sizes and have a quick meal ready to go.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      Chili was good it definitely needs a little more spice to it. I used 1 lb. of ground beef, and 1 lb. of hot breakfast sausage and still wasn't spicy enough. I also, used almost a full cup of green chilies, i would probably add either japs or cayanne next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2007

      As said before, the servings are more like 12 servings rather than 4-6. Other than that, it was a good meal that my only complaint would be that it should have a little more spice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2007

      Pretty good. My mother always served chili over rice - you should try that sometime it's good! If I make this again I would omit the cumin, personal preference. I thought the taste of it was too strong. To me it was just average.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2006

      My husband loves chile and he said this is the best he has ever had. I agree. Great flavor. I did cook mine on low for 4 hours in my crockpot. Severd it with No Garlic Garlic Bread (37928). Will be making this chile again soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2005

      This chili was ok, a bit too tomatoey - I didn't find it that close tasting to Wendy's Chili. I think next time, I will cut down the amount of tomato produts used in it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2004

      Everyone loved this. I must have put a bit more tomatoes and sauce in this as I did not have the exact cans specified. It produced a chili on the soupy side so we decided to serve it Cincinnati style: on spaghetti with cheddar cheese on top. Very good for this! This makes a lot of chili.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2004

      Excellent! Just my kind of chili, not too spicy with a lot of sauce. I subbed a can of diced tomatoes (drained) for the fresh, used canned chilis and added an extra can of beans. There was plenty left over to freeze. Great comfort food!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2004

      This chili recipe is my favorite! I'm a single college student so the portion size is a bit large for me, but my father loves it too. He says it's the best chili he's ever eaten. Shhh...don't tell Mom though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2004

      This was really good. My husband loves Wendy's chili and he thought it was awesome. Thanks for sharing, it's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2004

      Wonderful! A very good copycat recipe. The whole family enjoyed it and there is plenty for left-overs. Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2003

      This is a great recipe with a small problem. Be warned that the servings are a bit larger than you might imagine, i thought "4-6 servings....hmm, i should make 1.5 times the recipe so i can have leftovers later this week" well, i made 6-9 servings of it, which to me is about 18-20 servings of it, 2 of the large pots that i use to boil spagetti are full to the brim with delicious chili...this might be a problem. I researched the original recipe at the link provided at the top of the recipe, this recipe is for 12 servings, not 3-4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2003

      Realy yummy! I didn't use chopped tomatoes and only used one cup of water and it was fine. I will be making this again. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Top Secret Recipes Version of Wendy's Chili by Todd Wilbur

    Serving Size: 1 (947 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1181.0
     
    Calories from Fat 351
    29%
    Total Fat 39.0 g
    60%
    Saturated Fat 14.2 g
    71%
    Cholesterol 154.2 mg
    51%
    Sodium 5085.4 mg
    211%
    Total Carbohydrate 134.0 g
    44%
    Dietary Fiber 43.4 g
    173%
    Sugars 37.7 g
    151%
    Protein 82.9 g
    165%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites