11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a very flavourful seasoning mix. So far, I have tried it on burgers and chicken and it worked well on both, providing a sweet/tang from the tomato soup mix, and savouriness from the other ingredients. I can imagine this working well for something like fajitas.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens February 16, 2004

if you can't find tomato soup mix, try grinding dehydrated "Sun Dried Tomatoes" in your blender or coffee mill. works great! i'd have 5-starred this recipe if garlic had been listed too. i now add garlic powder based on other reviewer's comments.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
coastal fog January 25, 2011

I am unable to find the Knorr Tomato w/ Basil Soup can anybody tell me a suitable substitute for this item??? I have tried it with out it and just add some dried basil but I think it is missing something.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TanyaJade1978 December 03, 2010

I happen to have just a tish of Red Robin salt left, so I compared the taste and was so pleased to find that it's very close! Thank you SO much--we love Red Robin salt, but we no longer live close enough to a Red Robin restaurant to refill our supply.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annz Recipez March 29, 2009

I'm not sure how this could be accurate because the seasoning I used at the restaurant definitely had garlic in it!!! It wouldn't be nearly as good without it!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KatieCakes 74 February 19, 2009

This tastes just like the Red Robin seasoning. I keep it in an old spice jar with a sprinkle top and use it every time I make homemade or frozen french fries. I've even used it on fast food fries.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginny Sue July 03, 2006

I was disappointed. I really like the seasoning at Red Robin and this did not taste the same.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JacquelinePA April 09, 2006

Since Knorr discontinued their Tomato Basil Soup, I've been using the seasoning from Hamburger Helper Lasagna. The pasta can be used elsewhere. I multiply the recipe times 4, using the packet, and substitute 2 tsp. of Ancho Chili, and 6 tsp. regular chili powder for the total of 8. I also add a dash of dry basil and granulated garlic, since I detect lots of garlic in Red Robin's mix. Great on burgers, fries and chicken.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tjhornikel May 27, 2011

love the taste!!! however, when I first got this recipe I couldn"t find the soup mix so I mixed together all the remaining ingredients, and to 2# ground beef I added 2 teaspoons of the seasoning along with 2 tablespoons of catsup cooked them on medium-low heat.....makes delicious sliders!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diner Girl May 21, 2011

This recipe was created by Todd Wilbur for his book "Top Secret Restaurant Recipes 2" (Penguin/Putnam)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tsrweb March 23, 2011
Top Secret Recipes Version of Red Robin Seasoning by Todd Wilbur