342 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very much like the Colonels. I used light mayo and skim milk (1/2 c. since I didn't have buttermilk) and it was great! TY for an excellent recipee for BBQ season.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shabby Sign Shoppe May 25, 2003

I've been making this recipe for years. In my opinion it can't be beat. I don't recommend making any changes.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PanNan April 25, 2003

I used to work at KFC in the 70s and I made the coleslaw by the gallons. I remember the ingredients. This recipe is close, but they used tarragon vinegar (instead of white) and white pepper (instead of black). I also remember using some salad dressing (like Miracle Whip) in addition to mayo. They also added celery seeds. Because I made it in such huge quantities and didn't know mesurements on a smaller scale, I would duplicate it at home by adding the ingredients until it tasted right. Good luck and I hope this helps.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kkcruiser December 27, 2012

Great and very much like KFC's.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
endomgr April 18, 2012

This was SOOO delicious! My whole family LOVED this coleslaw and we couldn't stop eating it. Thank you for the BEST coleslaw recipe ever!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I-heart-good-food April 17, 2012

Great Recipe. Added a little cumin powder and chopped green chilli just for an additional kick. Loved it. :) Fay

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Girl from India April 12, 2012

This is the best coleslaw recipe I've made. It was similar to KFC, but too much lemon. I used fresh lemon juice, perhaps it would taste different with bottled. Next time I will use 2 Tbsp or even 1 1/2 Tbsp. but I will definitely make it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ann H. April 04, 2012

This was excellent! Thanks so much Will make again and again! Just used the bag colesaw but GREAT! Just to add on I used 2 bags of coleslaw mix.
Thanks for the recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cathy Pete March 12, 2012

Thank you for sharing this recipe! Love the flavor ~ it is great even when using Splenda for the sugar and all milk rather than buttermilk. Helps cut the calories but keeps the KFC taste!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wife-w-kids February 29, 2012

my daughter loves KFC coleslaw...we made this last night to go with bbq ribs...yum...she said it tastes just like the colonel's...EDIT: hubs just sent me a text...and i quote..."this is some dang good coleslaw!!! 5stars"

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pigtailone January 31, 2012
Top Secret Recipes Version of KFC Coleslaw by Todd Wilbur