341 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This one is so good. I maded vegan with agave nectar and grape oil mayo. Was so good.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nldflores30 June 20, 2010

A GREAT recipe! I threw away all my others. I made it as given and my mom ate 3/4 of it in one night. It's fast and easy, great flavor. Thank you Sharlene. Stephen, Hinkley, Ca

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
longknife58 June 19, 2010

This was quite a delicious salad. For me it didnt taste like KFC but it was a fantastic coleslaw anyways. I did cut the recipe in half since we were just 2 of us. So there was still plenty of leftovers. I had used the 16oz package of shredded cabbage and just chopped it up even more. It came to 5 cups total with the carrots. Thanks for sharing this yummy recipe Sharlene

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FrenchBunny April 13, 2010

I have been meaing to leave a review since August. This was delicous...no one could beleive that it wasnt KFC coleslaw, I didnt have buttermilk so i used 1/4c milk with a tsp of lemon juice in it and it turned out beautifully. Thanks for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MommaKim February 19, 2010

I created this recipe in 1993 for my premiere book "Top Secret Recipes." I'm glad the reviews have been so great, and that everyone here has enjoyed this recipe and all the others from my books and website that have been posted on RecipeZaar. --Todd Wilbur

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Real Todd Wilbur October 07, 2009

Love it! The only thing I do different is to let the cabbage mixture sit in the air for a few hours to get rid of some of the surface moisture. Other than that, I do as directed. Thanks for the keeper.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mike McCartney July 27, 2009

make your own buttermilk using skim milk and about 1 tbs of white vinegar and let it sit for a few minutes

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BethanyJoseph July 11, 2009

I tried this recipe because all of the excelent reviews, they were right. I served this cole slaw for Thanksgiving and it was great. I used sour cream in place of the buttermilk just because that is what I had. I will definitely make this again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenifer F. November 27, 2003

I was asked to bring cole slaw to a clam bake. This stuff is wonderful. Rave reviews. Thanks for posting it.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bob Crouch September 30, 2003

This was really good with low fat mayo. I chopped and mixed by hand, no processor. It was a little sweet at first but later it mellowed out and was perfect. I served with grilled chicken.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
riffraff June 10, 2003
Top Secret Recipes Version of KFC Coleslaw by Todd Wilbur