Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Top Secret Recipes Version of Houston's Cole Slaw by Todd Wilbur
    Lost? Site Map

    Top Secret Recipes Version of Houston's Cole Slaw by Todd Wilbur

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on May 24, 2009

      I thought this was really delicious. Wasn't a big wet mess in the bottom. I did use a package of shredded cole slaw mix though, didn't like what the cabbages looked like this week. So it had shredded carrots in it. It was only about 4 cups of cabbage so I halved the dressing. It turned out just wonderful but just needed some pepper I found when I served it. Tastes just like a great restaurant cole slaw. Will keep this recipe to make again. Forgot to mention I let it chill overnight. *******Made again for a picnic this Memorial Day weekend for 10 and everyone just loved this. They said it was delicious and took dibs on taking leftovers home if there were any.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2008

      I started with this basic recipe, then made a few changes. My goal was to use some vegetables from my garden. I used 1/2 cup mayonnaise and 1/2 plain yogurt. I added 2 tablespoons honey and added carrots, celery, radish, rasiens and pecons, and since I like things with a little zip, added a teaspoon chili powder. It came out great. Thanks for giving me the starting place.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      This is the greatest cole slaw I have ever had. All my friends wanted the recipe. Thanks so much.........JW

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2009

      Great coleslaw! We had a few friends over for the 4th and I served this as part of our barbeque buffet. Everyone thought it was delish! I used a bag and a half of the Dole coleslaw mix, ground celery seed and subbed Splenda for the sugar. Nice mix of flavors and i liked that it wasn't overly "dressed". Thanks fpr posting this, MichelleinHI- it's a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      Delicious and just how I had hoped it would be. I used my new food processor for the cabbage and pepper (I used red instead of green) and onion. I also added some fresh mint. I also cut down on the mayo and and made up for it with FF sour cream. I used Splenda instead of sugar (and might have added a tad more than the recipe called for) and added pepper. Best cole slaw I've had!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2014

      This is the best creamy coleslaw ever! I used light mayo, tarragin vinegar and dried chives instead of the green onions and it tasted just like Houston's. Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2012

      I just put this in the fridge, so the flavors have not had a chance to marry, but it's very good. I think I may like a little more dressing, but going to wait until tomorrow to see, and may double that, but this is a keeper. So glad I tried it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2012

      I really enjoyed this coleslaw. I usually shred the cabbage, but followed the directions and had great success with my food processor chopping the cabbage in 1/4 head portions. (I tried 1/2 head and had to re-chop.) I made double the dressing and poured just enough to my taste over the cabbage. It turned out perfectly with about 1/4 more dressing than the recipe called for, so I wasted some. Oh well. I do think I'll stick to adding some shredded carrots just for color as I usually do, but I'm keeping this recipe to replace the old one. The dressing was just right, and the bell peppers were a nice addition too. Good food!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2012

      This is our family's new favorite cole slaw. Easy to make and NO DAIRY, which is important, since DH is allergic to all milk products. We skip the bell pepper as a personal preference. Slice the cabbage in the food processor, grate the carrot in the food process, mix the dressing in a bowl, add the chopped, grated stuff and DONE!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2011

      WOW!!! What a delicious slaw recipe!!! I made exactly like the recipe states except I used a slaw mix instead of chopping a head of cabbage but made the dressing exactly as stated. This is the best cole slaw I've ever had!! I'll be making this alot for our BBQ"S!!! Thanks Michelle!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2009

      Awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2009

      Thanks for the recipe! I didn't have bell pepper so I omitted that and I think I used a bit more cabbage than called for, but it was all still good. Nice and simple.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      This was a nice change from my usual slaw. Liked the addition of parsley. I didn't have green pepper on hand but I think that would have been a welcome addition. I added a good deal more salt than indicated.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2009

      This was a great slaw! I did not add parsley, onion, peppers or celery seed (I didn't have any of this stuff on hand) but I did add about a cup of shredded carrots and broccoli. It was delicious! Not too sweet and not too vinegary.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2009

      Very good recipe thanks!! I did use a mixture of splenda and honey as the sweetener and it tasted great...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      Love it. I've made it 3 times now and EVERY time, people have commented on how good it is! I cheated and used 1 bag of Dole coleslaw mix, then add the other stuff. Not too sweet, not mayo-tasting, (i generally can't do mayo things) just perfect. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2008

      now THIS is what coleslaw should be! all the flavors blend together so nicely... not too sharp or sweet, no one flavor stands out. and i like that it's lightly dressed, not a bland gloppy mess like so many coleslaws seem to be. i did sub shredded carrot for the green pepper for the color contrast. i will make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2008

      Thank God! I love the Rutherford Grill (a Houston's restaurant) in Napa Valley where I live, but don't want to go too often since it's expensive. Their coleslaw is one of my favorite things. I just tried some while it was resting and was so happy with the flavors. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Top Secret Recipes Version of Houston's Cole Slaw by Todd Wilbur

    Serving Size: 1 (113 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 121.0
     
    Calories from Fat 67
    55%
    Total Fat 7.5 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 5.7 mg
    1%
    Sodium 209.2 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.3 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 7.0 g
    28%
    Protein 1.3 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites