Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Top Secret Recipes Version of Heinz Ketchup
    Lost? Site Map

    Top Secret Recipes Version of Heinz Ketchup

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on May 31, 2011

      Great recipe. I used 1/8 c. dark balsamic and the rest white vinegar, DH said it tasted just like the original.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2012

      Wowzers, this is a nice quick recipe. Followed the recipe with a few minor variations due to what was in my pantry. Used a clove of home made roasted garlic paste, and some home made tomato paste. Also used traditional balsamic since I didn't have white on hand and substituted the corn syrup with an equal portion of local honey.

      Went nicely with a double smoked cheddar and mozzarella grilled cheese. Yummy, using this recipe again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2014

      I was making some hot wing sauce today and found that I was out of ketchup. This recipe tastes almost exactly like the store-bought versions. The only only change I made was to substitute the corn syrup for 1/2 raw sugar 1/2 honey. Great recipe! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2011

      love this stuff never buying the store brand again thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2011

      This recipe was a lifesaver, halfway through making our favourite meatball recipe I found I was 1/2 cup shy of ketchup and town is too far away to go get some. Food.com and morelhunter to the rescue! I followed this recipe almost exactly, using dark balsamic vinegar as that's what I had on hand and omitting the sugar as the one reason I dislike Heinz is it's too sweet. Although it's nice and worked great in the recipe, the balsamic vinegar is a bit too strong for my kids tastes. I'll definitely be making again and try it with all white vinegar and let you know then :-) Thanks for saving our dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2010

      I was looking for a low sodium recipe and decided to try this one. I used the tomato paste with 20mg of sodium. I made the recipe as stated and it was very good but a little too sweet for me. The next time I'll leave out the sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2010

      Thank you for posting this recipe, you saved me from having to make a trip to the store when I ran out of ketchup one day. This is a nice, mild ketchup. Next time I make it I think I will add a little more salt and vinegar to kick it up a notch. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2010

      Fantastic recipe! Thanks a lot for posting. The whole family loves it! Only change made was that used fresh garlc and onion paste instead of the powder

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2009

      our family loves this ketchup! we do not buy store bought anymore....could not find paste with garlic, we crush real garlic. we also use all white distilled vinegar. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2009

      I'm not buying ketchup again! I had to cut down on corn syrup. Had no balsamic vinegar but the results were great even without.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2009

      Yum! So easy, and so good :) . I haven't bought ketchup in some time as I've just been making this. Slightly cheaper and who can beat anything home made?? Now if I could just perfect mustard...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2009

      I am a total ketchup snob...and I LOVE Heinz ketchup...but we have been out for a week or so, and I was in the mood for some fries. I did a couple changes so, it could be my fault....it is kind of vinegar-y for my taste, and I was out of onion powder...so I diced up some onion and pureed the mixture at the end. I added a little less corn syrup, a little more sugar....and an extra can of paste. DEFINITELY worth another try!! I am going to refrigerate it and see what happens!! I am excited! :) Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2009

      A little too vinegary for our taste, but I just added more tomato paste. I'm not a big ketchup fan so the important thing is that the ketchup fans (the kids) gave it a thumbs up. Easy to make too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      Very good. I also used dark balsamic vinegar because I was unable to find white. It turned out slightly sweet for me, but I'll just reduce the sugar a bit next time. I may also try it with all white vinegar. Regardless, it's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2009

      Real good and so easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2009

      We made this recipe to go into another recipe because we ran out of ketchup. We also used dark balsamic and we didn't have the corn syrup either so we subbed it with Agave Nectar. It may have not been Heinz but it still tasted like ketchup and was a little darker in appearance. We were pleasantly surprised and will be making this again using corn syrup to see if there is a any difference. Thanks for sharing a great recipe. You saved dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2009

    • on March 17, 2009

      I use this recipe almost weekly...but on a much smaller level. I chop up some roma tomatoes and simmer til soft. Then I run them through a food mill to remove all the skins and seeds. At this point I add garlic powder, onion salt, cider vinegar, water and vegetable glycerin and bring it all up to a simmer again until it's reduced to a ketchup-like consistency. I'm really not sure of the exact measurements, I just eyeball it. But it works for us, and I thank you for supplying the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2009

      This is a good recipe to have on hand. I used regular tomato paste and 1/4 tsp garlic powder. I also did not have balsamic vinegar so I used red wine vinegar. I am sure it was a little different but still really good. Edit: Hubby thought this was a little too sweet. This is his personal preference and I am adding this note so that I will remember to reduce the sugar next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2009

      This is good and made out of pantry supplies that we all have. Cost effective and could be made diabetic. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Top Secret Recipes Version of Heinz Ketchup

    Serving Size: 1 (25 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 24.5
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    32%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 60.8 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.2 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 2.8 g
    11%
    Protein 0.1 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes