Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Top Secret Recipes Version of Baja Fresh Salsa by Todd Wilbur
    Lost? Site Map

    Top Secret Recipes Version of Baja Fresh Salsa by Todd Wilbur

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on May 11, 2014

      We really enjoyed this salsa. I had to broil instead of grill, but it worked great. I only used half the amount of water called for. So simple and flavorful, Thanks for posting this delicious recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2014

      Haven't tried it yet but I have recently been diagnosed with heart disease and I am on a low sodium diet. Can anyone tell me how to make salsa that still tastes good without all the salt. Thanks, Kathy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2013

      Love it!!! Home run!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2011

      so perfect. I have been making this for years now and am just getting around to reviewing in anticipation of a bumper crop of tomatoes that will be turned into this amazing salsa and canned. Will make a jar or two with chipotle just to kick it up a bit.

      Adding information here - I replaced 1/2 of the water with fresh lemon juice and put in a ground dried chipotle for an amazing kick on this.

      The reason the water is in there is this salsa at Baja Fresh is very runny. If you like a normal thick and chunky salsa there's no reason to add the water but if you want a true copy, add it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

    • on August 12, 2009

    • on August 04, 2009

    • on June 08, 2009

      Ok, so I have never eaten Baja Fresh salsa before so I can't compare it to that, but my review on it as a tasty salsa is about 21/2 stars. I'm not sure exactly what it was that I didn't like but, I know it wasn't spicy enough for me and I even added extra pepper. I also added lime juice to it so maybe that was my mistake. This is my first time making salsa, so maybe I screwed something up along the way. It was good, but I doubt I would try to make it again. I think I'll keep looking for a recipe that suits my taste better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2008

      Made this last night with a few changes. Used 4 Jalopeno peppers (two without seeds), increased onion to 1/2 cup, and 2 cloves of garlic which I smashed and smeared with the salt. And 2 teaspoons lime juice. And finally NO water. The consistancy is perfect without it. I and my co-workers just loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2007

      It is December 28, we have had about six inches of snow, and I just took the grilled tomatoes and peppers off the grill. I think the neighbor across the street that was shoveling thought I was crazy. But as I made it this past summer and canned about 20 jars of this stuff, its now all gone. Either eaten by me and my daughter (husband/son not fans) and given away as Christmas gifts, there was no way I was going to wait until summer to make this again. The only thing I do differently is omit the onions (don't like em) and added the juice of a half of a lime for each recipe. I LOVE THIS STUFF! I pour it over scrambled eggs, over pork dishes, you name it. THANKS FOR POSTING and sorry for waiting so long to rate it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2007

      This was great. The only thing I did difrent was no water!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2007

      I have been searching for this recipe for years and this is fantastic! I am not big on using measurements so I threw it together with the listed ingredients and it is such a hit as my house. THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2006

      SO GOOD!! Mine didn't really turn out like Baja Fresh's, but I think that's because I didn't blacken my tomatoes enough. I spent too much time checking them and moving them around; next time I will put them on the grill and leave them alone! I also think a little extra bite would be nice so I'm going to try a batch with the addition of a chipotle pepper. I just can't believe I finally know the secret to making a smoky salsa! I NEVER would have guessed this was the method! Thanks so much for sharing the secret!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2006

      I made this last weekend to have with some football munchies. It was a big hit and really packs a punch. I live in an apt. so I don't have access to an outdoor grill. I used my grill pan and the results were fine. I have never had Baja Fresh but this recipe was good!!!!!Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2006

      This was very close to the original! Like some of the other reviewers I also made some modifications. I added extra cilantro and used 3 cloves of garlic. I went easy on the (1 Cup) but I could have used the whole 1-1/2. Since I cut my jalapeno in half to grill and dropped one of the halves in the grill my salsa was a bit mild. All I had was cayenne pepper so I gave it a shot and it added a little flavor. I’m going to play around with this recipe until I get it as close as possible. Thanks so much for posting this!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2005

      Great salsa, but I did have to make modifications (some by choice, some not). I think my tomatoes were either too big, or too ripe. Since once I pureed them, I didn't need to add the 1 1/2 cups of water. The juice from the tomatoes was plenty. Like a recommendation from above, I also grilled a few onion slices for the same time as the jalapenos. And my salsa was soooooo mild that I even needed to add in a diced jalapeno at the end (not roasted, but fresh). My kids are still able to eat it, so that means it's still not hot enough, but plenty good. The only other modifications I found that were needed was about 2 additional TSP of salt. Great recipe, eill keep for a long time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2005

      THANK YOU? I have been looking for this recipe for a long time. It is simple and right on the origianl.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2005

      Every time I go to Baja Fresh I load up on this salsa. I was so glad when TSR came out with this recipe because it is like going to Baja. It's deep, dark flavor is such a smokey complement to fresh salsa.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2005

      I like this recipe a lot and make my own version. I like to roast 2 cloves of garlic for this salsa and add it to the blender. I also grill and char a medium white onion for the salsa and add that into the blender stage. Check out my other recipes at www.rockandrollbbq.com

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2005

      We loved this salsa although we don't have a grill so the tomatoes were broiled. Next time I'll "borrow" my bro's BBQ grill and give the recipe justice. I didn't stir in the onion and garlic as directed in the recipe but decided to blend it in with the toms and jalapeno. All things considered, it turned out very good! I made extra salsa and froze the rest. I wonder if the flavor would be even more intense if the garlic and onion were grilled, too? Thanks for posting the recipe! CG

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Top Secret Recipes Version of Baja Fresh Salsa by Todd Wilbur

    Serving Size: 1 (1262 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 57.3
     
    Calories from Fat 5
    57%
    Total Fat 0.6 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 793.9 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.4 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 3.7 g
    14%
    Sugars 8.0 g
    32%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites