Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Top Secret Peanut Butter Frosting Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Top Secret Peanut Butter Frosting

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on July 23, 2008

      The secret to the success of this recipe is to first cook the milk and flour to a paste and then let it cool thoroughly. Don't worry about bringing it to a boil, because it won't. And DO NOT add the sugar to the milk! When the mixture is completely cool, beat the remaining ingredients (sugar, peanut butter, margarine and vanilla) in a bowl until fluffy--the sugar will "dissolve" during the process and will not remain grainy. Then gradually beat in the milk/flour mixture until it is incorporated and the frosting becomes fluffy. (I have already substituted butter-flavored shortening for the margarine and it turns out beautifully.) The consistency of this frosting is more like a firm whipped topping, not like a traditional powdered sugar icing. I have a similar recipe that omits the peanut butter and increases the margarine to 1 cup total. Enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2011

      Oh my goodness! This is exactly the peanut butter frosting I've been looking for! Made it for
      the frosting for a wacky cake (Wacky Cake) and if I had my way, I wouldn't have shared
      at all. Makes enough for a 9" x 13" cake but I used it all on a 9" x9" inch cake. (no complaints from anyone) Light in texture, full of flavor~will be making this again...and again. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2013

      The taste of this peanut butter frosting is D-E-L-I-C-I-O-U-S. I followed doobtones #2 's advice regarding the milk / flour mixture, cooked it on low for about 10 mins stirring constantly. I waited the 30 mins for the mixture to cool on the counter (with the bowl covered in plastic wrap), then separately mixed together the sugar, peanut butter, and I Can't Believe It's Not Butter. I added the milk / flour mixture gradually and mixed thoroughly. The frosting was so smooth and creamy, but very thin. I put it in the fridge overnight hoping it would thicken. It did, but very slightly. I still am not able to spread the frosting on my Chocolate Chocolate Chip Sour Cream Banana cupcakes without it dripping everywhere. I love the taste so much of this frosting that I don't want to add the 8 oz. of cream cheese to it and alter the taste. Does anyone have any suggestions of what else I can do to thicken up the frosting? I was thinking of adding a couple tablespoons of cool whip. Please let me know!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2013

      AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Best peanut butter frosting I have ever had!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2012

      Very good! After I whipped it for what seemed like forever, I stuck the bowl and all in the freezer for a few minutes then whipped it some more. Turned out great! I think it's even better the next day .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2011

      GREAT RECIPE! I used this with the Best Wacky Cake #125923. Next time I think I will try some of your other variations. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2011

      I decided to try this out today. Mine didn't come out fluffy, but it came out nice and smooth, and absolutely delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      mine did not turn out fluffy but that was my error not the recipe. it is sooo good tho! i made it and put it on chocolate cupcakes and then added a dollop of a sweet cream frosting and they were perfect. even made not quite right it was wonderful and something i will make right and not right again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2009

      Great frosting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2009

      This stuff is amazing! Light, fluffy and not overly sweet. Highly suggest trying it! I used it to top banana chocolate chip cupcakes, but I had some left over so I threw it on a bagel. Then this morning I used it as a fruit dip for bananas and apples. Love it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2008

      I made this recipe,(without the cream cheese variation), to serve on a chocolate cake, and I think it was a winning combination. This is not the first time that I have made a frosting using the cooked milk/flour technique which I think makes a superior frosting to one using confectioners sugar. I will certainly make this recipe again. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2008

      Milk/ flour paste didn't boil. I kept it on the stove until it had the consistency of cake batter. I used 8 oz of cream cheese substituted for the margarine. Next time I will add more peanut butter because the flavor was very light (esp. when competing with the cream cheese).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      I gave it 5 stars even though mine was flop. I too was afraid of grainyness so I added the sugar right off the stove. I waited 30 min and I did use 4oz of cream cheese but it was runny and never set up, even in the fridge. I'm sure it was because I "melted" the sugar. I may use butter Crisco next time also. It was smooth and glossy which makes me want to try this again and actually follow the directions!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2008

      this is a GREAT frosting recipe. it has gotten rave reviews with people i have made it for and everyone wants the recipe. it is easy to make and tastes great. i like to make it well in advance so it has a thicker consistancy for frosting cupcakes. like Che-Sara, i used it on the Chocolate Chocolate Chip Sour Cream Banana Bread, made into cupcakes. sometimes i make jumbo cupcakes and frost with this frosting, topping it with whipped cream and chocolate savings, they are beautiful and taste a like a banana split! Fabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2008

      This is a WONDERFUL frosting recipe!!!! Last night I made Chocolate Chocolate Chip Sour Cream Banana Bread (#69407). I baked it as a two layer cake and frosted the entire thing with this wonderful frosting. I used butter instead of margarine and my family and a guest were in pure heaven. SO easy to make and so creamy and perfect. I liked that it was not way too sweet. I will definitely be using this recipe again!!!! Thanks for posting!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2007

      What a fabulous frosting! I was afraid it would be grainy, so I mixed the sugar, flour (used 1/4 cup) and milk and cooked whisking constantly over medium heat until boiling and thickened. Then I just creamed the butter and peanut butter and added the cooled thick sweet milk mixture and beat until fluffy. It tastes delicious and frosted the top and sides of Darn Good Chocolate Cake ( Cake Mix Cake) beautifully. I used Old-Fashioned Chocolate Filling and Frosting (with 2 T. peanut butter added) between the layers and had the absolute best chocolate peanut butter cake EVER! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2007

      This was sooooo good!! I used this to frost a 9x13 cake that I made using Sharlene-W's peanut butter cupcakes recipe and took it to a family cookout yesterday and everyone loved it!! I did follow the directions for making this but for one thing instead of using all margarine I used half margarine and half crisco shortening. It was a smooth, fluffy and creamy frosting. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2007

      I agree, not a traditional frosting, although I rushed it and didn't let it cool all the way (30 minutes on the counter covered) and then I didn't refrigerate it. It is very tasty, but mine was a little thin. Oh, and the milk/flour never boiled, it just kept getting thicker and thicker, but never boiled. I chose it because it had the ingredients on hand when I was under the gun. Thanks for the easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2007

      The frosting didn't turn out fluffy, which was probably because of how I made it (I added the sugar just after taking the milk mixture off the heat, it was still on the warm side when I beat in the butter, and the creamy peanut butter I used was practically liquid), but it made a nice smooth glossy frosting that I thought was pretty appealing, and it had a rich peanut butter taste. Not a very complex flavor - I thought it would have done well with a bit more "roasted" flavor, which was probably because of the brand of peanut butter I used - but the peanut butter is definitely front-and-center, which I liked. This made just the right amount for icing a 13 x 9" cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2004

      This was so good! I served this over MizzNezz's Ultimate Brownies and it made a delicious topping. It was very creamy. Thanks Harley Princess!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Top Secret Peanut Butter Frosting

    Serving Size: 1 (713 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 730.7
     
    Calories from Fat 358
    49%
    Total Fat 39.8 g
    61%
    Saturated Fat 9.5 g
    47%
    Cholesterol 11.3 mg
    3%
    Sodium 415.7 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 85.1 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    11%
    Sugars 70.7 g
    282%
    Protein 14.4 g
    28%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites