21 Reviews

this dish had a nice flavor to it, but it was rather dry. I will make it again, but next time, I will add a can of cream of chicken or cream of mushroom soup to it as well.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChammyisBack November 12, 2006

I did this with an added can of cream of chicken as per the other reviews. It turned out Great!! The rice was and chicken were moist and the broccoli was steamed. I loooooved this recipe and am making it again this week!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mistress of Tea December 11, 2007

I made this tonight for the first time, and couldn't believe how easy and delicious it was! I used a broccoli and chicken rice mix, as it was all I had, and cut the chicken into bite size pieces. I also used fresh broccoli and added some carrots, and served the dish with a side salad and roasted green beans and asparagus. A quick and very tasty meal. Thanks!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KissaK1 September 07, 2007

While good, it does not have enough flavor as is. I had to doctor this up with some zesty cajun spices, and it also turned out somewhat dry. Next time I will follow other people's advice and use cream of broccoli soup to replace the water, and a bit of cajun spice from the get go!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
H-grrl December 15, 2008

Thanks for the recipe, but, to me, it would have been horribly bland.

But, given the fab ingredients, I put my international and healthy spin on it.

I used 3 garlic cloves minced (instead of powder), a handful of fresh organic parsley, a handful of fresh organic basil, 2 cups of jasmine rice (healthier than prepackaged), 4 cups of water, a pinch of seasoned salt (or celery salt), a teaspoon of black pepper (I ise freshly ground), 2 tablespoons of chili powder, a teaspoon of yellow curry powder (excellent in ANY caserole in SMALL doses) and Panko breadcrumbs as a topper. You can always use regular breadcrumbs or cornflake crumbs, but panko is the crunchiest and healthiest.

FRESH makes it BEST!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
natureNspiceMAKESitNICE! November 29, 2011

Just made this and was very pleased. Our kitchen is in the middle of a remodel so I am limited to pots, pans and sink. I went to supercook.com and typed in a few ingriedients that I had and this delicious recipe came up. I did add a can of cream of mushrooms soup and some tonys seasoning. Oh, I also put some carrots in the food processor to chop them up really fine so my family would not see them. I had the brocolli on the side because I only had fresh. Very easy and very good. I will deinitely make it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hrhanks January 19, 2010

This recipe really was too easy, but it was sooo good! You can't go wrong with a recipe that uses one dish, minimum prep time and is so delicious. The chicken was really nice and juicy. This recipe is perfect for those nights when you want a family dinner, but don't have that much time. I'll definetely make this again. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
starrynight April 13, 2003

This was a good weeknight dinner with pretty good flavor. I cut up my chicken and added a can of cheese soup as per another review--maybe it would've been better with cream of chicken? There were no objections to dinner, but no raves either, though it might just be our tastes. Thank you for the seriously easy recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dwynnie June 13, 2012

I made it as is and mine had plenty of flavor! It was delicious :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fantastical Sharing June 03, 2011

I gave this dish four stars because as other reviewers have commented it is a little bland, but still tastey. I'll have to try the cream of broccoli soup next time. I did make a few changes, they are as follows: I only had Rice-a-Roni on hand so I used it for the rice mixture. I sauted some fresh broccoli and sliced mushrooms and used that for the frozen broccoli. I cut the chicken in bite size pieces. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lighthouse Rita January 19, 2010
Too Easy Cheesy Chicken, Broccoli and Rice Casserole