Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tony Luke's Italian Roast Pork Sandwich (The Real Deal) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tony Luke's Italian Roast Pork Sandwich (The Real Deal)

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on January 09, 2009

      I cooked the broccoli rabe as suggested in this recipe and it came out soggy. I would suggest blanching it for 2 minutes before saute-ing it. My husband and I could have made a meal with just the broth and italian bread. My whole family loved it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2007

      this is worth a try at least once. because in philly everyone has a diffrent roast pork spot. so it's a matter of preferance.i will make it again but instead of pulling it apart into small pieces i will slice it on a meat slicer. i also added a dash of hot pepper flakes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2012

      This recipe is a keeper. The more garlic, the better. Great dish to serve on a fall day during football games.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2012

      This recipe is excellent. The first time I made it, following the instructions, the rabe came out too soggy. I like it to have some crunch. The 2nd time I made it, I boiled the rabe for 1 minute, then placed it in ice water for 1 minute, then saut?ed for 3 mins with the olive oil, garlic and crushed red pepper. Came out perfect.

      Overall this is an amazing recipe that makes a great sandwich. So flavorful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2012

      OMG!!! This is the absolute BEST!!! So tasty and satisfying...I use the small tenderloins and just add all the herbs and spices to it in the crock pot and mush and stir often. The added liquid is definitely necessary to the rabe. I followed the recipe to a T otherwise. Using the small tenderloins cuts way down on prep time and it tastes amazing just the same. There's a deli near me that allows me to order rolls from South Philly...good rolls are a must due to the juiciness of the sandwich! A 5 Star sandwich for sure!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2011

      was there any need to add liquid to the crockpot?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2011

      Really good sandwich,I followed the recipe to a T. The broccoli rabe sauted up very nicely and was not too saucy, I let it cook down some. The pork in the crock pot slow cooked perfectly and pulled apart easily and was very flavorful and tender. Not too strong of a garlic flavor, just enough. a good roll is important, I toasted mine very lightly. A for this great Philadelphia classic served at the ball park in addition to Tony Lukes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2010

    • on February 06, 2010

      This is a wonderful way to use leftover smoked pork butt. i just shredded the pork and added onion and the rest of the ingredients> My family is spoiled and they loved this (they did not even know it was leftovers!!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      Loved, loved, loved it. Made it for my holiday party (11 pounds of pork!) and everyone just raved about it. Making it again today for Eagles party. I used 1/2 pork shoulder and 1/2 pork tenderloin for a less fatty version.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2009

      I'd give this one 10 stars if I could! THE BEST EVER!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2009

      This recipe is a keeper for life. I add a little white wine and chicken stock when braising the pork. Super delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2009

      I have had Tony Luke's Pork Sandwich and it is the best - thanks for the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2008

    • on January 01, 2008

      My girlfriend made this for me on New Years Eve. It has become my new favorite way to eat pork sandwiches. Next time I am in Philly, I will definately ckeck out the original. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2007

      we made this for an Eagle's tailgate - truly as good as the original!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2006

      Really yummy, the whole family enjoyed this!!! I will definately make this again, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2006

      great sandwich

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2006

      My family and I eat at Tony Luke's and this is as close as you get. Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2005

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tony Luke's Italian Roast Pork Sandwich (The Real Deal)

    Serving Size: 1 (599 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 705.5
     
    Calories from Fat 502
    71%
    Total Fat 55.8 g
    85%
    Saturated Fat 19.9 g
    99%
    Cholesterol 160.4 mg
    53%
    Sodium 1659.9 mg
    69%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.1 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 45.0 g
    90%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites