Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tonkatsu (Japanese Pork Cutlet) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tonkatsu (Japanese Pork Cutlet)

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on June 06, 2011

      Besides some sushi, this is my absolute favorite Japanese dish! I always make it this way but have heard from one Japanese person to add a little Saki to the egg mixture. Tastes great either way and the Tonkatsu sauce is a definite must, easy to find near the soy sauce at the grocery store and delicious!!! My whole family LOVES this dish!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2010

      This came out great! we really enjoyed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      Very easy and delicious. A keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2008

      Fantastic pork recipe and easy, too. These only took about 20 min. from prep to finish for me. I didn't have the tonkatsu sauce because I didn't read through all the instructions - only the ingredient list - before going to the store. I had never heard of tonkatsu sauce so didn't know the title meant anything other than a name...oops! Luckily, I had some sweet and sour dipping sauce in my fridge and used that. It worked very well. The directions were great. I did use about double the amt. of flour and about 3/4 cup of panko to coat my 4 pork chops. My whole family loved this recipe. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2008

      These were very good. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2008

      I first had tonkatsu at the Embarcadero and fell in love with it, a simple (and simple foods are usually the best) and satisfying comfort food. When I started to crave it, I decided to make my own and found this recipe. Since my niece has an egg allergy, I used Ener-g egg replacer instead, which also helps to cut down on cholesterol. I salt and peppered the pounded chops, dipped them in flour and the "egg," repeated and then into the panko. To get a crisper crust, I put them into the freezer for ten minutes before I fried them. Be sure to shake off excess flour and egg, have enough oil at the correct temperature, and drain on a rack so that the crust stays crisp and isn't greasy. I've also used tempura flour or cornstarch with good results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2007

    • on October 11, 2007

      Yum! I happened across a box of panko bread crumbs at the store today, and wanted to try a new recipe with them. This was so easy to make, and delicious too. I threw some garlic salt in the flour mixture to add a bit of extra flavor. I am usually awful at keeping crumbs on, but these were perfect. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2007

      I made this for my husband who is a VERY picky eater and careful with what compliments he gives.. and he absolutely loved this! I was surprised when he even said it was better than restaurant Tonkatsu. Thanks for sharing this simple yet wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2007

      Awesome, just what I was craving. Having just moved halfway around the world I'm missing several things from back home. One is the local Japanese hole-in-the-wall, the other is my meat mallet! I pounded a couple pork chops out using the bottom of a sturdy coffee cup, which worked great! I found tonkatsu sauce (delicious!)and panko at an Asian grocery. I also added a healthy dash of togarashi (Japanese chilli powder - also available at Asian groceries). Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2007

      Loved this! I even bought some tonkatsu sauce online just so I could make this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2006

      I love tonkatsu! I used tempura flour instead of plain. I think the key is to tenderize the pork (by pounding on it a little). This recipe is really simple. The tonkatsu sauce is a must!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2006

      I was very surprised at how delicious this recipe was! I have another recipe that uses Panko and I thought I knew how this would taste. I thought it would be good, but I was wrong. It was fabulous! I have tried both pork and chicken, and though they were both delicious, I like the pork more. This recipe takes mere minutes to prepare and cook, but it is worth it. The tonkatsu sauce is key (as it is in my other recipe) but yesterday I searched two grocery stores and couldn't find it. I ended up using sweet barbecue sauce and it worked out well. I am glad I finally tried this recipe as it has become one of my favorite (and my roommate's favorite dishes!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2006

      This is excellent!. I used chicken. Panko is very very good. I think it is the best crumb coating on the market.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2006

      This is excellent. I also submerged the meat in oil because I had cooked eggrolls prior to the pork.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2005

      I used slightly more oil than 1 inch so my cutlets were completely submerged and only took a total of 4 minutes. If you can't find Tonkatsu sauce, you can use a mixture of Worcestershire Sauce and tomato ketchup with a little soy sauce to make a sort of japanese steak sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tonkatsu (Japanese Pork Cutlet)

    Serving Size: 1 (215 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 372.1
     
    Calories from Fat 133
    35%
    Total Fat 14.7 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 5.0 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 170.4 mg
    56%
    Sodium 205.4 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.7 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.8 g
    3%
    Protein 43.6 g
    87%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites