Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tommy Fries Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tommy Fries

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on July 30, 2002

      Oh man, was this good! Rich and tasty - and low fat, too! Ok, so two out of three's not bad. Seriously, quite easy and really really delicious! I pretty much stuck to the recipe except I put half the potatoes down on the ranch then sprinkled a handful of cheese then put the rest of the potatoes down and then the rest of the cheese. I ended up with the bacon on top. I was afraid the ranch on the bottom of the platter would go to waste but the potatoes sort of draw it up into them. We were scraping our plates clean to get every morsel. Extremely yummy - a real husband pleaser! Thanks, Kim, for a great dish! I'm uploading a picture so everyone can see how yummy it is!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2002

      These were delicious. I never would have thought to combine these particular ingredients but they all went together fantastically. The Ranch dressing really gave these potatoes some zing. Very yummy. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2002

      Yeah Baby is right. We made ourselves sick off these. The cheese, bacon and ranch made for a great combination. Give Tommy a big ole smooch from me. Yummy to the third. Thanks Kim :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2002

      I have to tell you, these were wonderful! Everyone loved them. It's a great combination - we had them as a side dish with our hamburgers & brats last night. They were wonderful. I'll bet they'd be good as a side dish for steak too. Thanks for posting them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2002

      These are incredibly awesome! There are 2 pizza shops in our area that serve french fries like this. One place calls them Texas Fries and another calls them Kansas Fries. This recipe is very similar in taste and there is no need to order out for them! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2003

      Good heavens! What a guilty pleasure that was! I think I'm going to attempt to "low fat" this one because I want to eat it more often. I did use lowfat dressing (hidden valley mixed with 1% milk and lowfat mayo). The cheese I used was a shredded mexican cheese blend. It did take a little longer to cook the potatoes than I anticipated. I think I may try brushing the cubed potatoes with some oil/bacon fat & baking in the oven next time -- I'll also try blending in some lowfat cheese with the regular stuff.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2003

      Kim, I have tried to resist this recipe for so long but just couldn't stand it any longer. These fries are the end all and be all as far as I am concerned. Tender pan roasted potatoes loaded with rich cheese, Ranch dressing and bacon. What is not to love? The ultimate food experience for me. Thanks for sharing this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2003

      I made these last night. I made my first mistake by cutting the potatoes too thick. I cut them in wedges instead of small cubes and so there was more bland inside than crispy tasty outside, thats my fault. The other thing is that I found that warm ranch dressing seems to have a totally different taste than cold. I order smothered cheese fries all the time in restaurants and always dip them in ranch dressing. But the cooked ranch was just not for me, which I think is very weird. If I make these again I will just leave off the ranch dressing step, and instead serve it on the side, cold. I did not rate this recipe because I think the recipe itself is wonderful and everyone else has loved it. I just wanted to give a suggestion for anyone who may not be a huge ranch fan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2003

      It's a very rare occasion that I cook something that everyone likes...but these potatoes got 5 stars from everyone! I've already had requests to make this again - VERY soon. I served this as a side dish to accompany Dijon Steaks, deviled eggs and rolls. As my DS commented..."that was a fine meal"! I can't wait to make these again. Thanks for posting a great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2003

      LOVED this recipe!!!!! Excellent flavor and nice 'n' cheesy. It does take a while to make this recipe, but it is definately worth it!!!! Will be making again. And again. And again.......

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2003

      Hate to disagree with a bunch of you, but we found the fries to be sort of bland. We do like our foods seasoned well. They were ok, but not worth the effort to make again. Thanks, anyway!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2003

      Just look at the ingredients! How can you go wrong with potatoes that are bacon fried, cheese topped, then dipped in ranch dressing? AAAggggghhh....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2002

      Hubba, hubba! These were awesome! My only error was not having a big enough pan to brown the potatoes in the bacon grease. Since there are only two of us, I cut the recipe to about 1/3....leftovers??? What leftovers?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2002

      Oh Yeah baby!!These are absoloutly wonderful!!I would eat these mornin',noon and night!I cut the recipe in half and wished I didnt cause we could have eaten more!!I wonder if this Tommy is married?!:)I will make these again,Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2002

      This was wonderful. I used Tex-Mex cheese blend and put them in a pie plate to finish on the grill with steak as it was a very hot night. Will make many more times. Muchos gratias!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2012

      I have made this before with one really important change. We have a Liberty Tap Room in Greenville and they used their leftover baked potatoes and fry them. You need to use baked potatoes and then fry them crisp. Do NOT take off the skin! It provides such a more wonderful experience. I however wouldn't suggest eating these very often. You can also use Bleu Cheese dressing instead of Ranch!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2008

      I just love the Tommy fries at T-Bonz. We look forward to going there every year when we go to Myrtle Beach. This was a good copy cat. I used seasoning salt on my potatoes as well as salt and pepper. I used a jar of the "good stuff" ranch dressing. I loved it prepared just as written. My niece said it was even better because I wasn't stingy with the ranch!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2004

      I got to eat there last week while in charleston, SC. the description on the menu states they are fried potatoes (red ones when we got them). they were served in a augratin dish with ranch dressing on the bottom, smothered in mont jack and cheddar cheese and topped with LOTS of applewood smoked bacon. http://www.tbonz.com/Tsteak.asp?catID=1859

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2003

      My family really liked these. Everyone had seconds and raved about them all the while. My husband hates ranch dressing, but he even had 2-3 servings.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2003

      These were very tasty! I love the flavor of bacon and ranch dressing together. I cut the recipe by 1/4 to feed just my DH and me. However, I was unsure about the bottle size for the dressing. I had a 8 oz. bottle on hand and used it all. However, I think it was a little too much dressing, so next time, I will use only 4 oz per 3 potatoes, when serving just us two. Will definitely make again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tommy Fries

    Serving Size: 1 (303 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 554.8
     
    Calories from Fat 321
    57%
    Total Fat 35.6 g
    54%
    Saturated Fat 16.4 g
    82%
    Cholesterol 78.5 mg
    26%
    Sodium 672.8 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.0 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 4.6 g
    18%
    Sugars 1.9 g
    7%
    Protein 20.8 g
    41%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ranch dressing

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites