Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tomatoes Crunchy, Juicy, Sweet...(Bursting Tomato) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tomatoes Crunchy, Juicy, Sweet...(Bursting Tomato)

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on June 05, 2012

      Made with red, ripe tomatoes and they were delicious. Didn't have any goat cheese on hand, so used feta and it was still yummy. Was also out of bread crumbs and used Panko instead - think it was great. Used a bit more of the Panko and Italian seasoning. Would be great served aside a juicy steak and a great mesclun salad. Thanks. BTW I now call these Tomato Towers:)
      Update: Served with Bonefish Grill Lemon Butter Sauce, Bonefish Grill Lemon Butter Sauce poured on top - to die for!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2009

      I liked the flavor of this, but it seemed like a lot of work and a big mess. I think I'd like it a lot more if someone else fixed it for me. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2009

      I skip the onion but topped each tomato with a thin slice of goat cheese. Then placed under the broiler until cheese warmed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2009

      Very good recipe. Easy to make and made a good side dish. Next time I will add garlic salt to the parmesan and flour mixture because we felt that it needed a little something more to punch up the flavor. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2008

      This was my first fried tomato experience and it was a good one! I used some ripe black heirloom tomatoes from my garden and the kids helped bread them. I used probably 4 good sized tomatoes and a whole package of goat cheese (6 oz). Hubs loved it and the kids both had seconds. The one change I will make next time is using a tangier tomato. Thanks for the great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      Simple & Delicious... Can it get any better than that?! I used Parmesan & Romano cheese mixture to add to the flour. I also substituted Italian cheese blend for herbed goat cheese. Made for ZWT 4 - Greek Cook & Photo Challenge

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2008

      These were really delicious. I've made them twice so far and I will be making them again. I used a very creamy garlic & herb cheese but it wasn't goat cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2007

      This was delicious, but I had to nearly double the amount of flour and breadcrumbs in order to cover the tomatoes. This was a huge hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2007

      Wonderful appetizer! I was very surprised at how quick everything came together. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2007

      I have a confession..... These were so good,t he FEW i did have leftover i ate for breakfest!!!! These were wonderfull emmmmmm mmmmmmm Hahaha i want them right now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2007

      This is SOOO Good! I made last summer (forgot to review) and I can't wait until my tomatoes start growing! The only change I made was to add a little cayenne pepper for a little heat. My husband LOVES these. Definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2007

      This recipe is good enough to eat as a meal in itself!!! I used two red tomatoes that were ripe but still a little firm... The parmesan cheese really gave the tomatoes a great crunch when they were fried up. I used a herb and garlic breadcrumb mixture so I skipped the Italian seasoning, but used 1/2 c of the breadcrumbs to cover my tomatoes completely. My tomato slices seems to absorb a lot of the dredging mixture and made the extra breadcrumbs necessary. Next time, I will try and use a more under ripe tomato or green tomatoes if I can find them. I think the tartness of the the under ripe tomatoe will contrast nicely with the tangy goat cheese and savory sauteed onions. A great, simple recipe that really produced a restaurant quality side dish. Thanks for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2007

      Can I give you 10**'s ? I wish. These are so amazing. DD and DH said- ICK-we do NOT like tomatoes! WHAT EH VER! ! So I got them ALL! Haha- more for me- these were so amazing- NOTE to anyone making these in the future- do NOT tell them what is in it if they are picky- just tell them- it is soo good! Tomatoes and cheese is all they need to know! Unless you want them all to yourself! hehehe! thanks Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2006

      What's not to like? Perfect dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2006

      This was excellent. Dredging is always a bit messy but well worth it. This reminds me a lot of eggplant parmagiana, so maybe the name should reflect that: Tomato Parmagiana. Would like to know how long you keep them in the fridge to let them firm up. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2005

      I've been wanting to try these for awhile now; I knew I would love them! I must admit I used more garlic and breadcrumbs, and used a mix of smallish green and red tomatoes. I liked the red ones better. Topped with herbed feta. These are great and I gladly ate them all myself! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2005

      These were sooo good! I used firm barely ripe tomatoes. I didn't have goat cheese but did have some blue cheese, so i used that. i liked it that way but other people can go EEWWW if they want, at least it's not ice cream and pickles!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2005

      Not much to add to the other reviews; this is a really awesome recipe and we loved it - DH has requested it again, always the highest praise you can get!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2005

      This was delicious, I also made some fresh red tomato salsa and served it along side and the meld of all the flavors was fantastic. Thanks rita, this is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2005

      Absolutely Fabulous are these fried Tomatoes.i tried this recipe instead of my regluar one.have to say this replaces my recipe.at first i wondered about putting them in the fridge but did it as you said ..perfect...enjoyed them to the lst bite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tomatoes Crunchy, Juicy, Sweet...(Bursting Tomato)

    Serving Size: 1 (161 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 339.4
     
    Calories from Fat 184
    54%
    Total Fat 20.5 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 5.0 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 104.0 mg
    34%
    Sodium 344.0 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.3 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 7.7 g
    30%
    Protein 12.6 g
    25%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    dried Italian seasoning

    herbed goat cheese

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites