Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tomato Soup Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tomato Soup Cake

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on August 31, 2011

      I love this cake! I have made it for work a couple of times, and also baked it for my inlaws. To add a bit of an extra 'kick' and 'glamorize' it I poked a few holes in it while it was cooling and poured a tad of Captain Morgan's Spiced Rum and allowed it to soak in. Once cool, I layered it up and filled and coated it with Cream Cheese Frosting, Brown Decorative Sugar Crystals and Pecans. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2010

      I have been making this recipe for years. It is a wonderful moist cake. I use cream cheese frosting. It is one of my husband's favorites.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      Dont let the tomato soup turn you away fom this recipe. Very moist cake. It wont last long. I had a pregnancy craving for this cake. My mom used to make this cake when i was a kid.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2010

      This was such a great cake. I made a few revisions-- 1 cup of sugar was enough, used egg whites, and instead of shortening I used 4 tablespoons each sunflower oil and applesauce. Spiced it with 1 t cinnamon, and 1/4 t each ground clove and allspice. Used 1/2 cup diced walnuts instead of raisins, and frosted half with chocolate frosting and the other half with vanilla, it was a winner! I'd definitely make this again, I was always curious to try tomato soup cake and I think I'll stick with this recipe from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2009

      This is a delicious cake! I substituted crisco canola oil for the shortening and 1/2 tsp allspice for the cloves and it turned out great. I didn't ice it and it is a perfect snack cake. Will make again - thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      I don't know if it made a difference but I thought this was a light cake when I made. I mixed the soup with the baking soda as the first step. Then creamed the sugar (only used 1 1/2 cups of sugar) and butter (not shortening). Then added the milk and eggs to the soup mixture and followed the rest of the recipe. Also made cream cheese icing for the top. (1/4c butter, 4 oz light cream cheese, 1 tsp vanilla and 2 cups of powdered sugar). It was delicious and got rave reviews!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2007

      My mother made this cake. It is so good. It brings back so much of my childhood. Donna A.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2003

      Very good cake. Moist and heavier than a box cake mix. Nice spice flavor. We used to make this growing up. The ingredients were always on hand, basic staples. We frosted with a cream cheese frosting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2002

      I haven't made this in years but I know how good it is. The nicest spice cake ever. Growing up we always iced it with peanut butter icing. My friends have always loved it, but I never tell them what kind of cake it is till after.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tomato Soup Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (85 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 249.8
     
    Calories from Fat 68
    27%
    Total Fat 7.5 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 24.3 mg
    8%
    Sodium 269.3 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.7 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 29.2 g
    116%
    Protein 3.1 g
    6%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ground cloves

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites