Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tomato Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tomato Soup

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on September 25, 2002

      I've tried this recipe and it's wonderful! I did add two cloves of garlic and increased the celery to 3-4 stalks. I'm not a big fan of bay leaves so I only used one. It turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2006

      The first time I made this I followed it precisely, except omitted the celery, and ended up with 9 quarts. I may have simmered it longer...the recipe didn't really say how long. It was good, but the onion flavor was a little strong for us. So the second time I used only 2 onions, left out the butter, and also increased the sugar to my husband's taste. I will use this again with my modifications. The amount of acidity in this recipe is not out of line with other water bath canning recipes I've seen, so I'm not worried about that at all. This is a great way to use up the tons of tomatoes I have every fall. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2006

      DANGER; This recipe does NOT contain enough acidity to use the Water Bath Canning process. One may add some vinegar and a bit of sugar to offset the taste of the vinegar and then use a WBC process. angela marie pro-chef Le Cordon Bleu

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2008

      Very simular to old Kerr Canning book. I double the flour, butter, salt, and sugar, because I like a thicker creamer tomato soup. To process in water bath canner new quidelines recommend 85 min. I did run out of celery so I used 4 tsp of celery salt and omited 4 tsp of salt. Still very good. Makes appx. 26 pints.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2005

      Loved this recipe - will be making much more next year - husband loves it! Great way to use up tomatoes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2011

      I mixed this recipe with a roasted tomato soup recipe that I wanted to try. I didn't want to spend an entire day roasting all of the tomatoes that I had, so I roasted half of them with some onions and garlic, and used this recipe for the rest. YUMMO!! Lots of time to make it, but worth it. My mom asked if I would take orders, but nope, not for this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2007

      A beautiful thick, tasty soup. It wasn't quite as smooth as I like after the food mill, so I put it through the blender. I also added a couple of cloves as the soup cooked. I added cream just before serving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2006

      I made this soup and it was sooooo yummy!!!....I ended up sharing the recipe with many people!!!...Even people who didnt care for tomato soup wanted it!!..I made tons of this stuff and today Im making lots more due to my family eating all the other LOL...Worth making!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2006

      I was rather disappointed in ths. It was just ho hum. I took a mug out to my husband in the garage and he asked what is it supposed to be? I told him tomato soup and he just said Oh and shrugged. If I were to make it again I think I would add some fresh basil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2005

      Made 24 quarts of this today. It is quite delicious. I did not have celery, so used celery seed. Very easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2003

      Great recipe!! Been looking for years for one this good. Thanks Steve!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2003

      This was very good. I didn't use the bay leaf because I didn't have any. I got 7 pints out of this. I think that next time I'll use a little less flour and salt but I will be making this again. Thanks Steve.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2003

      I did a trial run of this tonight, making one quart. I added a clove of garlic and did a couple leaves of basil instead of parsley. It was very good. The flour lumped up at first but smoothed out after simmering awhile. Very tasty and fresh. I garnished with Locatelli.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tomato Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (812 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 14

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 311.4
     
    Calories from Fat 117
    37%
    Total Fat 13.1 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 7.5 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 30.5 mg
    10%
    Sodium 1637.6 mg
    68%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.6 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 9.9 g
    39%
    Sugars 28.5 g
    114%
    Protein 7.9 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes