Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tomato Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tomato Soup

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on January 15, 2011

      OMG! Andi my dear, I really took a flying leap of faith with this recipe. I despise tomato soup while my guys merely hate it but I had some canned tomatoes that had been lingering around. I thought "Andi has never steered me wrong and if I'll ever like a tomato soup it will be hers". I put it off for a couple of weeks after tagging it but this morning I just bit the bullet and made the soup. My first tentative sip was an eye opener, WOW - this is delicious! The guys came in and were told that there was hot soup on the stove. The pot lid went up and there was silence then DH ask "What is it?". One word "tomato", them came a duet of moans and groans. DH ask "is this what your eating?" "yes". He made DS take a teaspoon that he really didn't want then his eyes got like saucers as he said "I like it, Mom this is GOOD!". DH then has a taste and the two of them cleaned up the rest of the pot while I was working. Andi, you have made tomato soup fans out of this family. I used whole multi grain bread and we all loved the texture, I choose the veggie broth option, yum. I'm sure that a large part of us loving it is that it isn't a horrible "Cream of" soup. What a wonderful experience you gave us along with a recipe that I'll keep and use again and again. Tagged in Veg Swap 30.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2010

      Great soup recipe. Reminds us of Panera's soup. Would also be good with a little milk or cream added.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2011

      Campbell's should be ashamed! I had this recipe pulled together in 10 minutes. We don't eat fresh tomatoes this time of year because they are quite awful, so I used a can of Muir Glen organic 'Fire Roasted' tomatoes instead. The onion and garlic were finely minced in a food processor and softened in a large pot a few minutes in olive oil with dried Greek oregano to infuse the herb flavor. Added the remaining ingredients except for the chives until the mixture was very hot then transferred to a slow cooker and cooked on LOW 3 hours. Mmm! My husband and I both had seconds! Reviewed for Veg Tag January.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2010

      Very easy to make and light which helps on those busy weeknights when you don't have a lot of time and want to eat healthy. Many thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2010

      I'd never dream of making soup from canned tomatoes.. until now & now I'm making soup out of canned tomatoes on a less than weekly basis!!! This recipe is so simple & so quick to whip up, not to mention so tasty! I've been trying to increase volume so we can save some for tomorrows lunch but it just seems to encourage Si to go back for seconds or thirds - there's never any left!! Thanks for such a great find!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2010

      Little Miss (DD) wanted tomato soup for her birthday dinner. I'm sure glad we choose to do this recipe, it was perfect. I doubled the serving to eight people and used 800 grams of chopped tin tomatoes. I choose pre-made Italian herbs in a jar, all the dinner guest enjoyed this soup, perfect for our cold weather. Thank you Andi for another great recipe. I will be making this again very soon.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2010

      I made this and the family loved it! My brother in law who doesn't like tomato soup really enjoyed it. The only addition I made was adding fat free evaporated milk. Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2010

      Wonderfully fresh tasting. Who knew it's the dead of winter when having a bowl of this soup. I used 2 of the 14.5 oz cans of tomatos, one whole tomatoes and one can of the Fire Roasted tomatoes. MMHMMMM. Served with Italian Peasant Bread for Bread Machine Italian Peasant Bread for dipping and slurping. Topped with choice of shredded fresh parmesan or fresh mozzarella and red pepper flakes. Wonderful!! Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      Made half a batch of soup to go along with Grilled & Seasoned Chicken Croissant Sandwiches#33305 for Herb of the Month Bay...February 2010. What a delicious, quick and easy recipe. I followed the recipe as written. I did use Italian seasoning along with chicken broth and I wish I would have made the full batch...some for leftovers. Thank you for a wonderful recipe which I definately will make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2014

      Super easy and had everything on hand. I used rotel tomatoes wow spicy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2014

      My mom picked all her ripe tomatoes at the end of the season, put them in big zip lock bags, threw them in the freezer, and then gave them to me. I used these frozen tomatoes to make this soup (the skin fell right off when they thawed). It turned out really nice and was delicious. Went great with my grilled cheese sandwich. Will definitely make it again with the rest of the frozen tomatoes. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2012

      This was delicious! I picked this to make on a January day, hoping for cold weather. Unfortunately, it was 75 degrees....but the soup was still wonderful. Can't wait for a cold day to enjoy it to the fullest. Made for best of 2011 tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2011

      Delicious. it's so good that I ate my husband's share. I really didn't think it would come out this good. the bread in the soup give it texture and thickness. i followed the recipe to the T and it turned out wonderful. i used a hand blender in the pot directly. thank for posting :))))

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2011

      Wonderful! Count me amongst the former tomato soup skeptics. Homemade using this recipe makes all the difference. I used no salt added canned tomatoes (but would love to use fresh when they are ready this summer!) and a slice of gluten free bread. The flavor was lovely. I finally enjoyed the time honored combo of tomato soup and grilled cheese - thank you! Veg*n Swap 32

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2011

      I made this soup for supper, tonight. It sure is easy. Not so sure about the texture and the over all taste. My husband is a big soup eater and wasn't overly impressed either. I used diced tomatoes, chicken broth and a slice of pepperidge farms original white bread, the other ingredients stayed the same. I did use my immersible blender to smooth it out. May try again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2011

      This was delicious and very quick to put together. I used a quart of tomatoes that I had canned myself last summer. I did add a bit of red pepper flakes and a dash of balsamic vinegar to the soup. I also served it with some of the pesto sauce I had in the freezer. We swirled it into the soup. My entire family gobbled this up and demanded that I make it again very soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2011

    • on August 13, 2010

    • on January 28, 2010

      I made this for our lunch today and we both enjoyed it. We ended up sprinkling parmesan on top of the soup (probably because of the Italian seasoning) and tossing in some garlic flavoured croutons (love croutons in soup). Next time I will try Roma tomatoes. Made for Soup's On in The Diabetic Forum-Jan'10.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2010

      This was such a wonderful tasting soup considering how little time it takes to make it. Can't wait for lunch tomorrow to have some more. I had used canned diced tomatoes and vegetable broth. I used my immersion blender in the pot. Delicious soup I will be making again. Thanks for sharing Andi.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tomato Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (232 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 119.0
     
    Calories from Fat 65
    54%
    Total Fat 7.2 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 389.4 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.1 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 5.7 g
    23%
    Protein 2.3 g
    4%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable broth

    italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites