Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tomato Sauce for Chicago Style Pizza Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tomato Sauce for Chicago Style Pizza

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on November 18, 2007

      Sorry, but this was too acidic for us. I LOVE the red pepper flakes, exactly the right ingredient for pizza sauce! My BF wouldn't eat this though, due to its "I'm a big baby and can't eat anything that tastes like it might exacerbate my ulcer" taste. Guess I gotta go with something sweeter or cut it with red peppers. sigh. I wanted to use this for Pizza Roll-Ups #50772 but I ended up adding it to my lasagne meat sauce. (He'll never know!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2007

      Very good, I used tomatoe puree as my family does not like chunky sauce. I also sauteed a little onion in some olive oil before adding the tomatoes. Followed the rest of the recipe but added just a little sugar at the end to cut the acidity. This was a very good thick sauce that has a lot of flavor from just a few ingrediants. Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2007

      This has the WOW factor for me...it's got simple flavors which make me want to have a very large Chicago pizza! EASY!!! Made for ZWT3...a Toast to the Captains!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2007

      This cooked up nicely and was flavorful. I added 1 teaspoon of sugar to cut the acidity. I used it with Easy Peezy Pizza Dough (Bread Machine Pizza Dough) and loaded up with toppings for a pizza night. Thank you for sharing your recipe! Reviewed for World Tour 3.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2007

      Wonderful pizza sauce, easy with great flavour. I'm only sorry I had no fresh basil and had to use dried, but I'll be making this again when fresh basil is plentiful. I used a stick blender for a bit smoother consistency. This would be great made with fresh garden tomatoes in the summer and would freeze well. Thank you, lucid.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2007

      This was wonderful on Deep Dish Spinach and Mozzarella Pizza, #171223. I can't wait to try it on more pizzas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2007

      This is one truly outstanding pizza sauce : ) I made as directed resulting in the perfect consistency and flavor. I added double the amount of optional red pepper flakes because we like spicy. I will keep this recipe close at hand for many pizzas to come in the future! Thank you, lucid!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2007

      OMG I've found a new favorite pizza sauce. The flavor is excellent as is the consistency. I added the garlic, basil and red peppers right in with everything else and let it simmer for about 3 hours on low and it was just perfect. I'll be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2007

      Yum! This sauce was excellent! It tasted better than any sauce I've ever had on any authentic Chicago pizza, and I'm originally from Chicago. I will definitely be making this again, possibly for pastas too! I used 2 cans of Italian style crushed tomatoes instead of whole tomatoes, and it worked out fine. I also added 2 teaspoons of sugar. It took a very long time to get all the liquid out (a couple hours), but that might be because I used a medium saucepan instead of a stockpot. I think I will use my large Dutch oven next time so that I can have a greater surface area to get all the liquid out more quickly. Thank you for posting this! I will have to try your recipe for Chicago style pizza dough too! Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tomato Sauce for Chicago Style Pizza

    Serving Size: 1 (202 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 36.4
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    66%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 474.2 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.3 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 5.1 g
    20%
    Protein 1.7 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites