9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Sorry, but this was too acidic for us. I LOVE the red pepper flakes, exactly the right ingredient for pizza sauce! My BF wouldn't eat this though, due to its "I'm a big baby and can't eat anything that tastes like it might exacerbate my ulcer" taste. Guess I gotta go with something sweeter or cut it with red peppers. sigh. I wanted to use this for Pizza Roll-Ups #50772 but I ended up adding it to my lasagne meat sauce. (He'll never know!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lynmoz November 18, 2007

Very good, I used tomatoe puree as my family does not like chunky sauce. I also sauteed a little onion in some olive oil before adding the tomatoes. Followed the rest of the recipe but added just a little sugar at the end to cut the acidity. This was a very good thick sauce that has a lot of flavor from just a few ingrediants. Thank you for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Take a Letter Maria June 25, 2007

This has the WOW factor for me...it's got simple flavors which make me want to have a very large Chicago pizza! EASY!!! Made for ZWT3...a Toast to the Captains!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A Good Thing June 24, 2007

This cooked up nicely and was flavorful. I added 1 teaspoon of sugar to cut the acidity. I used it with Easy Peezy Pizza Dough (Bread Machine Pizza Dough) and loaded up with toppings for a pizza night. Thank you for sharing your recipe! Reviewed for World Tour 3.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie D June 01, 2007

Wonderful pizza sauce, easy with great flavour. I'm only sorry I had no fresh basil and had to use dried, but I'll be making this again when fresh basil is plentiful. I used a stick blender for a bit smoother consistency. This would be great made with fresh garden tomatoes in the summer and would freeze well. Thank you, lucid.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin-jo May 10, 2007

This is one truly outstanding pizza sauce : ) I made as directed resulting in the perfect consistency and flavor. I added double the amount of optional red pepper flakes because we like spicy. I will keep this recipe close at hand for many pizzas to come in the future! Thank you, lucid!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev April 26, 2007

OMG I've found a new favorite pizza sauce. The flavor is excellent as is the consistency. I added the garlic, basil and red peppers right in with everything else and let it simmer for about 3 hours on low and it was just perfect. I'll be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ April 15, 2007

Yum! This sauce was excellent! It tasted better than any sauce I've ever had on any authentic Chicago pizza, and I'm originally from Chicago. I will definitely be making this again, possibly for pastas too! I used 2 cans of Italian style crushed tomatoes instead of whole tomatoes, and it worked out fine. I also added 2 teaspoons of sugar. It took a very long time to get all the liquid out (a couple hours), but that might be because I used a medium saucepan instead of a stockpot. I think I will use my large Dutch oven next time so that I can have a greater surface area to get all the liquid out more quickly. Thank you for posting this! I will have to try your recipe for Chicago style pizza dough too! Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lindsey S February 11, 2007
Tomato Sauce for Chicago Style Pizza