Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tomato Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tomato Pie

    Average Rating:

    50 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 50

    Sort by:

    • on August 21, 2010

      VERY, VERY GOOD....but I wanted to share about the problem of the tomatoes releasing too many juices. I skinned the tomatoes, sliced them about 1/4 think or a bit more. Laid them on a cooking sheet lined with foil....LIGHTLY salt them and pop them into a 375 degree oven until just dry. This does two things....it concentrates the tomato flavor and gets them "summer sweet" an dries them out a bit so they dont sog the crust. PERFECTION. Layer as normal and bake. **Thanks for the post about the Djon mustard, I put a thin (very thin) layer on the crust then a layer of green onions and basil then layered with more onion and basil.....spinkled with pepper and topped with 3/4 cup mayo - but all the cheese. My hubby who was putting his nose up in the air saying "tomatoe pie? GROSS" - LOVED IT.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2010

      This is an excellent summer pie and I've made it for years. Here's how I drain my tomato slices for the recipe. I place my tomato slices on several layers of paper towels on my baking cooling racks that I have placed in my large sheet pans. I salt the tomato slices and then place several layers of paper towels on top and then I place one baking sheet on top of the other with another pan on top to apply just enough pressure to drain the tomatoes without squashing them. It works great and my pies are never watery. I also add bacon bits to the recipe and only use 1/2 a cup of mayo. As others have mentioned, green tomatoes work well in the recipe, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2003

      I, too worried I'd have soup instead of a pie. So I kept my expectations low as to how this would set up, and it wasn't that bad. It sliced and served easily -- the slice did fall apart on the plate, but the consistency itself was not too watery. This dish was DELICIOUS! To make it healthier I will likely use lowfat cheese and a BIT less cheese the next time I prepare it. I didn't make this for appearance, and the taste definitely overrides any presentation problems.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2010

      Delicious! I only used 1 cup of cheese and 1/2 c. mayo and I thought that was plenty -- it was still very yummy. I'll definitely be making this recipe again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2010

      So good! I took the advice of another reviewer and added bacon, reduced the Mayo to 1/2 cup and drained my tomatoes between paper towels, pressed down with a pan sitting on top. Golden crust, cheesy top and flavorful filling! This is a new favorite!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2008

      If the crust wouldn't have turned to mush I would have given this 5 stars for sure! I have to tell you- I did tweek it. Basically, I merged this with another Tomato Pie/tart recipe. These are the changes: As per the other recipe- I added a thin layer of Dijon style mustard to the bottom (this might have been my favorite part!). I used a Trader Joes Aioli Dijon Mustard. Also, as per the other recipe, I used a regular onion, sliced thin instead of green onion. I used half the mayo (lite mayo) and about a quarter of the cheese (1 1/4 cup or so). And I added some Italian seasoning to the tomatoes with the fresh basil. I made sure to salt and lay out the tomatoes (the onions too) on paper towels for about an hour before- but it was still soggy- Oh well, what do you expect from tomatoes! PS- my 13 year old daughter who is a fussy eater ("is that organic? I don't eat bacon- it's over processed"- you know the kind!!) she loved this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2007

      This dish was okay. The basic flavors are good - just a little too much mayo for me.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2003

      I made this and was very excited to use up my last remaining tomatoes for the summer. While the taste was delicious the bottom of the pie was very watery and runny (and I did drain the tomatoes). Can someone tell me what I did wrong? When I sw Paula Dean make it, it looked yummy! I must have done something wrong...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2014

      LOVED IT! I had never heard of a Tomato Pie. Onion Pie, we love...but Tomato? I have ton's of tomato's right now from the garden. This is a wonderful way to use them. I used MarshHen's method of draining the tomato's and it worked perfectly. Next time, I am going to add some crumbled bacon. Love the flavors of the Cheeses and Green Onion. Defiantly a keeper! Thank you Seahourse73 for an outstanding recipe! One tip, make sure you use a deep dish pie pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2014

      This was no doubt a wonderful fantastic recipe. We used fresh hanover tomatoes and fresh basil from our garden, our guest raved about it. I can not wait to make this again. Make you use frest tomatoes and fresh basil. This recipe is a guaranteed winner. Treat yourself and family and friends.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2013

      Wonderful! A few alterations: mixed lots of cheeses in the fridge: provolone, cheddar, asiago, mozzarella, monterey jack. Left out the mayo in the blend, but did use 1/4 cup mayo mixed with some garlic and added dollups on top. Pie was 'wet' first day, but absorbed the moisture afterwards and seemed better the next day or two.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2012

      WOW!!!! i cant wait to try again this summer with fresh garden tomatoes.hard to imagine it being even better. was a little soggy even though i let the toms drain about an hour and threw in the oven for a few next time i may try to drain on towels with pressure?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2011

      This pie had a wonderful flavor. Since this was my first time making this, I don't think I used enough tomatoes. Looking at the pie pic afterward confirmed that. I used scrubby tomatoes from the last of the summer crop and had to cut off first slice as the tomatoes had split at top. I guess the recipe should have stated 4 large tomatoes. If making again I think I would use regular pie shell, more tomatoess- of course,and less mayo and cheese. I did precook by pie shell.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2011

      I just made a fantastic tomato pie from this recipe! I did salt the tomatoes a bit too much, so be careful of that, but everything turned out very well. Thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2011

      This tomato pie is absolutely amazing!!! I made it today to go with our Easter dinner and it was a hit! There were five of us and no pie left at the end of dinner. My sisters skeptical boyfriend loved it and had two pieces! I made sure to prebake my pie for ten minutes so that it wouldn't be soggy. Prepping the tomatoes took a long time but was well worth it. I put small slits on each end of the tomato and put them into boiling water for about 30 seconds. I took them out and put them into ice water. You should be able to easily peel off the skins with your fingers, if not, repeat the process. I sliced the tomatoes and put them in a colander, lightly salted, to drain. This did not do much and I was running out of time before dinner needed to be served. So I took each piece and squeezed out the seeds. Then I put the tomatoes slice between my two palms and squeezed out all the water. Then set them between sheets of paper towel to drain further. The slices did not look perfect but were not disfigured. When it is baked, it looks great either way. I highly recommend this method because my pie was not soggy at all!!!!! Actually, my bottom crust WAS STILL CRISPY! I forgot green onions at the store so I did not use any. I put a small layer of Dijon mustard on the bottom, fresh basil, crumpled bacon, and tomato slices. Then repeated the layer. I used only a half cup of mayo and little over one cup of cheese. This pie turned out perfect! I cannot wait to make again! Thanks for a great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2010

      This is sooooo gooood! It had just the right texture. This tastes better than I even thought it would.Thanks for this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2010

      We did not like this recipe. I bought beautiful ripe tomatoes, drained them for one hour on a large cookie rack over the sink, then put them on paper towels on the counter. I changed the paper towels several times and didn't begin to put the pie together until all the liquid I could get out of the tomatoes was gone. The pie was still full of liquid, and of course the crust was soggy. I'm not sure it would have made a difference, but step #2 was not in the directions last week when I made a copy. I saw that for the first time today. It probably would be better to prebake the crust. My husband eats everything put in front of him, but this is the first time he said he just couldn't eat it. We threw it out. Sorry, it sounded like it would have been a winner with fresh summer tomatoes, but not at our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2010

      Seahorse,Made this yesterday,and it was excellent....Did with my own pie shell,coated with mustard,and own garden tomatoes.Many thanks,Don

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2010

      This was unbelievably good and cheap to make...we had it for dinner tonite and there are no leftovers. My carnivore husband didn't say a thing about the lack of meat, he was too busy scarfing down 3 servings. I followed a previously posted suggestion to spread some dijon mustard in the bottom of the crust-a great idea. I also forgot to buy the fresh basil and subsituted a few shakes of dried italian herb mix. It was still delicious! I also used much less mayo, about 1/3 cup and 1 1/4 cups cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      I love it, my mum too. The only downside is all the fat from the cheddar and mayonnaise. I might tweak it a bit to make it a bit lower in fat.... mayonaise is made out of eggs and oil mainly so I might use some eggs and milk like a quiche to replace some of the mayo

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tomato Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (193 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 432.6
     
    Calories from Fat 279
    64%
    Total Fat 31.0 g
    47%
    Saturated Fat 10.7 g
    53%
    Cholesterol 44.7 mg
    14%
    Sodium 637.8 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.2 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 6.2 g
    24%
    Protein 11.7 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites