50 Reviews

This is an excellent summer pie and I've made it for years. Here's how I drain my tomato slices for the recipe. I place my tomato slices on several layers of paper towels on my baking cooling racks that I have placed in my large sheet pans. I salt the tomato slices and then place several layers of paper towels on top and then I place one baking sheet on top of the other with another pan on top to apply just enough pressure to drain the tomatoes without squashing them. It works great and my pies are never watery. I also add bacon bits to the recipe and only use 1/2 a cup of mayo. As others have mentioned, green tomatoes work well in the recipe, too.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarshHen March 21, 2010

VERY, VERY GOOD....but I wanted to share about the problem of the tomatoes releasing too many juices. I skinned the tomatoes, sliced them about 1/4 think or a bit more. Laid them on a cooking sheet lined with foil....LIGHTLY salt them and pop them into a 375 degree oven until just dry. This does two things....it concentrates the tomato flavor and gets them "summer sweet" an dries them out a bit so they dont sog the crust. PERFECTION. Layer as normal and bake. **Thanks for the post about the Djon mustard, I put a thin (very thin) layer on the crust then a layer of green onions and basil then layered with more onion and basil.....spinkled with pepper and topped with 3/4 cup mayo - but all the cheese. My hubby who was putting his nose up in the air saying "tomatoe pie? GROSS" - LOVED IT.

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
born-to-cook August 21, 2010

I, too worried I'd have soup instead of a pie. So I kept my expectations low as to how this would set up, and it wasn't that bad. It sliced and served easily -- the slice did fall apart on the plate, but the consistency itself was not too watery. This dish was DELICIOUS! To make it healthier I will likely use lowfat cheese and a BIT less cheese the next time I prepare it. I didn't make this for appearance, and the taste definitely overrides any presentation problems.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Goody Thomas October 21, 2003

Delicious! I only used 1 cup of cheese and 1/2 c. mayo and I thought that was plenty -- it was still very yummy. I'll definitely be making this recipe again!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paramela May 20, 2010

So good! I took the advice of another reviewer and added bacon, reduced the Mayo to 1/2 cup and drained my tomatoes between paper towels, pressed down with a pan sitting on top. Golden crust, cheesy top and flavorful filling! This is a new favorite!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JWS August 23, 2010

If the crust wouldn't have turned to mush I would have given this 5 stars for sure! I have to tell you- I did tweek it. Basically, I merged this with another Tomato Pie/tart recipe. These are the changes: As per the other recipe- I added a thin layer of Dijon style mustard to the bottom (this might have been my favorite part!). I used a Trader Joes Aioli Dijon Mustard. Also, as per the other recipe, I used a regular onion, sliced thin instead of green onion. I used half the mayo (lite mayo) and about a quarter of the cheese (1 1/4 cup or so). And I added some Italian seasoning to the tomatoes with the fresh basil. I made sure to salt and lay out the tomatoes (the onions too) on paper towels for about an hour before- but it was still soggy- Oh well, what do you expect from tomatoes! PS- my 13 year old daughter who is a fussy eater ("is that organic? I don't eat bacon- it's over processed"- you know the kind!!) she loved this!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kda949 August 23, 2008

This dish was okay. The basic flavors are good - just a little too much mayo for me.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laureen in B.C. October 08, 2007

I made this and was very excited to use up my last remaining tomatoes for the summer. While the taste was delicious the bottom of the pie was very watery and runny (and I did drain the tomatoes). Can someone tell me what I did wrong? When I sw Paula Dean make it, it looked yummy! I must have done something wrong...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Little Bee October 06, 2003

LOVED IT! I had never heard of a Tomato Pie. Onion Pie, we love...but Tomato? I have ton's of tomato's right now from the garden. This is a wonderful way to use them. I used MarshHen's method of draining the tomato's and it worked perfectly. Next time, I am going to add some crumbled bacon. Love the flavors of the Cheeses and Green Onion. Defiantly a keeper! Thank you Seahourse73 for an outstanding recipe! One tip, make sure you use a deep dish pie pan.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Big Sis August 21, 2014

This was no doubt a wonderful fantastic recipe. We used fresh hanover tomatoes and fresh basil from our garden, our guest raved about it. I can not wait to make this again. Make you use frest tomatoes and fresh basil. This recipe is a guaranteed winner. Treat yourself and family and friends.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bill mayes July 17, 2014
Tomato Pie