10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

It sounds deceptively simple, but this is a fantastic recipe! It's so tasty, I could easily eat an entire pie by myself. I usually make two at a time because it gets gobbled up so fast.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TeeBee October 13, 2002

Sandwiching lightly salted tomatoes between paper towels for about ten minutes will help the pie not be too runny.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Fannie March 24, 2013

I was at my cousins when she was making this pie for dinner (I helped by cutting up the tomatoes) and as I was watching her put it together kept thinking it needed some bacon which she did try. It was really great though I thought it was a bit wet (which is why I only gave it 4 stars) so when I made the recipe, I roasted my tomatoes a bit first and it made all the difference. I also discovered that my pie plates are 12 inch deep dish pie and this recipe would not let me adjust it so I made my own roasted-tomato-pie-434080, which would not have happened without jean1 getting me started.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandy in Dayton August 04, 2010

I made this last year, following the recipe exactly. My BF loved it so much as soon as I planted tomatoes this year he started asking for it. I made it again last night and used 7 different types of cheese I had on hand. Smoked Gouda was by far the best flavor. I also added 2 slices of chopped bacon at my cousin't suggestion. Perfection! I will come back to this recipe again and again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NanciY July 24, 2010

I used 1 cup of mayo and crumbled 12 slices of bacon into it. Also, I use 1 T. of fresh chopped basil and 1 T. of chives. I'll try your lightened version next time. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeanniedbc August 31, 2009

This is quick and easy to make and I thought it would be a good way to use up some tomatoes. It jus didn't set up for me and was very runny. Rasted good but needs some tweaking.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Little Bee October 27, 2006

It just did not appeal to us. It sounded great, but tasted funny.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kellykforester September 20, 2006

I made this as part of a vegetarian dinner, with slow cooked vegetable casserole and Byron potatoes. It turned out to be an absolutely delicious and savoury recipe. And very easy, too. Thank you Jean1!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NotQuiteVegetarian July 29, 2006

I rate this pie 5 stars. My granddaughter and grandson love it. And they are very picky eaters.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JulianaLoriel February 19, 2005
Tomato Pie