21 Reviews

This is an old favorite in the summer time with garden tomatoes but we always added green onion and left off the lettuce.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
m wren April 08, 2002

This was very good. I wanted something different and this was it. Very unusual compared to the typical peanut butter combinations used in the U.S., which are usually sweet. Definitely use FRESH peanut butter!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meryl April 05, 2002

Anu, this was EXCELLENT! Thank-you so much. The minute I saw this recipe, I knew my dinner was fixed for tonight:) I made this using spinach leaves, but I think it'll go better with lettuce leaves, it's like an 'Open Burger' :) Thanks so much, I really LOVE THIS RECIPE :)

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charishma_Ramchandani March 29, 2002

Anu: I can't thank YOU enough for this amazingly simple yet bursting-with-flavour sandwich! I read about it in a thread and the next day made this for breakfast, lunch, and dinner...yes, it's THAT good! I tried it both with the spinach and without; preferred it without and got my "greens" into me with Broccoli soup, instead. As one reviewer mentioned, you can NOT stop eating this! Seriously, I could have pulled up a chair to the toaster oven and kept making these, one after the other. What I did differently than your suggestion, was to chop up the tomato into diced bits, so I wouldn't be pulling off an entire slice with one bite. Lightly toasted the bread to warm it, took it out of the toaster oven, spread peanut butter onto a cracked whole wheat bread, placed tomatoe dices plus S & P on top, then put it back into the toaster oven to finish it off. Simple and simply amazing; a real keeper of a recipe that I'll be sure to share with others. :) NOTE: Almost 2 months later, I'm still enjoying this sandwich. Tonight, I added 1 strip of crumbled up bacon with the chopped tomatoes: HEAVEN ON BREAD! Such a healthy, yummy snack!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The_Swedish_Chef April 07, 2010

Delicious sandwich. Used Swedish Chef's suggestion of chopping tomatoes, and I left out the spinach or lettuce. Will definitely make it again. Served with a bowl of homemade potato soup for lunch. Yum.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
foodtvfan February 26, 2010

This is an awesome treat! I don't even like raw tomatoes, but with the spinach, peanut butter, and black pepper, the flavor really pops (in a unique way). I really recommend making this on whole wheat (or similar) bread, as the recipe requests--white bread just doesn't cut it. This is absoutely refreshing and like the poster said, hits all four bases for your healthy food groups!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
oatmealia June 18, 2007

Who would have thought tomatoes and peanut butter would go together so well. Will eat again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
billybolo September 07, 2009

The combination of flavors is surprisingly really very delicious how they compliment each other. Two teaspoons of peanut butter barely covered the bread, so I had to add a little more. If calories were no object, slathered with peanut butter would be even better. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maggie, Cooking October 03, 2008

MMM! I've never liked PB, but recently discovered that I really enjoy almond butter. I tried this recipe using freshly ground almond butter and it was wonderful! Thanks for sharing this quick & healthy lunch. The nut butter, loaded with heart-healthy fats, makes for a very satisfying meal. I lightly toasted my bread before adding the almond butter for easier application and then sent it back in the toaster oven on broil after adding the other ingredients. I'll be making this again, Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Angie April 06, 2008

I was curious how such a seemly odd combination of ingredients got such great reviews. Now I know! I had mine on a toasted whole grain English muffin. A tasty homegrown tomato is a must...I don't think this sandwich would work with anything but.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JocelynV August 11, 2007
Tomato Open Sandwiches with Peanut Butter