Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tomato Open Sandwiches with Peanut Butter Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tomato Open Sandwiches with Peanut Butter

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on April 08, 2002

      This is an old favorite in the summer time with garden tomatoes but we always added green onion and left off the lettuce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2002

      This was very good. I wanted something different and this was it. Very unusual compared to the typical peanut butter combinations used in the U.S., which are usually sweet. Definitely use FRESH peanut butter!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2002

      Anu, this was EXCELLENT! Thank-you so much. The minute I saw this recipe, I knew my dinner was fixed for tonight:) I made this using spinach leaves, but I think it'll go better with lettuce leaves, it's like an 'Open Burger' :) Thanks so much, I really LOVE THIS RECIPE :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2010

      Anu: I can't thank YOU enough for this amazingly simple yet bursting-with-flavour sandwich! I read about it in a thread and the next day made this for breakfast, lunch, and dinner...yes, it's THAT good! I tried it both with the spinach and without; preferred it without and got my "greens" into me with Broccoli soup, instead. As one reviewer mentioned, you can NOT stop eating this! Seriously, I could have pulled up a chair to the toaster oven and kept making these, one after the other. What I did differently than your suggestion, was to chop up the tomato into diced bits, so I wouldn't be pulling off an entire slice with one bite. Lightly toasted the bread to warm it, took it out of the toaster oven, spread peanut butter onto a cracked whole wheat bread, placed tomatoe dices plus S & P on top, then put it back into the toaster oven to finish it off. Simple and simply amazing; a real keeper of a recipe that I'll be sure to share with others. :) NOTE: Almost 2 months later, I'm still enjoying this sandwich. Tonight, I added 1 strip of crumbled up bacon with the chopped tomatoes: HEAVEN ON BREAD! Such a healthy, yummy snack!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2010

      Delicious sandwich. Used Swedish Chef's suggestion of chopping tomatoes, and I left out the spinach or lettuce. Will definitely make it again. Served with a bowl of homemade potato soup for lunch. Yum.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2007

      This is an awesome treat! I don't even like raw tomatoes, but with the spinach, peanut butter, and black pepper, the flavor really pops (in a unique way). I really recommend making this on whole wheat (or similar) bread, as the recipe requests--white bread just doesn't cut it. This is absoutely refreshing and like the poster said, hits all four bases for your healthy food groups!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      Who would have thought tomatoes and peanut butter would go together so well. Will eat again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2008

      The combination of flavors is surprisingly really very delicious how they compliment each other. Two teaspoons of peanut butter barely covered the bread, so I had to add a little more. If calories were no object, slathered with peanut butter would be even better. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2008

      MMM! I've never liked PB, but recently discovered that I really enjoy almond butter. I tried this recipe using freshly ground almond butter and it was wonderful! Thanks for sharing this quick & healthy lunch. The nut butter, loaded with heart-healthy fats, makes for a very satisfying meal. I lightly toasted my bread before adding the almond butter for easier application and then sent it back in the toaster oven on broil after adding the other ingredients. I'll be making this again, Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2007

      I was curious how such a seemly odd combination of ingredients got such great reviews. Now I know! I had mine on a toasted whole grain English muffin. A tasty homegrown tomato is a must...I don't think this sandwich would work with anything but.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2007

      This is one of my favorites - - and has been for quite a while. The spinach is an amazing touch. The sandwich is savory and different. I cooked it last night for my g/f and she loved it to. Before I knew it she had finished hers and taken a bite of mine!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2007

      it was ok. i had this for breakfast this morning. maybe i wasn't as pleased as others because i never had a problem with peanut butter being savory rather than sweet... so it wasn't like "wow what a surprise". tasty enough...i may try it again tomorrow morning with different ratios. thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2006

      Wow! This really should not taste anywhere near as good as it does! Wonderful, smooth, creamy taste. Somehow the peanut butter and tomato blends together perfectly. Great sandwich filling!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2005

      Wow, was this good. I can't believe I've lived to be this old and never tried a tomato sandwich with peanut butter. This is gooood. I simplified things a bit by just toasting the bread and then layering on the other ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2005

      I am seeing stars! I love this... I love homegrown tomatoes on toast with a million things to begin with and now this...you have made me sing though I still can't whistle after eating this...but it will make you dance and ask for seconds!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2005

      Tomatoes keep showing up here--from friends, parents, our garden--and I have been looking like crazy for fast and easy ways to use them. I'd been eating toasted tomato sandwiches with mayo for most meals, but I tried this recipe today and it was even more satisfying. I will definitely be working it into the regular rotation. I left out the greens and grilled the sandwich on the stove in a little butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2005

      Wonderfully tasty. I am not a fan of PB but this recipe is wonderful. Made it twice already as a snack. I did not use the greens and microwaved the toasted bread with PB.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2004

      I'm gonna gain 100 pounds! This was lunch yesterday and breakfast today. Good way to use up all the home grown tomatoes I have.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2004

      When I first saw this recipe I thought it was really wierd, but found myself making it out of curiosity a few days later. It really is good and is bound to become an old stand-by of mine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2003

    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tomato Open Sandwiches with Peanut Butter

    Serving Size: 1 (178 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 222.7
     
    Calories from Fat 72
    32%
    Total Fat 8.0 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 365.4 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.2 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 6.0 g
    24%
    Sugars 6.6 g
    26%
    Protein 9.5 g
    19%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes