Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tomato Lemon Chicken Breasts with Sage Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tomato Lemon Chicken Breasts with Sage

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on August 12, 2002

      This was execellent! The carrots added the tiniest crunch. The lemon was not overpowering like in most dishes. My BF who is trying to NOT eat meat broke down and ate a huge breast just because they smelled so good! I served this with a wild rice pilaf as suggested. Great recipe! UPDATE...Made again and added about 1/2 cup of white wine. Also EXCELLENT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2009

      WOW! This was great! I served this over Sage and Parmesan Rice (#203770) and used fresh sage from my herb garden. The taste was incredible - we just couldn't get enough! I will definitely make this again - Thanks so much for this now family favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      This was good. The overwhelming flavor was lemon. I thought the flavor would be more complex...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2007

      Really good, very easy. I overdid the sage a bit but this was a quick weeknight dinner for sure. We will be having this again. It was great with my fresh summer garden tomato's.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2007

      I had chicken and sage in the fridge but no plan of action. I found this recipe at the last minute and I'm glad I did. The chicken and its sauce were excellent, this was first time I'd used fresh sage in a meat dish and I was pleasantly surprised; sage has a much different flavor when cooked than when raw. I only had one small carrot so I added parsnips too and that went great with the other ingredients. Next time I will only use parsnips but will add white wine as others have.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2006

      This was great! I made it using only 2 chicken breasts & about 1/2 cup of pre-packaged matchstick carrots but kept all the other ingredients as written. The sauce & veggies were wonderful served with couscous. Next time, I'll reduce the lemon rind a smidge but otherwise, this is a real keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2006

      Great chicken! I love the sweet flavour or the carrot. I didn't use a chicken cube,just plain water and I reduced the sage. Big mistake the last one. Next time I will use the whole amount of sage.I also used boneless turkey breast! A very good chicken recipe! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2005

      I actually found the lemon a little overpowering, I think I would reduce the rind to about half, but that's not to say it didn't taste totally delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2005

      I think the photo should show the chicken breasts more browned! This was great -- my eaters loved it. I didn't use the whole amount of olive oil given -- just about half, supplemented with butter to brown the chicken. Omitted the carrot, but loved the fresh sage. The tang of fresh lemon juice was very nice. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2005

      I wanted lemon chicken, hubby wanted chicken marsala, so I combined them! I used your base recipe, dredged the chicken in flour, added mushrooms and marsala wine and made a roux to thicken the sauce. I also used red onion and beef broth, because I had those on hand to use up. I did use a little chicken stock and white wine, because I ran out of marsala and beef stock. I served it over egg noodles with sauteed zucchini as a side. We really liked the carrots, they added a nice fresh crunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2004

      Delicious! Didn't have any boullion cubes on hand so used a can of chicken broth instead. I would definately make this again and try it with the white wine. Went great with mashed potatoes too! Awsome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2004

      This was fantastic. I had some sage I wanted to use up, so when I came across this recipe I knew I had to try it. I'm so glad I did! It was tender and so flavorful! I took Kari's advice and added 1/2 cup of white wine (Chardonay) and the chicken ended up tasting fantastic. I'll definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2004

      Wow!! Easy and elegant. Served with a herbed brown rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2004

      Very tasty! And the smell is lovely. Would never have thought of the combination tomato, carrots, sage, lemon. The flavours really marry well. Just as Kari, I added 1/2 cup of white wine (Viognier) and I totally agree with the "excellent!"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tomato Lemon Chicken Breasts with Sage

    Serving Size: 1 (261 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 261.0
     
    Calories from Fat 122
    46%
    Total Fat 13.5 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 75.6 mg
    25%
    Sodium 828.8 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.2 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 3.7 g
    15%
    Protein 26.3 g
    52%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites