11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow!!! My husband and I loved this dish. It was an easy dish to prepare. I chose this recipe because it sounded good, and I thought I had all of the ingredients on hand. I had only one fresh tomato, so I added 1 can crushed tomatoes with garlic and basil, and it was very tasty. I did add about 1/4 cup sour cream to the mayonnaise so I could spread the ham mixture easier. Thanks for posting this wonderful, easy, dish. I took your suggestion and served with a crisp green salad.

39 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Annie April 05, 2002

We just had a very tastey supper, thank-you Lorac!! I ran out of left over ham so I cooked up a couple of chicken breast halves, cut in bite size pieces,sauted in olive oil, left out the mayo,thought I didn't need it with the olive oil,added some left over mushrooms and salt and pepper, did everything else as instructed, cut back for the two of us, turned out wonderfull. It's a real keeper because it's versatile, can use what's on hand, with the basic recipe. Thanks for sharing a very useful recipe!!

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf April 05, 2002

Wow! This was absolutely scrumptious :) I had lots of tomatoes to be used up in the garden, and lots of left-over ham from last night... and this was just the perfect recipe. I cannot tell you how much we enjoyed this! The only thing I would do is double the ham mixture as we wished there was more to cover the tomatoes, so next time I will give it a try. Absolutely delicious, and we thank you so very much for this recipe!! Dianne

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pianolady September 12, 2003

Very good and easy. I cut the recipe in half and made it for DH and son; I'm on a diet but must confess, I did have one taste of it and wish I could've indulged in more!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheDancingCook September 12, 2002

This is so good! I halved the recipe, except for the ham mixture. Very easy and really delish! I can hear the (tiny bit of) leftovers calling to me from the icebox:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ants36 February 21, 2013

I used twice the amount of ham mixture as suggested by other reviewers, and it still seemed dry. I do like the flavor combination, so if I made it again I would use less breadcrumbs or add something else to moisten it up.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jaynine September 29, 2009

This was pretty good. A little drier than I would've liked, and I also would've added more ham and tomato.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crystal W September 02, 2009

My homegrown tomatoes went to good use in this recipe! They are the star of this recipe. IMO, you really should use homegrown tomatoes in this dish for the ultimate juicy, sweet tomato flavor. I made it just as written, but just added a little chopped onion to the ham mixture. I would be proud to take this to a summer picnic/potluck. Thanx for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* August 30, 2008

I made this recipe this afternoon and it was delicious, I did cut it in half but kept the ham mixture the same, it was very easy to put together apart from doing the fresh breadcrumbs. This could be made easier if you was just making it for a couple people I would take some bread slices and spread some mayonaise on them, top with some tomato & ham sliced thin, sprinkle some cheese and some parsley and bake it in the oven until the cheese is melted and the bread is toasted.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ginaaaaaa November 01, 2007

I'm giving this recipe 5 stars because my husband absolutely loved it. I did double the ham mixture and glad I did. This is a great recipe for using our fresh tomatoes from the garden. I'm going to try some of the other suggestions that were given, too, like adding chopped spinach or broccoli. Thanks for posting, Lorac!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
M. Joan September 11, 2006
Tomato, Ham and Cheese Bake