Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tomato Florentine Rice Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tomato Florentine Rice Soup

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on October 29, 2003

      I was looking for a lowfat soup to take to work for lunch. This fit the bill! Because I thought the tomato juice and chicken broth contained enough salt, I didn't add the sea salt. Also, I used a 10-ounce bag of fresh spinach instead of frozen, and I added about a cup of my fresh garden tomatoes - yum! Thanks, CL!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2003

      This soup is absolutely delicious! Although it takes a while to make, it's very easy and doesn't require much attention. The flavour is amazing! I will definitely be making this again. Due to a typo (that has now been corrected) in the recipe I used too little tomato juice, but it still turned out great (probably a bit thicker than it should have been). The only other change I made was to use brown rice for more nutrition. Highly recommended.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2011

      Made this for TOTM Soup Fest tag game and I'm glad I did. I too haven't had Tom Horton's tomato soup but I found this to be delicious. I cut the recipe in half and used fresh spinach and next time I think I will try using some pasta. Thank you for submitting this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2012

      We really enjoyed this soup after I tweaked it a bit. Not really sure what I did wrong but it came out really salty. I think next time I will use low sodium chicken broth and omit the salt until I am sure it won't be too salty for my family. Just added a little milk to thin it out and make it a little creamier for the kids. The kids say its a keeper, we will be making it again in the future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2010

      Thanks for the recipe. I love tomato soup and am happy to have the spinach in it! Definitely a bit spicy for us, will cut back a bit next time. A little parmesan and tomorrow's lunch is set!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2009

      Delicious!! If I had this soup at a restaurant, I would never guess that it was so low cal. DH requests this soup all the time. This from the man who claims he doesn't like soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2009

      Superb! I was pressed for time so I made it only an hour (instead of 2) by boiling in every step that called for simmering. I subbed about 5 oz tomato paste + water for tomato juice. I only had about 1/2 t of white pepper so it wasn't spicy but I topped it with black pepper and fresh parmesan. Hit the Spot! It was a touch salty so I'll cut back on the sea salt next time. I will also stick to the amount of rice called for because I used more (wanted to get rid of leftovers) and it thickened it a bit too much, though it was easily fixed by adding water. This is going into my regular repertoire of easy, healthy and delicious dinners!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      This was just wonderful. I used orzo instead of the rice. Will make again for sure but with mini meatballs as well. Thanks for the great keeper!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2008

      This didn't turn out very well at all for me. It may have been my own fault since I used low-sodium V8...which is vegetable juice-- not tomato juice-- and that probably affected the flavor. I followed everything else exactly but it tasted awful...it was WAY too peppery for me and the other spices weren't working for me either. My suggestion is to start with 1/4 tsp of white pepper, taste it and add more if you want it spicier. Maybe without the pepper overpowering it the other spices might be good. I ended up adding half and half to tame it down a bit...and then I could see the potential for this to be good so I will try again with tomato juice and less pepper next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2008

      Very good. I think I will use a little less seasoning next time, but this is pretty good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2007

      Great soup...made this for dinner on a damp, rainy day along side of BLT sandwiches. I cooked step #1 for 70 minutes. I used a 46 oz container of tomato juice and substituted the other 18 oz with vegetable cocktail juice....added a bit more of the veggie juice in step #3...to thin the broth a bit. Used 3 cups of water and 3 tsp chicken boullion, because I didn't have any canned chicken broth on hand. Added only about 6 oz of drained spinach, which was perfect for us. I ommited the salt completely...I too felt that the broth had enough in as is and I'm glad I didn't add it...it was perfect and not under or over salted. Used about 3/4 tsp of white pepper...not spicy at all. Served with some grated parmesan as well. The flavors and herbs blended nicely together; thanks for posting a really tasty soup. I can eat it on my Weight Watchers and it's very healthy and filling that the whole family enjoyed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2007

      This was very good...leftovers even better. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2006

      Nice, warming soup. The amount of white pepper indicated seemed way too much but it was nice. Warning: this is a very spicy soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2006

      I've never been to Tim Horton's, so I don't know if this tastes like the original. What I do know it that this is a great soup! I made a half recipe of this, which made about 4 first-course servings. The white pepper adds a nice little kick. I used vegetarian broth instead of chicken broth to make this a vegetarian soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2005

      This was excellent. I've never had the original so I can't speak for how it compares for that, but we really enjoyed this. I was able to cut the recipe in half quite successfully. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2005

      I just finished eating a bowl of this soup for lunch, having made it this weekend. While it doesn't taste like Tim Horton's to me, it is still very good! I didn't have white pepper, so I used black and found 2tsp to be a bit too much so I'll probably scale that back next time (is there a difference between white and black pepper?) Overall though, this was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2005

      Never having had the original, I wasn't sure what to expect, but it's great. I cut the recipe in half for the 2 of us, other than that I followed the recipe exactly. DH said less spinach, but I thought it was perfect as is! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2005

      This is a great, healthy soup. I used brown rice and halved the recipe easily. DH, who isn't a big tomato soup fan, liked it and praised the 'thicker' consistency. I thought it had cooked down a bit too much and did add about a 1/4 cup more of broth when I added the rice. I served with Ham & Cheddar Crescents #73011 and celery sticks. Thanks for an easy, yummy, healthy soup!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tomato Florentine Rice Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (314 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 79.7
     
    Calories from Fat 6
    58%
    Total Fat 0.7 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 981.6 mg
    40%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.5 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 7.1 g
    28%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites