Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tomato Cucumber Salad (Salad Shirazi) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tomato Cucumber Salad (Salad Shirazi)

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on July 08, 2011

      Delicious. But I have to comment on the introduction. I owned the book, Nine Parts Of Desire: The Hidden World of Islamic Women, and I thew it in the garbage because that what it is, garbage. It is an anti-Islamic book and has so many things in it which Geraldine Brooks claims to be part of Islam which are not. I highly recommend not reading it. Instead find out what Islam really is. I did not let the salad sit for the 30 minutes in the refrigerator because lunch was to be served immediately and it was pretty good that way. In fact I may not let it sit when I make this again. I may have changed some proportions slightly. I used a good quality extra virgin, cold pressed olive oil, freshly squeezed lime juice, less fresh garlic, to taste, sea salt, freshly ground black pepper, plum tomatoes which I didn't bother to seed, English cucumber which I did not seed either, just peeled, the scallions, fresh mint from the garden, and no optional out of preference against heat. I will make this again. Made for Veggie Swap 36 ~ July 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2011

      I bought a big bag of ripe tomatoes at a discount at the produce store, and this was such a great way to use them! A very refreshing mixture which I served on chopped Romaine leaves as a side dish. I totally don't care for mint, so used cilantro as littlebird85 suggested, and enjoyed this very much. The dressing was a little lacking, but worth tinkering with! Made for Newest Zaar 2/11.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2010

      Wonderful recipe! I didn't have mint, so I used cilantro. With the cilantro it would make a really good ceviche base (just add shrimp and avocado!).

      I also crisped up some salami and crumbled it in right before eating the salad. MMMmmmmmmmmm! Prosciutto would also be delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2010

      I was a little hesitant about using the mint leaf, as I am used to basil in tomato salads, but I am now a fan! I did not use the jalapeno but, other than that, made this exactly as posted. I don't know anything about an authentic Shirazi salad, but I can tell you that this is very good! Made for ZWT6.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2010

      Made this using grape tomatoes cutting them in half. Parsley in place of the mint. Delish and refreshing. Made for ZWT6 Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2010

      DH complained that garlic and jalapeno shouldn't be in a Shirazi salad and while I thought it tasted good it wasn't like the ones I tried in Iran. Made for ZWT6

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2007

      So simple, so delicious. Jalapenos aren't really Middle East cuisine, but who cares. I will probably leave them out the next time. For personal preference, I used two cucumbers and two tomatoes. Made and enjoyed for Zaar World Tour.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2007

      Absolutely DELISH!!! It's got bite and I love that! Made for ZWT3.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2007

      This was really nice! I didn't put the chile. I love cucumbers and the mixture is very tasty.thank you for posting. Rita

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2007

      This was absolutely yummy. I diced the pieces of tomato and cucumber very small hoping to let the flavors blend quickly. I added the mint to the dressing in the food processor to get tiny bits. I was not sure how I would like bigger pieces of it. After letting it set in the fridge for an hour, it was sooo good I almost ate the entire thing myself. Thank you for this recipe it will stay as a staple for a LONG time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2006

      YUMMY!! Very simple and delicious! The option of the jalapeno was an excellent choice! I used lemon mint and it went perfectly with the lime, olive oil and garlic dressing!! Thank you Ellie!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2006

      Yes, this IS a wonderful summer salad. The balance of ingredients is just right and the lime juice, mint and chile work perfectly together.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2006

      Lime juice and fresh mint set this apart from other tomato and cucumber salads. I also added the japapeno and used lots of garlic but lowered the oil to less than a tablespoon to make this lower cal but still very tasty.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2006

      This recipe was chosen for the ZWT game. I made no changes to this recipe at all, we enjoyed it very much, I did add in the jalapeno! thanks Ellie!...Kitten:)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2012

    • on June 05, 2012

      Made this as written only using up some cherry tomatoes cutting them in half. I did use the mint (which I haven't done before in a tomato salad)....delicious! Thank you for posting a great recipe. Made for the Iranian/Persian tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2009

      Keep looking for the Shirazi our fav. persian place serves, and this, sadly, isn't it. Still very good, just not what we were looking for...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2008

    • on February 23, 2008

      I LOVED this recipe. It is now a staple in my weekly diet. I did some expirament with it though...I added garlic or basil falvored olive oil and left out the jalapenos (my kids won't eat it if it's spicy). Everyone loved it. I always have to double the recipe. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tomato Cucumber Salad (Salad Shirazi)

    Serving Size: 1 (103 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 103.3
     
    Calories from Fat 82
    80%
    Total Fat 9.2 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 5.7 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.5 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 2.7 g
    10%
    Protein 1.0 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes