27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

excellent recipe, my cod was quite thick so it required 10 extra minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefDebs October 06, 2009

I made this years ago and my whole family loved it! I just had inspiration to make it again for company, am thrilled to find it on this site, and the ability to adjust servings is fabulous! I can hardly wait to use my garden fresh tomatoes and basil on this. 10/2/09 update: I made this in large quantity for company in September with Halibut and it turned out fabulous, with fresh tomatoes and basil from my garden.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jlshepherd October 03, 2009

This is excellent! I did add a little butter to the breadcrumbs. I can't eat wheat and I subsituted rice bread for the wheat ones and they were a little drier. Family loved this recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladomers September 09, 2009

Delicious and light!! I used halibut fillets and panko instead of regular breadcrumbs!! 15-17 minutes in the oven were all they needed. So simple and tasty! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vino p.o. prn July 17, 2009

I made a couple substitutions - used red bell pepper instead of green, because I had one that needed to be used up, and substituted scallions for the onions, for the same reason. I used Italian seasoned bread crumbs and a tad bit more oil (I was too lazy to measure carefully.) I used the dry basil and didn't measure that either (probably 1 tsp. or so.) It was really very very good! Hubby didn't comment on it, but he ate all on his plate (that's pretty much all you can expect from him with fish.) It was so easy and fast to fix!! That was a real plus in my book. It would be a great dish for a hot summer night if you microwaved it to avoid heating the house with the oven. However, the cook time was short, so the oven wouldn't do too much damage to the household temp. even if you used it. I gave this 5 stars for #1 speed and ease of preparation, #2 eye appeal, and #3 taste appeal. It was very good, but not quite comfort food. But then is fish ever comfort food?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook In Southwest October 26, 2008

Great recipe to use all these fresh tomatoes on! And I am not usually a fan of tomatoes like this. My 3 1/2 and 1 1/2 year old liked it OK too! I used seasoned bread crumbs. Will make again. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BusyMichiganMom August 22, 2008

A delicious dish that is so easy to put together. I used green onion, white and green parts, in place of the bell pepper. The tomato was a fresh from the garden tomato. This was served with Southwestern Pilaf and a green side salad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG August 10, 2008

This cod is delicious. I marinated the fillets in Italian Dressing for a few hours first. Omitted the onions and sauted the peppers before putting them on the fish. It was easy to prepare, looked quite gourmet and tasted just perfect. Thank you, I will be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Milissa-t October 21, 2007

This was definitely a very tasty and attractive dish that looks like you put a lot of effort into it, but truly is "fast and easy". I discovered I was out of fresh tomatoes at the last minute and had to substitute a can of Italian style peeled tomatoes. It still worked very well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
therubbishbin March 10, 2007
Tomato-Crowned Cod