Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tomato-Crowned Cod Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tomato-Crowned Cod

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on August 08, 2002

      Very tasty, my hubby & i enjoyed it very much, and so easy to prepare. The only change i did was cooking it an extra 10 minutes, was not quite cooked at 20 minutes. Will definitely have it again. Thank You Tweeky !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2002

      This was very good, cut the recipe in half for supper tonight, the previous review was right, I too had to cook it for about 25 minutes, it could have been the thickness of the fillet. Lovely taste, the only change I made was to leave out the green pepper,because I made a rice pilaf to go with the cod and it had green pepper in it. The tomatoes, onions and basil complimented the cod. We will do it again, thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2013

    • on August 02, 2013

      Good recipe. Could use a bit more flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2013

      I had to omit the green peppers and substitute shallots for the onion, but it turned out great anyway! Will be making again. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2012

    • on May 21, 2012

      We use haddock for this (we get it very fresh here - just a few hrs. after it is caught). As written this is very good but felt we wanted a bit more flavor so added some crumbled up feta cheese which gave it an interesting taste. Anyway, this recipe is definitely in my kept file

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2010

      This recipe was really easy to prepare and the cod came out very moist which was great, but it was rather bland. Next time I might like to try adding garlic as mama smurf suggested.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2010

      Fixed this last night for dinner and followed the directions except for adding some green onions along with the rest and sprinkled some on top. Delicious! Next time I think I will add some garlic (love garlic) but I can hardly wait to have some fresh tomatoes to use. Thank you. Made for Zaar Alphabet Soup game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2009

      excellent recipe, my cod was quite thick so it required 10 extra minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

      I made this years ago and my whole family loved it! I just had inspiration to make it again for company, am thrilled to find it on this site, and the ability to adjust servings is fabulous! I can hardly wait to use my garden fresh tomatoes and basil on this. 10/2/09 update: I made this in large quantity for company in September with Halibut and it turned out fabulous, with fresh tomatoes and basil from my garden.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2009

      This is excellent! I did add a little butter to the breadcrumbs. I can't eat wheat and I subsituted rice bread for the wheat ones and they were a little drier. Family loved this recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2009

      Delicious and light!! I used halibut fillets and panko instead of regular breadcrumbs!! 15-17 minutes in the oven were all they needed. So simple and tasty! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2008

      I made a couple substitutions - used red bell pepper instead of green, because I had one that needed to be used up, and substituted scallions for the onions, for the same reason. I used Italian seasoned bread crumbs and a tad bit more oil (I was too lazy to measure carefully.) I used the dry basil and didn't measure that either (probably 1 tsp. or so.) It was really very very good! Hubby didn't comment on it, but he ate all on his plate (that's pretty much all you can expect from him with fish.) It was so easy and fast to fix!! That was a real plus in my book. It would be a great dish for a hot summer night if you microwaved it to avoid heating the house with the oven. However, the cook time was short, so the oven wouldn't do too much damage to the household temp. even if you used it. I gave this 5 stars for #1 speed and ease of preparation, #2 eye appeal, and #3 taste appeal. It was very good, but not quite comfort food. But then is fish ever comfort food?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2008

      Great recipe to use all these fresh tomatoes on! And I am not usually a fan of tomatoes like this. My 3 1/2 and 1 1/2 year old liked it OK too! I used seasoned bread crumbs. Will make again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2008

      A delicious dish that is so easy to put together. I used green onion, white and green parts, in place of the bell pepper. The tomato was a fresh from the garden tomato. This was served with Southwestern Pilaf and a green side salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2008

    • on October 21, 2007

      This cod is delicious. I marinated the fillets in Italian Dressing for a few hours first. Omitted the onions and sauted the peppers before putting them on the fish. It was easy to prepare, looked quite gourmet and tasted just perfect. Thank you, I will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2007

      This was definitely a very tasty and attractive dish that looks like you put a lot of effort into it, but truly is "fast and easy". I discovered I was out of fresh tomatoes at the last minute and had to substitute a can of Italian style peeled tomatoes. It still worked very well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2006

      Wonderful way to cook Cod.I skipped the green peppers and used cornmeal instead of breadcrumbs (Gluten-Free Diet) and it was stll great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tomato-Crowned Cod

    Serving Size: 1 (200 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 219.9
     
    Calories from Fat 46
    21%
    Total Fat 5.1 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 73.3 mg
    24%
    Sodium 146.8 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.1 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    7%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 32.3 g
    64%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes