7 Reviews

Peggy, you have a winner here!!! About 4 years ago, I wanted some condiments and paid $20 for two jars. I found they were long on liquid and thickener and short on named ingredients. I decided then and there that even though we were travelling I could make my own and so I have. This one is wonderful, made with ingredients that even a caravanner had on hand. I didn't know if you used brown or yellow mustard seeds so mixed them and my tinned tomatoes were so ripe, they just went to mush so I decided I wouldn't need to blitz the finished jam. My tomatoes were 69c, the onion 20c, I got given the chillies and oil, so I reckon THESE cost me under $2. Oh and they are super quick to make and have made the caravan park smell great!.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS May 02, 2010

Yum! Great flavour and consistency and nice both on toast and used as a chutney with meats.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peter J May 18, 2014

Yummy!! I put these on som echicken quesadillas and then roceeded to much on it on saltines, then this morning with scrambled eggs! It reminds me of salsa with a little asian... I had to make one small change though - couldn't find thai chilis at all! I subbed in 2 jalapenos and some crushed red chili flakes... at the rate I'm going, I'll need to make more tomorrow - although I'm not sure about putting it on my ice cream! Made for PAC Spring '11

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cadillacgirl March 14, 2011

I made this 6 weeks ago Peggy and used it today with cheese for a Ploughman's type lunch - it is AMAZING! I would give this 10 stars if I could, it is mellow with a kick and would be GREAT with an Asian meal, but was also very tasty with my cheese and bread! Merci encore! Karen

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
French Tart October 11, 2010

This went up quickly and tasted great. Like the other reviewers I left mine on the chunky side to be enjoyed with thick slices of French bread and rich creamy butter. TFS this condiment. Made for RS#45.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie B's Hive October 10, 2010

Peggy, this is awesome! Easy to throw together and excellent flavour. I used brown sugar and after tasting, threw another chilli in. I also doubled the recipe which gave me three jars and probably cooked for quite a bit longer on very low heat. I didn't blend it either.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jewelies June 11, 2010

Excellent! I loved this and know I'll make it again. It goes together easily & the reward in flavors is work the work. I found it delightfully spicy without being over the top hot. Thank you for sharing the recipe! Made for ZWT6 ~Asia.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie D June 04, 2010
Tomato Chilli (Chile) Jam