15 Reviews

I have always loved bruschetta. This version certainly hit the bill. I used a beautiful sourdough straight out of the oven from the bread bakery just up the street. I also used really fresh mozzarella, which can be a challenge to grate, so I just used slices. Also used whole basil leaves tucked under the tomato. I served it with a bit of balsamic vinegar on the side as a dipping sauce. Yum! I could eat these every day. I do believe, though, that the freshest ingredients REALLY make the bruschetta shine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pinkpeppercorns October 13, 2009

Absolutely wonderful recipe! I added balsamic vinegar, and chopped up the tomatoes. I only added about a tsp. of the onion, and Italian blended cheeses instead of mozzarella. Excellent.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mmsanchez09 April 29, 2007

Quick and easy (especially in the toaster oven) and very tasty! I love the addition of fresh garlic. I didn't have fresh basil (had to use dry) but I will get some next time just for this recipe! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yamakarasu April 18, 2007

Great bruschetta recipe! This is the perfect medium for fresh-from-the-garden tomatoes and basil. I used slices of tomatoes as directed but added a fresh whole basil leaf to each instead of chopping. They were beautiful after the cheese had melted. These are perfect to serve guests or to just eat as a snack. We loved them! Thanks Cynna! – July 10, 2006 UPDATE: I have made these again using Kittencal’s Soft Baguette recipe that was stuffed with provolone cheese – this really kicked the bruschetta up a notch! If you are a cheese lover, you may want to try this option. I also put baby spinach leaves under the tomato this second time around…. Still just a fabulous bruschetta!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NcMysteryShopper August 09, 2006

I guess I knew the minute I saw this recipe, that there was just no way to go wrong with it!!! Great recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jellyqueen July 14, 2006

I wondered if this would work without the bread? I'm not allowed flour at the moment in a search for allergies, so simply made this without the bread, by layering the tomato,garlic, oil then the mozzarella and putting it under a hot grill.. I didn't cook the basil at all since it was fresh off the plant from my office window herb box: I added it last and ate it raw with everything once the cheese had melted. HEAVENLY ! what a perfect combination.. I ate this as a side dish to dinner and wished I'd made more.. Much more! If you are a tomato and basil fan then this recipe better be going into your cookbooks NOW !!! Somehow a short sharp grilling really brought out the flavour of the cheese, so please see my rating system, a perfect 5 stars :)Thanks Cynna!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch July 12, 2006

So easy to make and so yummy to eat. I made mine in the toaster oven. I loved how the tomato was sliced and not chopped. The cheese melted on top of it made these sandwiches delicious. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUv 2 BaKE July 11, 2006

This was delicious!! I mixed the olive oil and garlic together and brushed it on the bread. After toasting, I topped with grated mozzarella, chopped tomatoes, and sliced basil. I broiled it until the cheese was all gooey and melted. YUUMMM!! My family loved this bruschetta. Thank you for sharing this keeper recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bayhill July 10, 2006

I made these for a tasty little snack for me and Dugan's happy hour. Well-he doesn't drink I do enough of that for the both of us. But he still loved them with some sweet tea. He LOVES bruschetta and I got to use fresh tomatoes from the garden. Subbed provolone because that is his favorite.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pot Scrubber July 10, 2006

What a lovely snack this was!! Simple to make and so much flavor!! Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim127 July 09, 2006
Tomato Bruschetta