Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tomato Bread - Bread Machine Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tomato Bread - Bread Machine

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on February 22, 2003

      Excellent bread Geema, thanks for sharing! Our bread maker only makes 1 1/2 or 2 lb loaves, so we set it on 1 1/2 and made it anyway and it turned out great!! The seasonings give it a yummy taste, very Italian. We served it with pasta and salad, perfect match. We will be making it again often!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2003

      Very good unique tasting bread that is a great addition to pasta meals. I changed some of the ingredient amounts so I could make a larger loaf including adding 1 cup of whole wheat flour and adjusted other ingredients accordingly. Thanks Geema for a unique bread recipe that we will be making again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2003

      A delicious red tangy bread, great toasted with lots of butter. My loaf turned out very small - I don't know whether I did any thing wrong, but it was good because I always throw out half a stale loaf of bread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2003

      This bread has great texture and a wonderful flavor. I served it with a pasta dish and the whole loaf was gone! Thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2012

      Wow! This bread is wonderful! It's just exploding with flavor, and is light and airy at the same time. I made the bread by hand, doubling the recipe. For double the amount of tomato paste, I needed exactly one small 170 g can, which was convenient. I chickened out on the nutmeg, though. I left out the nutmeg, but used 1/4 teaspoon each dried basil, oregano and thyme. I am quite happy with the flavor. I did have dried onion, but used 2 cloves grated garlic, raw, in the dough. I used the larger amounts given for milk and yeast. The amount of flour given was just about right. I made the dough into rolls, and the double batch yielded 16 45-g, 6 60-g and 1 90-g rolls. Thank you very much for sharing this wonderful recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2011

      Everyone really liked this recipe except for my husband, I think the nutmeg made him sad. A very good bread, but not my absolute favorite. Went well w/ cream of chicken soup and balsamic vinegar dipping oil. I'll probably make it again some day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2011

      I followed the recipe, but added twice as much italian seasonings. It was delicious!!!!! I took it to a family get together and was only able to snag one piece before it was gone! Everyone loved it except my husband (who hates tomatoes). It was very easy and I can't wait to make it again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2010

      I really like the idea of using tomatoes in bread to give it a different flavour, but unfortunately, this bread did not do it for me. It smelled wonderful, rose well, but did not have much flavour, in my opinion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      this ended up being delicious. it is a bit small for my bread machine, so i will make a 2lb loaf next time. i ended up having to mix the dry ingredients to make sure it all got in there. i think it could also use a bit more spice. we at it with cheddar beer soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2009

      This bread was better than I expected. Soft inside and flavorful without being extreme. It didn't turn out as pretty a loaf but it was edible. It's a bit confusing on the amount of milk, so I used 1/3. It should be more specific, especially when it comes to using a bread machine. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2009

      I have made this 3 time now and it has work in my bread machine each time so do not know what whent wrong for Ioisuz? We just love it. Thank you for posting it :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      I have just tried to make this bread three times in two days and it flopped all three times. The dough just half-way rises. I even went out and bought a brand new jar of bread machine yeast and still it only rose half as much as it should. I have used this bread machine for almost 15 years and have NEVER had a loaf not rise before; what the HECK is going on here??? This is extremely upsetting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2006

      I made this yesterday for PAC and it is fabulous! Nice crust, very dense and moist bread. Beautiful orange color! I skipped the onion and garlic powder because I didn't have them. I also didn't have Italian seasoning, so I used oregano and thyme. DH surprised me because he really liked it. I thought for sure he'd think it was "weird". This would make awesome grilled cheese (or as DH suggested, club or BLT) sandwiches. I didn't do any of this, just served it as our bread with dinner (beef stroganoff). Fabulous! Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2006

      My family really enjoyed this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2006

      Nice bread recipe! It is too strong flavored to eat on its own, however it is good for sandwiches. My husband loved it! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2006

      This is very good bread! My first attempt at making a bread other than what was in the recipes from the bread maker. I had to make a few adjustments, but everything worked out fine. I was REALLY surprised that DH liked this bread. The smell was so awesome that when it was done he couldn't wait for it to cool so we could slice it and eat it. He put a little butter and some parmesan cheese on his and was in heaven! Thanks for sharing this!! The loaf that I pictured is 1 1/2 pound.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2003

      Absolutely delicious! I figured I wouldn't be able to comment on the texture as I had to use all-purpose flour, but even with that it was great. I did the 1.5 pound setting on mine, also (per an earlier review); worked fine. Great flavor. Thanks so much for sharing! deb

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2003

      Very good!! The texture is really nice, and the flavor not too strong of tomatoes. It smells great when baking, also. I served this with Nurse Di's Italian peasant soup, and can't wait to try making cheese sandwiches as you suggested. Carole in Orlando

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2003

      A lovely bread with good flavor and a beautiful color.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tomato Bread - Bread Machine

    Serving Size: 1 (485 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1236.2
     
    Calories from Fat 174
    14%
    Total Fat 19.4 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 4.8 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 194.5 mg
    64%
    Sodium 2032.8 mg
    84%
    Total Carbohydrate 224.5 g
    74%
    Dietary Fiber 12.1 g
    48%
    Sugars 21.8 g
    87%
    Protein 40.2 g
    80%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes