19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent bread Geema, thanks for sharing! Our bread maker only makes 1 1/2 or 2 lb loaves, so we set it on 1 1/2 and made it anyway and it turned out great!! The seasonings give it a yummy taste, very Italian. We served it with pasta and salad, perfect match. We will be making it again often!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf February 22, 2003

Very good unique tasting bread that is a great addition to pasta meals. I changed some of the ingredient amounts so I could make a larger loaf including adding 1 cup of whole wheat flour and adjusted other ingredients accordingly. Thanks Geema for a unique bread recipe that we will be making again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ May 15, 2003

A delicious red tangy bread, great toasted with lots of butter. My loaf turned out very small - I don't know whether I did any thing wrong, but it was good because I always throw out half a stale loaf of bread!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Marli* April 23, 2003

This bread has great texture and a wonderful flavor. I served it with a pasta dish and the whole loaf was gone! Thanks for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robin W April 23, 2003

Wow! This bread is wonderful! It's just exploding with flavor, and is light and airy at the same time. I made the bread by hand, doubling the recipe. For double the amount of tomato paste, I needed exactly one small 170 g can, which was convenient. I chickened out on the nutmeg, though. I left out the nutmeg, but used 1/4 teaspoon each dried basil, oregano and thyme. I am quite happy with the flavor. I did have dried onion, but used 2 cloves grated garlic, raw, in the dough. I used the larger amounts given for milk and yeast. The amount of flour given was just about right. I made the dough into rolls, and the double batch yielded 16 45-g, 6 60-g and 1 90-g rolls. Thank you very much for sharing this wonderful recipe with us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mianbao February 10, 2012

Everyone really liked this recipe except for my husband, I think the nutmeg made him sad. A very good bread, but not my absolute favorite. Went well w/ cream of chicken soup and balsamic vinegar dipping oil. I'll probably make it again some day.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Smarahcakes August 26, 2011

I followed the recipe, but added twice as much italian seasonings. It was delicious!!!!! I took it to a family get together and was only able to snag one piece before it was gone! Everyone loved it except my husband (who hates tomatoes). It was very easy and I can't wait to make it again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kendiger April 23, 2011

I really like the idea of using tomatoes in bread to give it a different flavour, but unfortunately, this bread did not do it for me. It smelled wonderful, rose well, but did not have much flavour, in my opinion.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen in Victoria, BC April 02, 2010

this ended up being delicious. it is a bit small for my bread machine, so i will make a 2lb loaf next time. i ended up having to mix the dry ingredients to make sure it all got in there. i think it could also use a bit more spice. we at it with cheddar beer soup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brianak December 25, 2009

This bread was better than I expected. Soft inside and flavorful without being extreme. It didn't turn out as pretty a loaf but it was edible. It's a bit confusing on the amount of milk, so I used 1/3. It should be more specific, especially when it comes to using a bread machine. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CabinKat November 02, 2009
Tomato Bread - Bread Machine