22 Reviews

Yummy!! My husband and my teenage boys all loved it. Used can tomatoes and followed directions as written. Served with grilled cheese...mmm mmm good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
3goodboys January 12, 2014

Used canned tomatoes, some dried basil and added a small pinch of red pepper flakes for a little heat. The parm added just the right amount of salt. Was a great addition to kicked grilled cheese sandwiches.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mark h. March 10, 2013

Rally liked it. I essentially doubled it, subbing some of the tomatoes for juice since I had a huge can of juice to use. Also used about 9 1/2 t of dried basil, as I found a chart that suggested 1 T fresh basil = 1 t dried, but I might use a tad bit less next time. Also liked the parmesan addition as it gave a bit of substance. I think a bit of sweet sausage may be a nice optional addition for next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarlovinmom October 24, 2011

Wonderful soup! I love the combination of tomato and basil, and the cream just takes it over the top. I used fresh roma tomatoes from the back yard, homemade chicken stock, and basil from the plants which are exploding in my herb garden. What a celebration of summer flavors! For the salt and pepper, I used 1 1/2 teaspoons of kosher salt, and approx 1/2 teaspoon of white pepper (so no dark flecks in the soup). I omitted the cheese, but added 1 tablespoon of red wine vinegar to brighten the flavors a little bit. Unlike other reviewers, I didn't find this to be heavy or overly rich, but just perfect for a creamy tomato soup. Thanks for posting a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IngridH August 11, 2009

Thanks for this delicious soup! I used a ton of tomatoes on this which was great because they were going to get really overripe. I found that it took a looong time to peel and chop all of them. So if you really want a quick meal, go with canned tomatoes. I had to pour my soup into an actual blender and it worked fine all the same. I also cut the heavy cream and butter in half, but it was still really rich. This didn't appeal to my brother as he only likes plain tomato soup, but everyone else really enjoyed it. Thanks for this great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tomsawyer September 05, 2008

This isn't a bad recipe, it's just very heavy. I think the cream could be cut in half with the same effect, or cut it out altogether for a healthier, light soup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
good eats girl April 13, 2008

Outstanding!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maria_gandy January 16, 2008

Great Soup, I added some garlic, a small red potato (to thicken) and I added some three cheese Tortellini to make it a meal with a dallop of sour cream in the middle. Served with garlic bread. I see myself making this often, Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Navin W December 07, 2007

Excellent simple soup. Read the ingredients and knew it would be a hit. Tried it tonight and it was great. Thanks for posting the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Luma November 23, 2007

We were really impressed with this soup, and would give it 10 stars if we could. The only change we made was that we used 1 28oz can of crushed tomatoes, so we didn't simmer for as long as the recipe recommended. We only simmered for 15-20 minutes, and it was perfect. Thanks Sandi, for posting such an amazing recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kohtzy November 07, 2007
Tomato Basil Soup