Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tomato-Basil Mahi Mahi Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tomato-Basil Mahi Mahi

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on February 07, 2011

      I used canned Italian style diced tomatoes and only two diced garlic cloves. I also omitted the basil leaf because the tomatoes were already seasoned and did not use tomato paste as I did not have any. Used soy sauce and lemon juice. This was very tasty and paired well with the fish. I cooked the fish until almost done, made the sauce and simmered it for a few minutes then put the fish back into the pan to finish cooking. Would definitely make this dish again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2009

      I made this on mahi we caught in Key West. I think the topping was acceptable, but seemed a bit too Italian for our mahi tastes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2008

      Great recipe. We were concerned that the amount of garlic called for would be overpowering, but it wasn't at all! skipped the sugar, used lemon and soy. Terrific flavor all around. Thanks! Andiamo

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2008

      I left out the tomato paste and substituted water for chicken broth. We absolutely loved it. We'll have this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2006

      Yum. The tomato-basil sauce was great. I left the sugar out, and it was fine. I think next time I'll eithr pour the sauce on the mahi while it's still cooking or put a little of the fresh basil on the mahi to give the fish itself a little more flavor. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2005

      Made this tonight and thought it was yummy, nice change from what I usually do with Mahi. Will be using it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2005

      Zowie! Great dish! I used soy sauce, lime juice instead of lemon and about a half tablespoon of Splenda instead of sugar. The flavor of the sauce was absolutely wonderful without overpowering the fish. Thanks! I'll make this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2005

      Wonderful--A simple, delightful sauce that makes eating this dish a nice change of pace from the usual garlic butter or lemon I usuually do. A keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2005

      Oh wow. I've had fish every way I can think of - and this is such a treat! The sweet-basil is the perfect compliment to the mahi flavor. It tones down the fishy taste without masking it. Perfect. One of my favorite Zaar finds to-date.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2004

      I left out the chicken stock, added 2 tbsp of rice vinegar instead of one, and fried the mahi in sesame oil. The dish was a hit. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2004

      Good meal-in-one entree. Add a salad and dinner's complete. The sauce was pleasantly sweet. I'd skip the 1T of sugar next time. I used a 28oz can of diced tomatoes but I think the finished sauce would be greatly improved by using garden fresh tomatoes rather than canned. The directions fail to mention when to add the dice tomatoes so I assumed they were meant to be added along with the tomato paste, fish sauce, etc.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tomato-Basil Mahi Mahi

    Serving Size: 1 (435 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 362.1
     
    Calories from Fat 29
    12%
    Total Fat 3.2 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 167.8 mg
    55%
    Sodium 1872.7 mg
    78%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.8 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
    16%
    Sugars 17.1 g
    68%
    Protein 49.8 g
    99%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites