Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tomato Basil Bread - by Hand or Bread Machine Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tomato Basil Bread - by Hand or Bread Machine

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on July 17, 2011

      I bake. My family eats and leaves crumbs. Raw deal, heh?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      I made this recipe to go with a turkey sandwich recipe I wanted to try also..OMG this was so good the sandwich was fab..I made to loaves,one I gave to my daughter..I used 1/4 tsp total ,used my KA for mixing and kneading otherwise followed recipe exactly...What a great sandwich bread,or even with a hearty soup..I will definitely be making this again. I recommend trying #116193 bacon turkey bravo to go with this bread, delish..Thank U......

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2008

      Great bread Brandess! First off I used whole wheat flour so of course my results will be a bit different. That being said I did end up with a wonderful flavoursome loaf that accompanied Hearty Chicken and Vegetable Soup very well.. I made your recipe in a stand mixer and added an additional 1 cup of flour after step one. The rising time was longer due to the type of flour and the weather. I did use the crushed red pepper flakes and next time will add at least a teaspoon. I also brushed the outside with cold water before and during cooking to get a lovely crisp crust. Thank you for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2014

      Fabulous bread for the tomato lover!!! So easy to make too:) I skipped the chili flakes (not a fan plus I didn't have any)...Used fresh basil & all organic products...just sifted the flour & used my KA to do the work...lol had my 2 very little ones helping (22m & 3). Seriously, fabulous bread & all organic for less than $2/loaf!! Next time I may brush on some brown sugar/butter w/smidge of tomato paste on the crust before & while baking but it is great:) Making another loaf this week!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2013

      I made this to go with my Quick & Easy Steamer Bag Vegetable Soup. It was good but different than I expected. I think it would be better with a tomato soup. My son loved it toasted. I think it would make an excellent grilled cheese sandwich.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2013

      YUM. Seriously, just YUM. Excellent. I replaced 1/2 cup of the flour with whole wheat, and added about 3 tablespoons of vital wheat gluten. I will make this again and again and again and again and AGAIN. (A note comparing this to Panera's tomato basil bread: The flavor is very close. The main difference is that the outer crust lacks the sticky-sweet coating of Panera's. I imagine that coating could be replicated by brushing the half-baked loaf with some tomato paste or even ketchup, both of which I plan to try next time I make this.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2011

      I used fresh cherry tomatoes from my garden in place of the tomato paste, I boiled off the skin and finely chopped up about 4 tablespoons of them. I also used the fresh basil out of my garden for this. Other that that I followed the recipe as written. The bread was wonderful. It did not last long. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2011

      Amazing bread and super easy to make! Followed Potluck's lead and made it to go with Bacon Turkey Bravo Sandwich and it made for some terrific sandwiches. I also used 100% Whole Wheat (reduced by 1/4 cup) and added 1/4 cup Vital Wheat Gluten. The loaf was still a little small and pretty dense but the flavor really delivered. Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      Delicious. I used this bread in my copy of the Mediterranean sandwich at Panera. It has cilantro pesto, tomato, lettuce, cucumber, and gorganzola cheese. Fabulous, and very healthy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2009

      Very flavorful. The hot pepper flakes give it a nice kick. Great for sandwiches. Instead of the yeast I used a sour dough starter. Because I did this the first rise took 2 1/2 hours instead of 1.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2008

      Really good bread, very easy to work with. Just alittle too much basil for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2008

      This was yummy bread. I served it with an italian dish but I think it would go better with soup. I am going to try it with sandwiches with some yummy spread and sun dried tomatoes tomorrow. Thanks for a great and easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2008

      This was very yummy. I didn't have tomato paste so I used tomato sauce. It was crusty on the outside and tender on the inside. Great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2008

      Awesome recipe. Turned out perfectly (by hand). I added an egg wash and thinly-sliced cherry tomatoes on top just for prettiness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tomato Basil Bread - by Hand or Bread Machine

    Serving Size: 1 (38 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 92.4
     
    Calories from Fat 13
    14%
    Total Fat 1.5 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 1.3 mg
    0%
    Sodium 194.0 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.5 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 1.2 g
    4%
    Protein 2.9 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites