Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tomato, Basil, & American Cheese Sandwich Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tomato, Basil, & American Cheese Sandwich

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on June 25, 2010

      I threw this together because I've had a busy day and I wanted something quick and easy. I had fresh basil and tomoatoes on hand for a recipe I'm making tomorrow, so I gave this recipe a try. This was a wonderful simple sandwich. I'll be making this again soon. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2008

      Purple basil topped my tomatoes on this refreshing sandwich. I did not use salt and pepper but I think I'll use some cracked pepper next time. Easy and fun sandwich to make. Thank you for posting. Made for *ZWT4* 2008 game for the *Family Pick Round* I'm playing for *Tastebud Tickling Travellers*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2008

      Awesome sandwich! So fresh and delicious...and yes I do feel like a kid again! The tomatoes from the garden are perfect here and this simplicity of this sandwich lets the fresh basil and tomatoes shine! Thanks Rita! *Made for ZWT*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2008

      I toasted my slices of bread on the barbecue. Sometimes I prefer a toasted sandwich. I didn't use salt and pepper. I loved the addition of basil leaves. Something I will eat again soon. Yummy. Thanks Rita. Made for the Babes of ZWT4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2008

      Very fresh tasting and a bit of a switch up from the normal tomato and mozzarella combination. The kind of sandwich that is best on a hot summer's day. Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2008

      Had all the ingredients on hand - this was oh so yummy!!! Used slices of low-fat mozzarella cheese and lots of mayo! Thanks Rita! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2007

      These are great - easy, light & refreshing! They were put to the test by four 11 year olds and passed with flying colors! Mom liked them too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2006

      This is a great twist on a tomato cheese sandwich. I used light salad dressing and a multigrain bagel. I also used cheddar for the american cheese. Thanks for the sandwich idea and a great way to use some of my home grown basil!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2006

      I made this for lunch yesterda;I love that freah basil in it and used chaddar cheese. Wow!Had to get away from restaurant food. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2005

      Very nice and easy lunch. I used cheddar instead of american and butter instead of mayo, weird craving, don't ask. I like to eat tomato and cheese sandwiches all the time, never thought of putting fresh basil on them though. I liked it. Thanks Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2005

      Deliciously drippy sandwich! I had fun eating these with my kids today! I also toasted these in the oven just a bit. Very easy recipe. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2004

      Made this for lunch today and took the liberty to grill this sandwich. Just added a little butter to outside of bread slices and toasted them in a skillet until golden. It was a fabulous sandwich, Rita. Thanks for a super recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tomato, Basil, & American Cheese Sandwich

    Serving Size: 1 (135 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 338.6
     
    Calories from Fat 153
    45%
    Total Fat 17.0 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 7.6 g
    38%
    Cholesterol 31.0 mg
    10%
    Sodium 857.8 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.9 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 12.7 g
    25%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes