Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tomato and Couscous Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tomato and Couscous Soup

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on January 09, 2012

      Very tasty soup. My DH loved it. I love addition of tomato paste as it gives strong flavor. I added 1Tbsp. of sugar to cut acidity and it gives soup a bit of sweetness. Used 2 vegetable stock cubes. I cooked it for 30 min. and than puree the soup for nice smooth texture. The consistency of the soup was just perfect not too thick or too watery. I cooked the couscous separately and added to the soup at the time of serving. Garnished with fresh chive and served with crusty cheese crostini. Definitely keeper! Made for January 2012 swap recipe. Thank you Leggy Peggy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2010

      This was quite a nice soup for such a cold and dreary afternoon. I thought the couscous was an excellent addition, as it thickened the soup while not serving as the dominant flavor over the other tasty ingredients, especially the cumin which really worked well here. I opted for fresh cilantro for the garnish, and I even cut up extra bits for added flavor. And I must say cilantro should be a major ingredient and not an optional garnish, because cilantro was the shining star of this soup, at least form me. Wow! Thanks, Leggy Peggy. I enjoyed this a Zaar World Tour #6 event.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2010

      This deserves 10 stars! Five for taste and five for ease! This was enjoyed by my whole household. The only changes I made was using a vegan chicken style stock and I gave the soup a quick mix with my hand blender before I added the couscous. I also sprinkled some chilli flakes on mine because I love a hint of heat. Made for the Voracious Vagabonds ZWT6

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2014

      This was good, quick to make and adapted easily to the crock pot. The soup was prepped on stove top then transferred to a crock pot and cooked on LOW for about 3 hours. The tomatoes were canned organic fired roasted. I lightly toasted the couscous in olive oil before adding it to the crock pot the last 15 minutes. Served with a basic salad that included seasonal ingredients and the soup was a welcomed meal on a chilly, snowy day. Make My Recipe Downunder, February 2014.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2013

      Sadly it was just too much tomato flavor for me. I like tomato soup though... maybe I should have added some sugar as a previous reviewer mentioned. I added sour cream. I would have liked more couscous. And I would like more cumin maybe as the cumin was lost in the tomato as it stands.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2011

      This soup is a nice healthy way to chase away the cold of the day. We really liked the addition of both the couscous and cumin. Made using caned fire roasted tomatoes and no salt. Thanks for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2010

      Tasty and budget friendly! Thank you for a new favourite :).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2010

      This was yummy stuff! I wanted to make it for one, so I used one large frozen tomato from last summer, defrosted and chopped in its juice, instead of tinned ones. I, too, use my immersion blender to smooth things out a bit, and I added about 1/4 t sugar to cut the acidity of the tomato. YUM! I occasionally crave tomato soup, and now I have a great option for a quick and easy fix. Next time I will try making it with quinoa, just for a bit more protein. Thanks, Peggy! Made for Mischief Makers, ZWT 6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2010

      I made a half recipe of this for our lunch just now. It was an easy recipe to halve, but I used a teaspoon of cumin still as we love it. I read in Peggy's tales of her trek around Africa, that this is a very versatile soup, so took that to mean I could make a few additions of my own. We had some leftover pork chilli (maybe 3/4 cup) and I added that in along with the couscous. It was a great addition to an already yummy soup. No photo of ths soup because it really just looked like Karen Elizabeth's existing photo before my chilli addition and it didn't seem right to photograph it after that LOL. The couscous hardly seemed worth it (1/6th cup is about 2 Aussie tablespoons) but it just thickens the soup nicely. Thanks for posting a keeper Peggy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2010

      DH says this is the best meal I've made recently, and I've made some excellent recipes lately, so this must indeed be top rate!!!! Simply and quickly prepared after coming home from work, I used a bag of fresh tomatoes, which weighed in at just under 900g, probably a bit less after I skinned them. AND I added the tiniest pinch of sugar, Peggy, just to take the tartness off the tomatoes! And I used vegetable stock. But otherwise, exactly as directed, the couscous is such an interesting addition to the soup, thickens it slightly, adds some bulk, but unlike rice or pasta, doesn't dominate the soup. The cumin lurks in the background, adding flavour, again, without dominating. Fabulous Peggy, enjoyed on a rainy evening with some warm crusty French bread, will be enjoyed again and again, I can guarantee!! Made for Edition 10, Aus/NZ forum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2009

      Yes, yes, yes! I will be adding this to our "frequent eats" soup cookbook. I used Crushed tomatoes (that is what I had on hand). So easy! Great with a nice piece of bread or a crusty roll. Made for AUS/NZ recipe swap #24, Jan '08.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tomato and Couscous Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (274 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 155.0
     
    Calories from Fat 37
    23%
    Total Fat 4.1 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 443.1 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.8 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 4.6 g
    18%
    Sugars 8.9 g
    35%
    Protein 5.0 g
    10%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable stock

    fresh coriander

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites