11 Reviews

yummy with basil and tomatoes from the garden or local farm! I also drizzle a little balsamic.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Oishi August 03, 2010

this is always lovely and simple. i like a bit of balsamic vinegar on mine to give it a kick. it tastes very light but read your nutritional labels! this cheese tends to be high fat, totally worth it though

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spiritussancto July 02, 2009

this is one of my favorite summer salads. i used home grown basil and red, yellow, and orange tomatoes. i also used fresh buratta cheese that i purchased in the italian market. very colorful and delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chia July 01, 2008

What a simple and elegant side-dish this makes! It would be a stunning side-dish to any Italian-style meal. I quartered this recipe, using a roma tomato and served it along side a chicken panini - lovely! Fresh basil is a must, mine came strait from the garden. I lightly sprinkled with fresh ground pepper and skipped the salt altogether. Made for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI June 23, 2008

This is one of my favourite salads.I did add a bit of balsamic vinegar and crushed garlic to the olive oil;it is sinfully good...and then you wipe out the plate with a piece of crusty bread;doesn't ge better than this.Thank you for posting this one.I made it for WT4 Italy. Rita

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sage June 23, 2008

Gorgeous and simple salad, perfect for any Italian dinner theme dinner, it matches the Italian flag. I made these today, for hubby and Little Miss (DD) and they said it was very yummy, I would also like to have tried the salad but I'm have been having tummy problems and need to say away from dairy. I also sprinkled a little dried basil just to give it more flavour. Thank you Annisette - *Made for Zaar World Tour 4*

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef floWer June 22, 2008

This is delicious! I love bocconcini and this salad has a wonderful flavor. I halved the salad to serve 2 and it was delicious! The combination of flavors are right on. Made for Zaar World Tour 4 for the Tastebud Tickling Travellers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 June 10, 2008

I make this all the time, if I don't have basil, I have substituted dry or fresh oregano. I sometimes slice purple onions very thin and add to the dish also sometimes I sprinkle with a little garlic powder. Thanks for posting this awesome little recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Take a Letter Maria January 22, 2008

This salad is as beautiful as it is delicious, a true 5 star recipe! Edited to say that I make this often. It works well with dried basil too. Thanks Annisette! Please see my rating system as a 5 star rating from me is rare.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppitypup January 20, 2008

Thanks for posting this one, Annisette, everyone really loved it, even the kids! It looked lovely on the serving platter and tasted wonderful, and best of all no leftovers to clean up.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CanadianChef July 18, 2007
Tomato and Bocconcini Salad