Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Everyday Party Ideas >

    Weeknight Dinner Winners

    Weeknight Dinner Winners

    27 Easy, Crowd-Pleasing Recipes
    Popcorn, 25 Ways

    Popcorn, 25 Ways

    Movie Night Just Got Way More Fun
    37 Ways to Party With Pizza

    37 Ways to Party With Pizza

    It's Not Delivery, It's All You
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tomato and Basil Bruschetta Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tomato and Basil Bruschetta

    Average Rating:

    207 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 207

    Sort by:

    • on July 12, 2011

      We like to cut the bread thinner into 1/2 inch slices and toast them until they are firm enough to hold up to the weight of the toppings. Fresh tomatoes make the best bruschetta!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2010

      This is a simple yet drop dead delicious recipe. It got my Christmas family lunch off to a great start (it's summer here in Australia, so this was an ideal appetiser) and we had to stop ourselves before we filled up on bruschetta! It really tasted that good. Many thanks to BothFex for sharing such a great, easy recipe. And Happy New Year to all you foodies out there!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2010

      Very good! I had an abundance of fresh tomatoes from the garden and it was delicious! We did not have bread to put it on but was excellent on mahi mahi! I will save this one for my cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2014

      I love this, it's so fresh, it tastes so good. I use a skillet with olive oil that has been heated with a chunk of garlic in it, take out the garlic before it burns, and add the slices of a baguette (bite size) to toast them. Yes, they are a bit oilier than some might like, but I like the chewy texture this method gives the break, some bruschetta is too hard for my old teeth to handle. Then after removing the bread to a serving dish, I top it with the mixture, adding crumbled feta cheese to the mixture, and then drizzling some balsamic vinegar over it all. I prefer balsamic vinegar that is more to the vinegar side and less grapey tasting, so I use the cheap store brand balsamic. I love adding the feta, which you can get with flavors like garlic or tomato & basil, it adds that extra punch of flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2014

      I used cherub tomatoes and they were great. Loved the balsamic with the tomatoes and the toasted bread. Did the bread in the oven 400 for 10 min.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2013

      My first time making bruschetta, and turned out FANTASTIC. Great flavour and crunch. When topping the bread, don't be tempted to drizzle on extra oil/juice that's in the bowl. There is quite enough on the tomatoes, and it can soften the bread and take some of the crunch out of it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2013

      perfect.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2012

      So easy and yummy! I was able to scale down the recipe for 3 roma tomatoes, 3 pieces of multigrain sandwich bread (used up bag), using 1 medium garlic clove for the marinade, 1 small clove for rubbing the toast, 1/8 tsp sugar. I marinated the tomatoes for 5 min max and it still came out great. DH very happy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2011

      Delicious, everyone gobbled these up. I forgot to rub the bread with the garlic before hand but it didnt matter. I toasted the bread the night before and put it in a ziploc overnight until I made them up the next day. Also made the tomato mixture the night before. Came out great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2011

      DELISH! I threw some mozzarella cheese on top along with gorgonzola and served it with Tortellini Spinach Soup (Tortellini Tomato Spinach Soup).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2011

      Yup this is good stuff! I used roma tomatoes and didn't have time to broil it, so I added the cheese directly into the mix and we ate it like fresh salsa on thinly sliced, toasted (good quality) italian bread. Besides being delicious this recipe is easy, fast, inexpensive and visually appealing. Mmmm...can't wait to make this with my home-grown tomatoes this summer. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2010

      This is one of my favorite appetizers to order out, but since I got married 6 years ago, I never get it anymore. My husband doesn't like raw tomatoes. :( Sad, I know! So for my best friend's 30th birthday, we cooked a huge meal, and made this to go with it. This was as good as if not better than any bruschetta I've ordered out! I only wish I could get my husband to eat it. This was the perfect blend of flavors and was a fantastic topping on my toasty ciabatta. Thank you so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2010

      This is a great bruschetta recipe! I didn't top and bake with cheese. I brought it to a party...room temperature baguettes with the bruschetta topping on the side. It was wonderful! I used one clove of garlic and it was plenty. Raw garlic can be very strong. I will definitely make this recipe again. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2010

      We ran out of time before our company came over to toast our bread. We had some home made bread that we spooned the tomato onto. It was still amazingly yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2010

      I've been waiting for fresh garden tomatoes so I could make bruschetta. Now it feels like summer! We ate this for dinner, and it was just the two of us, so we cut the sourdough baguette in half lengthwise and ate it like an open-faced sandwich. We didn't add the cheese, though I'm sure it would have been good with the addition. Something that I LOVED that came from the bruschetta was the lovely juice that came from the tomatoes mixed with the vinegar. I just dipped pieces of the bread in it. Yum! Will definitely be making this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2010

      Excellent bruschetta! Everyone loved it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2010

      This is my new food obsession...it's perfect! Summer on a plate!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2010

      I skipped the cheese and the baking (still cooked the bread), and this was still incredible! We had a little left over that I put in a pan with some leftover spaghetti for lunch the next day -- it too was great! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2010

      This dish is just packed with fantastic flavour. I used 1/2 of the oil and added 1/2 finely chopped onion. I served it with little bowls of crumbled feta and grated parmiggiano so people could add cheese or no cheese to their liking. People were just raving about it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2010

      This is delicious! When I first made it, it had so much fresh garlic flavor that it was spicy hot. We let it mellow as we snacked on it through dinner. By the end of dinner, the flavors had combined to a perfect medley. We will make this again. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tomato and Basil Bruschetta

    Serving Size: 1 (153 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 232.7
     
    Calories from Fat 111
    48%
    Total Fat 12.4 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 1.8 mg
    0%
    Sodium 572.8 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.3 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    13%
    Protein 5.5 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes