210 Reviews

Excellent. Made this for my daughters graduation and it was delicious! Instead of broiling at the end with the cheese, I cut fresh Mozzarella into a tiny dice and mixed in with tomatoes and put in fridge overnight. The next day I cut up the bread, toasted and rubbed with Garlic. Served on a platter next to each other. Everyone raved about it! thanks so much! Italian Mom of 2

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ItalianMomof2 May 18, 2009

My copy of this recipe had gotten so dog-eared and stained from frequent use that I looked it up to print a fresh one. That's when I discovered -- oops!! -- that I'd never reviewed it. My sincerest apologies because it was worthy of 5 stars all those years ago, and even more so now that it's stood the test of time! I sometimes serve this along with An American in Spain's version (Artichoke Bruschetta). They're both wonderful, but so totally different that guests seem to enjoy comparing and deciding which they like best. Thanks, BothFex, for providing a super 'starter' for many, many Italian meals!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
highcotton April 26, 2009

Wife and I had this as appetizer this evening and it was the highlight of the meal. Folowed your instructions, with exception of parmigiano cheese, which is $15 for a small chunk at local market. Opted for generic parmesan and it worked fine. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ebbtide April 11, 2009

So delicious. Enjoyed this and so did my guests. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aronsinvest April 11, 2009

Wow! Those were so good we made them two days in a row. I halved the garlic the second time, since I thought it was quite powerful with the full amount, but that is just personal preference. Thanks for posting this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef de Sucre March 29, 2009

We were craving bruschetta after having it at a fancy italian restaurant and after making this one, we can have that fancy taste at home. Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ruth Campbell 411 March 26, 2009

Yummyyyy this is very good and easy bruschetta and it s going to be repeated in our house many other times.I used 2 teaspoon dried basil instead of 2 tablespoon fresh basil and instead of kosher salt i used normal salt. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmy March 14, 2009

This is my favorite bruschetta recipe! I despise tomatoes and this is the ONLY way I will eat them! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lauriew March 05, 2009

YUM! The only time before this I had bruschetta was at the Olive Garden. I never thought I liked it. So today for my birthday I wanted to try to make some myself (as I realized I DO like it) This was fantastic! I did not have fresh basil, so I used dried, but it was still wonderful! I used a little bagget type loaf of bread, toasted and then topped with the tomato and some parm cheese. I did not reheat, as I would rather it be cool than hot. Very good. Very easy. Very simple to make. I will make this again for sure!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clorissasue February 17, 2009

I have always adapted this recipe, but it always turns out great. I add the tomatoes, an extra clove of garlic, and will often throw in some finely chopped red onion. I don't typically toast the bread, or rub it with garlic, or melt the cheese on top, and often I won't have fresh basil on hand (or I may use dried basil, or leave it out altogether). I will add some parmesan, or skip it to keep it a little healthier. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eat! Eat! You're skin and bones! January 13, 2009
Tomato and Basil Bruschetta