208 Reviews

Mmmm... Used whatever tomatoes the Okanagan fruit guy had, added some red onion, and didn't have any parm or similar, so omitted cheese completely. Still so good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anonymous23 August 11, 2009

Loved it! I too used the full Tablespoon of Balsamic and served with warm Foaccia. Flavor Central! Thanks for posting, Di ;-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dib's August 01, 2009

Thanks for the excellent recipe. I added one small chopped onion and used a full tablespoon of vinegar. I also tossed the tomato mixture with 1/4 c. Parmesan instead of broiling the bread. This will certainly appear on our table again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A Messy Cook June 27, 2009

Perfection!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Epi Curious June 05, 2009

This was really good! I love the bite of the balsamic and garlic in this. I would have liked to have had a little more basil in this, but it still tastes absolutely wonderful especially with the Parmesan cheese melted over it. I will be making this again for sure :]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barbell Bunny June 04, 2009

One word: delicious!! I used plum tomatoes rather than roma tomatoes and left the mixture out at room temperature for about an hour before serving. Soooo good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HoserLauren May 23, 2009

This was really easy and refreshing! I used a french baquette, and it was perfect for appetizers. There were no leftovers unfortunately!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shu Shu May 23, 2009

Excellent. Made this for my daughters graduation and it was delicious! Instead of broiling at the end with the cheese, I cut fresh Mozzarella into a tiny dice and mixed in with tomatoes and put in fridge overnight. The next day I cut up the bread, toasted and rubbed with Garlic. Served on a platter next to each other. Everyone raved about it! thanks so much! Italian Mom of 2

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ItalianMomof2 May 18, 2009

My copy of this recipe had gotten so dog-eared and stained from frequent use that I looked it up to print a fresh one. That's when I discovered -- oops!! -- that I'd never reviewed it. My sincerest apologies because it was worthy of 5 stars all those years ago, and even more so now that it's stood the test of time! I sometimes serve this along with An American in Spain's version (Artichoke Bruschetta). They're both wonderful, but so totally different that guests seem to enjoy comparing and deciding which they like best. Thanks, BothFex, for providing a super 'starter' for many, many Italian meals!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
highcotton April 26, 2009
Tomato and Basil Bruschetta