25 Reviews

We are big fans of barley soups and this is a very good barley soup. It was very filling and warming which was perfect for a cold almost summer's night in London. The only changes I made were to go for the vegetable stock because it was what I had and to skip the oil and use a cooking spray instead to lower the fat of the soup to next to nothing. Made for ZWT4.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah_Jayne June 20, 2008

This is a pretty good soup. The only thing I added was about a half pound of cooked lean ground beef and some kitchen bouquet for a more brown color. The only thing I wasn't real fond of was that it did have a bit of an acidic taste to it that I kept trying to correct...I wondered if it had a potato or two in it if the flavors would have been blended more. Made for ZWT #6 - 2010

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CarrolJ June 21, 2010

Excellent soup. Low calorie and easy to prepare with on hand ingredients. I added a can of black beans as recommended by a previous reviewer.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JVernel October 27, 2012

Yummo! What a delicious and easy soup for a misty day. I fixed as instructed (whirling the tomatoes for a minute) and I did add about 1/2 tsp. of sugar. Will be making this again. I love tomatoes and I love barley...a great combination. Made for Zaar Alphabet Tag game and Think Pink Cancer Awareness 2010. I made this again for Let's PARTY December 2010 and just added a 1/2 tsp. of sugar and followed the rest of the instructions. Like my previous review FABULOUS!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf April 23, 2011

Delicious soup!! Made as directed except I added a can of black beans and some left over beef I had chopped up from a roast in the freezer and also added some diced potatoes. I made a double batch so now I have LOTS left over for lunches this next week!! And since it is so light in calories.....I don't feel deprived!! Thanks for the great recipe! I will definitely be making again!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sconehead January 01, 2011

Oh GaylaV, this was fantastic!! I made as directions stated, but as I poured the barley into the measuring cup, I poured too much. It made it overly thick. I had a can of diced tomatoes, and added those with 2 more cups of broth (remember, it was OVERLY thick) and I don't remember when I have had better soup. This is beyond a keeper, and thank you so much from our house for posting it.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cricketbird January 12, 2010

What an absolutely perfect soup for a cold winter's day. I didn't have tomatoes, so added a can of spaghetti sauce instead.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mollypaul January 07, 2010

Our family's favorite soup recipe (and we eat a lot of soup)! Made it vegetarian w/ 4 cups water & 2 Rapunzel veggie bouillon cubes w/ herbs. LOVE it! Thank you for this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
warwick1 March 09, 2009

Excellent as written- thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COREprojects January 24, 2014

I can't get enough of this delicious soup. I've made it numerous times and have had such fun changing it up and adding new things. Made it once with beef broth rather than chicken (on purpose) giving it a deeper flavor and added sliced hot dogs. I made the next batch with chicken broth and added a can of kidney beans and a can chopped black olive's. Who knows what the next batch will be.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rupeetwo June 12, 2013
Tomato and Barley Soup