Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tomato and Avocado Salad a La Caribe Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tomato and Avocado Salad a La Caribe

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on August 09, 2013

      Nice recipe. Simple to make, and a great accompanyment to many dishes. Not sure I would classify it as a salad though; it was more like a condiment. I agree that the oprange juice was a great touch. Refreshing taste change from lemon and avocado.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2013

      Great salad! The orange juice was a nice bright flavor with the avocado and tomato. And so simple to do! Thanks for sharing! ZWT9

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2013

      This was really good! Would be good served with Mexican food in place of the guacamole. Made for ZWT-9.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2013

      This was an excellent, fresh, colorful, flavorful salad. It is good by itself or served with blue chips. Since my friend and I were eating this as a main dish for lunch, we doubled the recipe as it does not serve 4 as a main lunch dish. We finished most of the doubled recipe. The orange juice taste was pretty pronounced upon my initial sampling, but the 2 hours of refrigeration melded the flavors perfectly. We did have to use a bit of salt to taste for flavor. We enjoyed this. Made for ZWT 9. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2012

      A very simple and easy salad to prepare.
      It is sitting in the fridge ready and waiting for tonight's dinner.
      I did have to substitute red onions for spring onions as I had none I on hand, but I have pre tasted this and it is so delicious!
      Just the thing for this hot summer's evening and will be perfect to serve up for dinner tonight.
      Thanks morgainegeiser, for a fantastic and different way to use avocado.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2011

      This is a really nice fresh, quick salad. I added a bit of chopped cilantro that I needed to use up and a splash of balsamic vinegar to give it a little more zing. I loved the flavor the orange juice added. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2011

      I made this for dinner tonight, so I could follow your directions to let it sit for several hours in the fridge for flavors to mingle. Unfortunately, I'm headed out to the store to get more ingredients to remake this because I couldn't stop eating it!!! = ) THanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2011

      Yummy and simple salad with lots of fresh flavouring ingredients. I had to substitute the thinly sliced green onions with red onions because it was all I had at home. I also liked the use of the orange which made the flavour really sweet instead of sharp if I had used lemon or lime. I would like to play around with the recipe and make it again add fresh herbs like coriander/cilantro and parsley. Thank you morgainegeiser

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      Really good! I nice combination of flavors. Reviewed for the May Veg*n Recipe Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2010

      Fabulous. Doubled it but only used 2 tbsp of orange juice as it was all I had. Used chives from the garden and this was a lovely lunch on a hot day with grilled bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      Very enjoyable salad. The orange juice really complimented the avocado nicely. I think the next time I will serve this on top of a tossed salad. Made and Reviewed for the 39th AUS/NZ Recipe Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

      I really enjoyed the combination of flavors and the bite that the garlic gave to this. This was served on top of mixed greens. Made for *Aussie Swap*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

      Made for your Wk 16 & Divisional Playoff Football Pool wins, I paired this refreshing salad w/3 diff varieties of your Onion-Flavored Tortilla Crackers for an excellent combo. Like another reviewer, I added baby shrimp & the result was somewhat reminiscent of a ceviche, but mellowed & lightly sweetened w/the use of OJ vs lime juice. Thx for sharing this tasty recipe w/us & CONGRATS on your Football Pool wins. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2009

      What can I say but YUMMY. This is a real keeper. I topped it with some baby shrimp and crab and made it as a luncheon salad Made for football pool 09 week 16

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2009

      This is one of those recipes that I will be making often over the summer. We love tomatoes & avocado and these two ingredients go so well together with the dressing giving it that extra touch :) I served mine on a bed of baby lettuce leaves. A keeper for us :) Made for Australia/NZ Swap August 2009

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2009

      I had some ripe tomatoes from the garden and a little avocado(from Florida), so this was a perfect salad! I enjoyed the orange juice in the dressing, and it didn't even have any oil in it! :) Made for Ramadan tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2009

      This was just delicious and very easy toput together. I added fresh chopped cilantro and served it with some hot sauce on the side. Loved it! Made for ZWT 5 :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2009

      Have to agree with my ZWT5 colleague ~Rita~ ... this is a keeper recipe, a "must make". Simple prep, ingredients easily available, wonderful flavors, and healthful to boot. Made for Groovy GastroGnomes, ZWT5. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      Fabulous! I added fresh cilantro. Served in the avocado shell stabilized with sour cream. Skipped the salt and pepper. Made the ZWT5 part of the Menu #28661. A must make! Gracia. Salud!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      My DH just loved this recipe ~ very similar to another tomato and avocado recipe I have, but MUCH easier to put together. The orange juice and RWV added just the right amount of tartness to the dish. Thanks for a new keeper summer salad. Made for ZWT5!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tomato and Avocado Salad a La Caribe

    Serving Size: 1 (112 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 95.6
     
    Calories from Fat 67
    70%
    Total Fat 7.4 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 7.1 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.5 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 2.3 g
    9%
    Protein 1.6 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    salt and pepper

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites