Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tomatillo Salsa Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tomatillo Salsa

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on September 09, 2002

      we loved this recipe and we grilled the tomatillos until the skins were charred before chopping them. this addes to the sweetness and also gave a slightly smoky flavor. its really very very sweet. we also added an extra teaspoon of cumin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2008

      Green salsa is one of my favorites and this did not disappoint. I about melted when I tasted it. I did have to make a couple of substitutions per availability in my area: I used green tomatoes instead of tomatillos, and I used hot pepperoncinis instead of jalapenos. This was just delicious with just the right amount of heat, and the cilantro is the real star in here (ok fresh tomatoes from the farm are pretty spectacular too)!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2009

      Made this up exactly per the recipe, without roasting the tomatillo's and found this is the recipe I have been looking for all this time. This tasted just like the salsa served at one of my favorite Mexican Restaraunts...mmm mmm good. Thank you for a great recipe, can't wait to get enough tomatillos ripe in my garden to can up a bunch of this. I will try roasting the tomatillos one of these times and update this review at that time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2014

      Tasty delicious. Was first time working with tomatillos. Will be coming back to this great recipe, adding heat, maybe some lime juice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2013

      This is a delicious basic recipe which awaits your personal touch. To add some smokiness, broil the tomatillos, garlic, onions, and peppers on high 3-5 minutes on a side rather than boiling, then process in the food processor. Add just a little olive oil to the garlic and onions before you broil them. Broil the garlic cloves "skin on" and peel the cloves before pureeing. I throw a little coriander, mexican chili powder, and smoked paprika in along with the cumin. I skip the black pepper. Also, I grow a melange of hot peppers in my garden in the summer, and like to play with different ones to alter the heat. With this recipe, there is no wrong answer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2012

      The freezers are so full that we have to can up the harvest and this recipe was awesome. I have been making fresh tomatillo salsa only so far and was using lime juice so I was unsure about the lemon but it was fab!!!!! My DH did not deseed the jalapenos and we shouldn't have to worry about sinus and sore throats this season. its 2012 and we canned up a double batch and want to note we canned almost 9 pints (2 cup jars)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2012

      This isn't just the best tomatillo salsa I've ever eaten, it's the best SALSA I've ever eaten! Extraordinary flavor, tangy, smoky with a bit of zip. I am SO glad I have abundant tomatillos! I will be canning this up as long as my plants are producing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2012

      This is the first time we have tried the salsa and it is wonderful! The only adjustment we made was added more hot peppers, as my husband loves hotter!! Thank you so much for the recipe. We plan on making lots more in the future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2011

      A very good recipe, but I ended up with a little under 3 pints instead of the 6 pints noted at the top of the recipe. I'm wondering if I wanted to make 8 oz. jars instead of pints, would the processing time change?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2010

      Terrifically easy and tasty. This is my standard tomatillo salsa recipe now. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2010

      Thank you for posting this recipe. I made a triple batch today and followed the recipe exactly. It is really really good! I am looking forward to making more as my tomatillos ripen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2009

      This was AMAZING! I will definitely use this recipe again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2008

      oh, my goodness, this was so good! I love green sauce, and my favorite is La Morinita's resturant and this is the closest thing to it. thanks for a good recipe it's a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2008

      I liked the look of this recipe because I had all the ingredients but the cilantro. Other than leaving the cilantro out, I followed the recipe exactly. I found that the salt and lemon juice overpowered the other ingredients so I added about a tablespoon of sugar to fix it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2008

      I was out of town and didn't have my usual recipe. I made this to go with fajitas, reducing quantities to 2 pints. This was even easier than my recipe! I love that you just cook everything together! The cumin is a great touch, too. I will make your recipe again. Thanks Barb, for posting. Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2008

      Wow! This salsa is fantastic! I made up a batch with tomatillos from a CSA farm in Maryland. Couldn't stop eating it. I didn't add all three jalapenos however that's just personal prefrence. This will remain high on my list of favorites. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2006

      Wonderful!!Perfect blend of flavors. I used green tomatoes from my garden instead of the tomatillos. My hubby loved it. A great way to use up those green tomatoes. I will use the salsa in my sour cream chicken enchiladas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2006

      what a great salsa! I used 2# tomatillos, 1 med. white onion, 2 jalapenos, 6 garlic, and halved the rest of the ingredients. Pureed in my VitaMix then cooked it. Yum! Next time I'll add more chiles... :) Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2006

      Wonderful recipe! Very flavorful and it is easy to adjust the heat by added or subtracting jalapenos. I first scorched the tomatillos, garlic, onion, and jalapeno in a cast iron skillet and that seemed to really bring out the flavors.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2003

      Barb, I have been waiting for our garden to be in full swing to make this recipe.I should say for my husband to make it (He does ALL the canning in our family).The tomatoes,peppers,and the cilantro all came from our garden,and the recipe is absolutely delicious.My husband tested it on our daughters,and they loved it too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tomatillo Salsa

    Serving Size: 1 (1486 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 89.1
     
    Calories from Fat 15
    17%
    Total Fat 1.6 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1170.0 mg
    48%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.6 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 9.4 g
    37%
    Protein 2.6 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites