21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

we loved this recipe and we grilled the tomatillos until the skins were charred before chopping them. this addes to the sweetness and also gave a slightly smoky flavor. its really very very sweet. we also added an extra teaspoon of cumin.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jessica456 September 09, 2002

Green salsa is one of my favorites and this did not disappoint. I about melted when I tasted it. I did have to make a couple of substitutions per availability in my area: I used green tomatoes instead of tomatillos, and I used hot pepperoncinis instead of jalapenos. This was just delicious with just the right amount of heat, and the cilantro is the real star in here (ok fresh tomatoes from the farm are pretty spectacular too)!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookworm October 01, 2008

Made this up exactly per the recipe, without roasting the tomatillo's and found this is the recipe I have been looking for all this time. This tasted just like the salsa served at one of my favorite Mexican Restaraunts...mmm mmm good. Thank you for a great recipe, can't wait to get enough tomatillos ripe in my garden to can up a bunch of this. I will try roasting the tomatillos one of these times and update this review at that time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chabear01 August 28, 2009

This is so good. I love green salsa and the cumin flavor in this sets it over the top. thank you for sharing with us

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour November 08, 2014

Tasty delicious. Was first time working with tomatillos. Will be coming back to this great recipe, adding heat, maybe some lime juice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lunchmouth August 31, 2014

This is a delicious basic recipe which awaits your personal touch. To add some smokiness, broil the tomatillos, garlic, onions, and peppers on high 3-5 minutes on a side rather than boiling, then process in the food processor. Add just a little olive oil to the garlic and onions before you broil them. Broil the garlic cloves "skin on" and peel the cloves before pureeing. I throw a little coriander, mexican chili powder, and smoked paprika in along with the cumin. I skip the black pepper. Also, I grow a melange of hot peppers in my garden in the summer, and like to play with different ones to alter the heat. With this recipe, there is no wrong answer!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susanna B. November 09, 2013

The freezers are so full that we have to can up the harvest and this recipe was awesome. I have been making fresh tomatillo salsa only so far and was using lime juice so I was unsure about the lemon but it was fab!!!!! My DH did not deseed the jalapenos and we shouldn't have to worry about sinus and sore throats this season. its 2012 and we canned up a double batch and want to note we canned almost 9 pints (2 cup jars)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karen in tbay October 31, 2012

This isn't just the best tomatillo salsa I've ever eaten, it's the best SALSA I've ever eaten! Extraordinary flavor, tangy, smoky with a bit of zip. I am SO glad I have abundant tomatillos! I will be canning this up as long as my plants are producing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
well armed housewife August 28, 2012

This is the first time we have tried the salsa and it is wonderful! The only adjustment we made was added more hot peppers, as my husband loves hotter!! Thank you so much for the recipe. We plan on making lots more in the future.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Audrey Jones July 22, 2012

A very good recipe, but I ended up with a little under 3 pints instead of the 6 pints noted at the top of the recipe. I'm wondering if I wanted to make 8 oz. jars instead of pints, would the processing time change?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stellarondo October 24, 2011
Tomatillo Salsa