12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow! The dressing on these tomatoes & onions is excellent - tangy and a bit sweet, but not overly so. I kept saying "yum" with every bite. This was still great the next day as well. Simple but a burst of flavor in every bite. Thanks!

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherFeather February 06, 2003

OOMPAPA! this was so good. I had such a craving the a tomato salad and I found this while perusing the new recipes list. Ran out to get the tomatoes and, of course, being the dead of winter, I found a half way decent box of cherry tomatoes and 2 sort of respectible hothouse tomatoes. I chopped the tomatoes and added chopped red onion in one bowl. Then I made the dressing using olive oil and red wine vinegar and everything else as specified. Mixed the salad together and chilled. WOW! both DH and I loved it. Cant wait to make this again when tomatoes are in season. I would love to know what type of vinegar was in the original recipe. Thanks for sharing this keeper.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BoxO'Wine February 06, 2003

I didn't feel right assigning stars. I thought it tasted good, and the kids did also (except they picked out the onions). No one really felt like eating it, though! How do I rate that?!?! I did think the flavors were blended better after chilling overnight. Also, although HeatherFeather directed me to this recipe to use up some cider vinegar, but I got distracted & used white vinegar (what my brain thinks when I see "vinegar"). As Box O'Wine mentioned, it would be good to know what kind of vinegar you intended.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evewitch April 27, 2003

This was very tasty - especially with ripe, red, homegrown tomatoes -- Roma AND slicers ! I used 1/2 LIGHT olive oil and 1/2 peanut oil; white Balsamic vinegar (which isn't white) and white Worcestershire (also not white), and about 1 Tbsp. fresh basil. Had a nice zingy, satisfying taste. Thanks for posting, Mimi

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseJaney August 25, 2007

I made this all last summer with my roma tomatoes, balsamic vinegar and 1/4 c. EVOO. Fabulous! This year I planted cherry tomatoes and I've made it with EVOO, 3 tbsp. red wine vinegar & 3 tbsp. balsamic vinegar. Excellent! I prefer the romas to the cherry, but all in all this is my all time favorite tomato salad. The flavor just explodes in your mouth leaving you wanting more. Top notch!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
French Lavender August 21, 2007

Even with very mediocre supermarket tomatoes, this salad was full of flavor. I didn't find the dressing too sweet--probably because the tomatoes weren't so good. Can't wait to try this with homegrown tomatoes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iris5555 March 31, 2007

Served this made with beautiful yellow and red cherry tomatoes from my dad's garden. Beautiful compliment to the fresh taste of homegrown tomatoes. The only thing I would do next time is not use any sugar because homegrown tomatoes are so sweet on their own. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
suchee September 04, 2006

Loved it, a hit at dinner with our company, served with Baked Salmon and Parchment Potatoes (found on the zaar)and a green salad. Also opted for extra virging olive oil and balsamic vinegar, and used 1/4 cup oil. Added no salt, actually, and cut down on the sugar. Used Italian romas, and excellent choice. A rich, exotic eating experience.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
woodland hues August 16, 2006

Definitely a keeper. I used a mixture of balsamic vinegar and white vinegar, and much less oil (personal preference). Nice as a salad, and also for a snack as follows: toast brown bread, spread with traditional basil pesto, arrange thinly sliced cheddar/tasty cheese on top, then top with a generous amount of tomatensalat and garnish with a sprig of basil.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anonymouse April 08, 2004
Tomatensalat (Tomato Salad)